Dealing with Emotions

Expression of emotion is a distinctive quality that sets us apart from the non-living.

jpg_20230222_213337_0000.jpg

Photo designed using Canva

Our mental health is influenced by emotions. As a result, you should have personal emotion control, especially when hurt.

We have all experienced emotional pain in one way or another, and because of this, we spend the entire day reflecting on what happened. Our social lives are impacted, but how you manage your emotions determines how well you are doing.

An Instance

A woman who borrowed money from a business and was unable to pay it back committed suicide to escape disgrace, according to a tale I read. Loan officers frequently harass defaulters, and she was already aware that she will experience this soon. She killed herself to escape the humiliation.

This is a phrase that describes how we allow our emotions to rule us rather than the other way around.

To read more about the story, click the link: Source

I want to tell you my tale. How I managed my emotions and why you shouldn't let yours manage you. You should be able to control your emotions and avoid letting bad ones drag you down.

Here is my story

I decided to look for a job after graduating from college, for which I am grateful to God. It is customary to look for any open positions, though this may not be adequate to meet your needs or help you develop as a person.

I made the choice to accept a position as a teacher. I remember one particular church member named Mr. A, and I contacted him to ask for help in getting a job in one of the corporate organizations in Abuja as an I.T staff because I am skilled at computer repairs and networking.
One morning after having applied for jobs in several different organizations, I became tired of the procedures.
Getting in touch with Mr A, he explained to me how he planned to assist by speaking with a member of the organization's current staff because it appears he was dumped along the way and is no longer employed there.

He provided me a lot of assurance, but I didn't rely on him to connect me to the job; instead, I did everything right to meet all the standards on my end. He let me know that he was expecting a letter from Maitama Abuja, one of the general managers of the Corporate Affairs Commission. It took place in December 2022.

I waited until the deadline, which was January 20, 2023, had passed before submitting the letter. In order to appear more interested, I called Mr. A to inquire about the procedure. He instructed me to meet him somewhere specific to write a letter for me and I should ensure I come with a paper and pen after arriving at the location, he told me he wasn't available.

He oversees a church denomination, so I thought he should be in church on the day the service was to be conducted that was our scheduled date. But, that was not the case, and I felt guilty for not calling him before going.

I waited patiently and made the decision to talk to him today about the letter. He told me I would receive it from him on February 26, 2023, a Sunday. Then, before going to his church, he needed to branch out to a bus stop that was closer to my house, and I said, "Sir, what if you hand over the letter to me I will be waiting for you by the bus stop leading to your church." I refused to go to his church this time because the distance from my house bus stop to his church was a major barrier. It seems like the last time I went was hilarious coming back on a very busy road and bad road because right now in my country, we having financial difficulties, and you rarely see a biker accepting a transfer from you which could be payment for a lift.

He demanded that I meet him at the church, even though it was far away and he had to pass my bus stop to get there. I immediately realized Mr. A was refusing to give me his so-called letter because he was highly interested in pressuring me to receive it by instructing me to travel five hours to his church, even though he wasn't convinced the letter would be successful. And I wasn't overly dependent on it in case the result was the opposite.

Sincerely, I told him to forget about the letter after taking into account what Mr. A had done. We live in a digital age, and operating in old age may not be effective. From the on set of things he wasn't official, I realized he just wanted to do a trial an error method which ever comes, when he realized If he had a solid relationship with the organization's employer, he would have called to alert recruitment team instead of using a letter, and as I later discovered, he is not a well-known ex employee. It just like one on a low reputation writing a letter to the manager to accept a staff.

I am not been proud but annoyed some one would waste my time and joke with my emotion, I wasted transport on my first mission and the individual in person doesn't have good rapport , seems he was sacked following an offense he commited When I later enquired about him. All of these made me understood when he was delaying the letter.

How to deal with your emotions

I was attempting to make the point that we shouldn't be completely dependent on what we hope for, especially if it has the potential to alter our emotions. Time wouldn't allow me to elaborate on what he did to cause me to cancel the meeting in order to receive the letter. I phoned him to find out why he had been acting so strangely with the sole purpose of offering me a letter. He made it quite plain that he was doing it delebrately. "I then questioned what delight you were getting out of stressing me when you know you aren't fit for helping out?

Now that you understand, know that I was able to control my emotions and that I wasn't entirely dependent on the job even though it’s a high paying one. At that moment, I was overcome with overwhelming thoughts, but I managed to distract myself with activities and visits to friends. I'm delighted to see that I'm starting to regulate my emotions by not overthinking.

If you are feeling depressed emotionally, I ask that you allow time for pleasure later. This is directed primarily at women: "Don't let depression overtake you, my darling. Make yourself joyful at that moment since life moves on even if you harm yourself with thoughts, the other party remains unharmed, and you must deal with the consequences alone."

Thank you for reading, and until next time.