NFL to play in Australia?

in Sports Talk Social28 days ago (edited)

Earlier this year our own National Rugby League in Australia took a couple of games to Las Vegas in an attempt to promote the game internationally (among other things). Now our local media in Australia are reporting that the Americans flagship NFL is potentially going to bring a regular season match to Australia some time between October 2025 and February 2026.


Source

Maybe this is a reciprocal type of thing or maybe it’s just a trend, but apparently the Los Angeles Rams and Philadelphia Eagles "have the rights in Australia" so I guess that if it happens it’ll be one of those teams. Pundits seem to think it’ll be a Los Angeles Rams home game to be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground - which is our biggest and most prestigious stadium.

Well, for me – yes, I do love my sports and in principle I agree with the idea of promoting sports internationally. But do I think that the NFL playing in Australia is a good idea? Or is even likely to happen? Personally, I’ve never been to an NFL game even though it’s on my Bucket List. I’d rather go to the US than Melbourne, but that’s just me. I do think that they could go close to filling the MCG with maybe 80,000 fans so maybe it’d be worth it for them.

My gut feeling though is that at the end of the day this is going to be about money and I think it’d be a significant sacrifice for any NFL franchise to bring a game to Australia. Maybe it’d be worth it to promote the game but it’s hard to put a tangible value on that kind of exposure and unless the NFL itself is going to chip in I think it's a hard sell. What do my American friends think? How about the Aussies here? Would you travel to Melbourne to see the NFL?

Sort:  

NFL plays games in the UK, and enough expats & NFL devotees live in Australia it would probably be worth it. I’d think it would be more likely west coast teams would go vs east coast. Or maybe a Texas team? Gotta get those direct flights.

Direct flights between LA and Melbourne. It's one of the reasons why the Rams appear most likely.

That's a tough one because I know most rugby fans tend to look down their noses at American football. It's a fun time though. Not cheap. American baseball the tickets are often dirt cheap because they play so many games. Ice Hockey and basketball too, but football they only play like sixteen games in a season so the ticket prices often reflect that scarcity. Then you have concessions which is a whole other house payment. That being said, it is pretty fun to watch a game live.

I don't know about that. Every sport has it's snobs but the NFL does have a fanbase here in Australia.

That's cool. It might be a really great event then.

I hope the Eagles plane lands in the water and the sharks eat them.

Tell us what you really think.

Well, all the 1%, the ones who own the NFL teams are all going to the mansions (bomb shelters) in NZ, so, of course they want to see their teams play and rub shoulders with the "rich and famous"

Wow, I thought Aussies are more into Cricket, but they are equally ecstatic about Rugby.

What an arena, I would like to attend the match and see the game and the stadium with my own eyes

The NFL frequently plays games overseas and at least in London, they sell out all the tickets in just a few hours. This always surprises me because a lot of what you end up hearing about makes it seem like the world has a sort of disdain for American Football.

I guess they have enough fans down under to give them a taste every couple of years or so.

You mentioned that it is "about money." Of course it is about money, all sports are!

Mexico City, London, New Delhi and now Australia. NFL knows everything about marketing.

Australia should take some Aussie rules to the US

that'd confuse the hell out of them

'But when do we stop for an ad break'
'In twenty minutes mate'

Hello buggedout!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥈 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by keithtaylor

You and your curator receive 0.2263 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 8.29% share of the reward from Daily Report 308. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUSILVER token for taking 2nd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START