You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tyson Fury defeats Deontay Wilder in an all out boxing WAR (bonus unexpected rant as I wrote this)

I don't think you can bring size into this as this is the heavyweight. When Holyfield became champion he was on the light side and a borderline heavyweight having stepped up from the previous weight division. The Heavyweight division right now is a joke as there is no one who is a dominant force and ruling the roost. Wilder has been pampered and is more of a showman than a boxer. I never watched this fight as they just don't spark any interest.

Sort:  

I disagree with some of that, size absolutely matters when skills are mostly a stalemate. Like I said there always exceptions to the rule. I personally believe its very obvious in this fight size mattered. It wasn't the only thing that mattered. Wilder and Fury each had even skillsets in this fight overall. They were knocking each other down at will. But Fury got it done in the end. If size did not matter, there would not be weight classes.

Fury - 6'9 280-ish pounds
Wilder 6'7 240 pounds-ish
2 of the three fights were razor close. Size played a role I believe.

I believe it's a compliment to Fury about his size. Not many men his size can reach the top of their sport without being overly clumsy or slow, it's impressive I believe.

I can't argue about past fighters of different eras, so I suppose that you make a good point. All I can do is appreciate the moment.

Honestly thanks for you comment and opinion!! Much respect!

Yes I get that with the size difference but at heavyweight you need technique along with punching power. Remember Butterbean as he was useless and was bigger or twice as bigger than many of his opponents and he was out boxed. There speed and technique overcame size. In rugby size matters depending on the position you play as trust me I have come up against guys when I deemed it unfair but saying that would have the edge in certain areas they wouldn't. Reach is a big thing in boxing plus being able to have a knockout punch. If you are smaller and shorter like a Tyson then you have to get in on the inside but if you don't have a punch like many of the boxers don't have around today you are screwed. Joshua is a prime example as has everything size, power but he has a glass jaw and everyone knows that now. Size and power are obviously an advantage and yes make a huge difference and should overcome smaller boxers if they have the skill sets.

At the end of the day having the heart of a fighter is key. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and opinions! You do make some good valid points!

Butter Bean and Mike Tyson are definitely good examples! Sometimes smaller fighters/players do have certain key advantages like lower center of gravity, that's true. In wrestling, smaller sturdy stocky wrestlers were at times frustrating to compete with. They literally felt nearly impossible to pushover LOL. Being well balanced is normally the best route to victory!