We can pick it up and continue building

in Hive Motors10 months ago

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-04 at 11.14.49.jpg

My son received a message from the painter that we can pick up the car. He's so far done with the spraying. We haven't seen it in real life yet, but from the photos it has become really beautiful. The black spoiler and black accents on the window pillars were an idea of the car painter. And that works out very well, it gives a completely different look to the car don't you think?

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-04 at 11.14.49.jpg

We can then start rebuilding everything. The first thing we need to do is attach the upholstery to the roof, and then put in the new dashboard. Both parts are best attached when the windscreen and rear window are still out, then you can reach them better.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-04 at 11.14.49.jpg

We bought new fabric for the back seat and side panels, which my wife and mother-in-law have already made to measure. For this they used the old one as an example. The only annoying thing is that my mother-in-law's sewing machine was not strong enough for the fabric to be able to pierce it properly with the needle. Fortunately, we have friends who have a curtain workshop and professional sewing machines, but we can only go there in 2 weeks, they are now on vacation.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-04 at 11.14.49.jpg

Most parts are still new, or can be obtained second-hand. Only the floor covering was a problem. The original floor covering is molded and (of course) a special shape. You can't just copy this, but it's also not just for sale. My son eventually found a copy, but unfortunately that is not quite the color we wanted. But we just have to deal with it for a while. A comrade of mine has given a phone number of an acquaintance who also makes upholstery for Campers, maybe he can help us.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-04 at 11.14.49.jpg

When we are going to replace the dashboard (and as long as the car is still bare) we also install extra cabling for new speakers. Then we can tidy it up. Because of course it also needs a good stereo :).

It is really nice to be busy with the car, looking for parts, etc. Only then does it become apparent how large that community still is. And the funny thing, most of the owners are my age and certainly not my son's age (17). A lot of people like that very much, that such a young guy likes those old Opels so much.

When the interior is ready, we will do a small piece on the exterior. He wants new rims and a new exhaust. We already have new shock absorbers with springs that lower the car by 4 CM. I think that gives it a really tough look.

Have a great day,

Peter

Sort:  

Don't forget the built-in sat-nav 😀

lol..... Google Maps with a heads-up display :P

Hello Peter, welcome to Hive Motors, I have observed your blog and saw the recommendation that you share this content with us, this community is certainly oriented towards this type of publication, however I ask you please not to stop reading the community rules.

I love this project with your son, the paint turned out great, better than the green one lol, I'm sure the upholstery will be great too, I hope your friends after their vacation can help you, but I see you don't mention anything about the engine, I guess it's in very good condition, it looks like a small car, it must be a beast with a 2.0 engine.

I must admit that I didn't know this car model, but I'm impressed by the resemblance it has with one that came to my country called Chevrolet Chevette, with a 1.6 engine, I guess imitating this model since Opel became property of Chevrolet.

image.png

Hi there Daniel, thank you for your reply :) I have read the community rules and ofcourse will respect them. I didn't know the Chevrolet Chevette, but indeed it looks almost the same, except for the front and the curves of the fenders. Awesome to see. The engine of my sons Ascona is indeed a 2.0. We are thinking of putting in a A 5 speed gearbox, cause it's now a 4 speed, it will make it will make em a little more economical. If the wallet allows it, we will also overhaul the engine, otherwise we will do it in the next phase.

Thank you for reading the rules. Well, in this kind of projects everything is based on moving forward based on the budget, but I think that's what makes us appreciate it more, the sacrifices we make and the time it takes us. I'm even more surprised by the similarity with the Chevette, because it also has a 4 speed gearbox, in later models it changes, but for a 2.0 wow engine that gearbox is not enough to take advantage of the top speed.

Very nice that cart, a classic of the 90's in the streets of Venezuela, there are still many modified and in club.

Hi there @guaritosex , this one is from 1979 :) A bit older... They are getting rare here

It's looking really nice! Quite the difference from what it looked like when he first got it. It's awesome that you are able to share this experience together. I can't wait to see it when it is finished up!

Tonight we picked it up. And indeed, I am thrilled going trough this experience together, will be some memory for the both of us :)