You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Not Hard To See - Football, Life and Manchester United.

You know, you just took this out of my mouth. As an Arsenal fan, I follow the club so much that I watch every training session and like you mentioned, I see them laugh and playing after a loss and I'm wondering, what in this life? You just lost two games against lowly sides and what I expect to see during your training sessions is the anger from those losses built up and channeled into your drills. No smiles with everyone focused on the goal. But, I see them chatting, joking and all sorts like nothing happened nor is there anything at stake.

Seeing that it happens also at United, I'm tempted to feel it's the same across training grounds. I'd give others a benefit of doubt as I've not seen most of their training sessions.

Like you said, all the talks around caring about the fans and how they feel is all PR stunts.

This isn't to say they should wear the baggage of losses or poor performances over their necks and not move on, but you shouldn't show it to fans' that you don't care.

Sort:  

Thank you for this. They indeed show it to the fans that they don't care with lacklustre performances. It's obvious they don't play for the badge. Imagine Vidic after a loss. That guy would "kill" the next game. I missed those times. It's pain watching Manchester United play these days. I feel the same with Arsenal as well. This is what happens when they don't play for the badges and they don't have "crazy" players within their ranks. I read a report of how Keane grabbed Ronaldo by the neck at the end of the game after he lost possession when he was trying to show off and the team was trailing. That's the fight and anger we all want.

Ahahahahaha... Roy Keane though. I may not always agree with his rashness as a pundit, as a player, their set were on a different level. That was when players played for the badge. I remember that famous fight with Viera in the tunnel. Lol

I believe football has gone beyond what it used to be; it's a commercial venture for all involved now, both players and clubs, and their pockets is what matters.

Teams like Liverpool and City though give us vibes different from this.

I also believe that it's the change of culture since Ferguson left. When a system lasted for over two decades, it's difficult to adjust to a new life spontaneously.

They are really struggling to adapt, I have to agree with you. They are playing for their pockets now rather than the badge. I'm glad City and Liverpool still gives us what being a team should be about, even some lower ranked teams too.