You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tyson Fury defeats Deontay Wilder in an all out boxing WAR (bonus unexpected rant as I wrote this)

I disagree with some of that, size absolutely matters when skills are mostly a stalemate. Like I said there always exceptions to the rule. I personally believe its very obvious in this fight size mattered. It wasn't the only thing that mattered. Wilder and Fury each had even skillsets in this fight overall. They were knocking each other down at will. But Fury got it done in the end. If size did not matter, there would not be weight classes.

Fury - 6'9 280-ish pounds
Wilder 6'7 240 pounds-ish
2 of the three fights were razor close. Size played a role I believe.

I believe it's a compliment to Fury about his size. Not many men his size can reach the top of their sport without being overly clumsy or slow, it's impressive I believe.

I can't argue about past fighters of different eras, so I suppose that you make a good point. All I can do is appreciate the moment.