We Screwed Up This Time Around (A Laughable Story)

in Hive Motors2 years ago
Authored by @Technicalside

Well Hello There Mechanics and Hivers!!!

IMG-20220820-WA0073.jpg

Today I tried something different, I tried doing something my own way even though I was taught to use a different method. I was taught this method back when I didn't really know what I was doing but now I do have some clue and experience around removing a Megatronic system so therefore I know what must happen and what must not break.

Laughs you shouldn't be breaking anything!

Anyways lets get right into this!


So this white Volkswagen is actually a come back. We rebuilt the gearbox about three months ago and today it came back, no wait it came back yesterday.

It's actually a funny story... The client drove the car to us complaining about a bump when the vehicle shifts to fourth gear.


My co-worker told her "Okay we will check out what's wrong with it"

He proceeded to jump in the vehicle and tried installing a fresh version of the needed software.

I was inside the shop at that time.

I heard him calling my name and as I went outside I saw him laughing at me.

He said _'Mr Steynberg I think I fucked it up real good now"

I laughed asking him "Well why what's wrong uncle?"

"Welp I dunno it was driving now it's not and all I did was a fresh software installation and I proper fucked it up 😂"


Lets Fix the Screw-up

Besides my co-worker breaking the cars even more. The situation behind this car really boggled my mind but we shall get into that a bit later in the post!

Here I am pulling another Megatronic system from yet another Volkswagen. Boy do these things break like crayons in a kiddos hands

IMG_20220923_152954.jpg


Polls People Them Negative Polls

As always please do remove the negative battery pole Yes It's not always that you fry the electronics I know it rarely happens but trust me I've been down a winding road before where we unintentionally burned some TCM's Transmission Control Modules.

So for peet's sake just do it It's only one little nut that you need to loosen. Compared to the problems that can arise it's not that much effort.

IMG_20220923_153015.jpg


Urgh These Belly Plates Again

Sometimes I wish that this patent could be scrapped 🤣 It makes life complicated!... It's a struggle to jack the damn car up and then you've gotta grab 20 different socket sizes because some previous technician didn't put the right bolts back or somehow lost bolts.

Welp yes I know I was the last tech head to fit this. But I ain't gonna go out and buy new bolts out of my pocket for it.

Screw that... literally.

IMG_20220923_153219.jpg


Gazing at the Shining Aluminum

Once I removed the "Belly of the Beast" I was greeted with a perfectly clean gearbox.

"Laughs" No pun intended with the "Perfectly"

But DAYUM it does pay off to clean those gearboxes before refitting them!!

IMG_20220923_153635.jpg


The Water Pipe Conundrum

Okay so here we are.

I mentioned earlier that I am going to try something else today with the removal of this Megatronic system. and this is it!!

There are two types of models or builds that Volkswagen pushed out. The Turbo vehicles don't have the water pipe at this spot. So if you find yourself needing to remove one of these "MegZ" you will either be greeted with a Boost pipe or a Water feed pipe. I can tell you now pray for the Boost pipe, because the one with the Water feed pipe can be hellish and very annoying.

A vehicle has anti-freeze added to the water. and yeah It's fine you can drain it out I know. But "Laughs" as you continue working on the underside of the vehicle it keeps dripping on your face, on your neck and rolls down into your clothes.. Basically it drips everywhere... Little by little by little...

If it was only water.. Fine no problem.. But anti-freeze is sticky and remains sticky for long even if you rinse it off you can still feel that stickyness!!

It's almost like oil dripping onto your hair!!! AHHHH the irritation!!!

IMG_20220923_155350.jpg


And She's Out

Guess what folks, I did it! I bloody damn well did it!!!

I removed it without spilling even a droplet of anti-freeze onto my face.

Now that's what you get for trying something in your own way. I've wanted to try this like six months ago and I ended up not doing it because of doubts.

Always thinking to myself "Nah don't screw around just drain the water"

Welp Welp!

IMG_20220923_155338.jpg


The Mind Boggle Situation

See the water feed pipe still very much connected.

