You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ric Flair is broke and is selling his likeness to anyone that will pay for it

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

The last match that Ric did was done by his son-inlaw Conrad Thompson.Conrad does a podcast with Tony Schiavone. Your also leaving out the divorce's from his four wives. Which i'm sure came with a hefty price tag. If you know or don't know Conrad is married to Ric's daughter Megan. I too followed wrestling at a young age. Up here in Canada we had All Star Wrestling from Vancover BC Canada.that was in the 70's.Then in the 80's while living in Calgary there was Stampede Wrestling .Stu hart;s local promotion.I did watch Verne Gagne's AWA wrestling.Some WCW.Then when WWF came about we watched it only came on Saturdays.

Sort:  

I wasn't able to watch WWF at all as a kid because we only had basic cable. Ted Turner's TV company that I can't remember the name of, aired what was then called NWA so that was the only real exposure I got to the sport. If I ever saw a WWF match at all it was on a VHS cassette of something that happened a long time ago.

The marriages couldn't have helped his pocketbook, that's for sure. Tony Schiavone is a legend in commentary man, I love that guy.

Ted Turner's wrestling company was called WCW.

Correct, I was referring to his television company though. I had a think about it and it was called TBS or Turner Broadcasting Company. The NWA became WCW later or at least WCW absorbed all of their top talent and made it much, much larger. I recall NWA events that were televised having a studio audience of maybe 100 people. It's kind of funny to think about it being that small of an event these days.

They were funny because the stars would be wrestling jobbers you have never heard of and the stars were obviously going to win yet we all still tuned in!