Sort:  

I absolutely did. That #2 spot was hard and its a huge difference coming in at number 2 or 3. One of the players that surprised me with Gasol. I didn't initially have him on my shortlist but after digging deeper, I found it hard to not have him in the list at all

Gasol gets overlooked frequently because he doesn't have the personality of a lot of the other guys on the list. His importance is undoubtable though.

That's true. Maybe the fact he's European too has an impact? As good and as well respected Dirk Nowitzki was, I wonder the reception and how he would be received if he was an American

I think it is pretty safe to assume that he would be wildly popular if he was North American. Just look at Steve Nash. There are probably other examples but that was the first one that came to mind.