I made a post a few weeks back where I removed the water feed pipe and drained down the anti freeze... check it out.
Mega-Tronic Removal on a DSG Gearbox (My Daily Doings)
And that's how I've always done it. I think it's time I started following and doing my own ways or well at least what I think would work better!

So I mentioned earlier in this post that the situation behind this problem boggled my mind...

Okay I'll try and explain in the best way possible.

The Megatronic has four pistons that moves horizontally and those four pistons joins in with the forks that does the actual selection of the gears inside the gearbox. So you have a manual gearbox that is electrically shifted.

When re-fitting the Megatronic all four of the forks inside the gearbox have to be in the neutral position a long with the pistons being pulled out a certain distance. (I will explain the distance measurement in more detail in the next post about the Megatronic)

So everything needs to be perfectly measured otherwise you'll end up with "Stuck in gear" problems this is inevitable.

So what happened was when I removed it I noticed that one of the Pistons was not hooked in? But the I know for a fact that it was because we drove the vehicle, and miss aligning one pistons.. well the TCM will tell the car something is wrong and the car will not move... No matter what you try. The only option will be to remove the Megatronic again and re-align everything.

Kind of odd... and it still bothers me.

IMG_20220923_155345.jpg


Stay tuned for an in depth build on this Megatronic

We ended up stripping down the whole Megatronic system replaced some solenoids just to be sure everything will work as intended. And I am now waiting on a new TCM Transmission Control Module for this baby!

I will be writing a detailed post on how to assemble this sometime in the near future. I already have the needed photos, I just need to sit my ass down and do some typing!

If you'd like to see that when I actually write it feel free to give a comment below if I should tag anyone in that. It's going to be quite an interesting one.. Well at least I think so... For me it will be😂 and probably a few gear heads out there I am sure!!!

IMG_20220923_162008.jpg


To everyone who made it this far into my post Thank you for the read and the support.

If you found this entertaining or educational please consider a re-blog and up-vote.

Most of all please leave a input in the comments below, whether is good or bad critic I would like to know, whether its your opinion or your way of doing things in a different manner I would like.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Connecting the people of #HIVE across South Africa. #hive

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @technicalside ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You're extremely Good at what you do. That's the spirit, although challenges are bound to show up at what we do best , such challenges makes us even better... Well-done bro

Wow... Those are some wise words 😮👌👌 very well said!

It does get frustrating sometimes... But I do what I love and I love what I do 😂 mechanic life all the way 😎😎👌

It really sucks when you're so close to success and then you got to rip it all apart...

Hahaha yeah it can be a shitty feeling but that's how my industry work so... Complaining about it isn't necessarily the way out 😂😂.. Just gotta jump back in and fix the problems😂

But dayum these automatic vehicle are sensitive.... They are like teenagers 😂😭

Just reading about "Water + refrig liquit" dropping in my back, made me had a cold chill on my real life back, dang XD, but at least is just the TCM, it could been worse but lucky it was not, I will be expecting the Megatronic post soon enough :)

Btw going to love the employee saying "Mr Steynberg..." because I know he does it quite regularly hahaha, big hug bro.

Hahaha yeah nah... Im glad I found a way around that 😂.. No more water and liquid dripping on me... Well atleast not when I do the megs😂.....

Laughs... Ill get to it eventually 🤣👍 just gna be real busy for the next two weeks.... My trade test is due next week sooooo 😬 kind of stressing it up here 😂

Laughs... He does it more thab once a day 🤣🤣 probably more than 5 times a day 😂😂😂... I feel like changing my name.. But then again... I get called Mr 😎now aint that a boss like feeling

Nothing screams boss best than a big fat wallet, and if you dont have it, them you aint the boss xD hahaha, yeah i guess there are gonna be some stress days ahead, dont worry we will wait, we are always here on hive, for everyone that comes :)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@technicalside(2/5) tipped @jesustiano (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

My god man, come have a look at my car, you sure know you're sh!t!

Laughs 🤣

Well I know what's wrong with it, it aint got no gas in it 🤣⛽...

If the wheels turn I suppose it's fine eh?

The wheels turning is usually my motto 🤣🤣