Should I tell?

Does feedback matter among Friends?

If you heard a conversation about your friend and it was mostly criticisms, would you tell?

I've heard a lot of stories where it backfired and names were called.

I've thought about it a lot, but if you were in my situation, what would you do?

Source

For me, It's not easy to not tell my friend.

I could choose to though, but I've been in situations where I've been helped by people I'm not very familiar with and this has influenced my attitude towards decisions like this.

Secondly, as a growing Christian, I've asked myself these 3 questions;

  1. Does this attitude show love?
  2. If I was in this situation, what would I want someone to do for me?
  3. How would this person react?

I also believe that it is very important to know the type of person you're relaying some information to. Some people react badly to criticisms.

Besides, if you're friends with someone, you should be able to understand his/her behavior based on past experiences. This should give you a hint on if you should talk or not.

Aditionally, while I might give a hint to my friend, I'd be doing so with Wisdom. I'll do so only if my friend is someone who has control over her mouth, and WITHOUT MENTIONING NAMES!

Finally, it's selfish but my main motivation is my idea that "If I was in his/her shoes, what would I want people to do?"

Yeah, the "do unto others what you want them to do to you" rule

I guess I'm not good at being indifferent, but there's already a lot of people acting that role, so let's just do what the Holy Book (Bible) said

Follow Peace with all men. God bless

PS: Watch out for my next post. Can't wait!

Sort:  

I like the last part of it “Follow peace with all men”, my mum says this a lot. And I strive towards a peaceful coexistence with everyone around me.
Well done!

Your mum's a wise lady! I constantly relate with people who come with different attitude, and that sentence holds gold whenever i feel discouraged.

Hmm...I feel it's better to play safe by curtailing your tongue even when you know how your friends will react to what so ever information you dish out.

That's a very valid advice. However, we can't play it safe forever and I keep wondering what I'll want my friend to do if she was in my shoes. Sometimes we need to hear some criticisms, so we can adjust our behaviours. We can't be perfect everytime

Congratulations @joythefoodie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List

Thank you!

You're making waves @joythefoodie! Your first posts on Hive are already making an impact. Keep spreading the buzz!

You're welcome @joythefoodie! Have a nice day 😊👍

Hello dear @joythefoodie 😀

We are glad you are in our community. You will surely be able to make good contributions to the main topic we have.💪

We kindly ask you to familiarize yourself with the community rules, which you find at the beginning of the feed on the right side. This way you will see what we want our fellow authors to comply with, such as the number of words, the feeling or emotion clearly identified in the title, tags, etc. In this way you will be able to see the valuable effort we all make to deliver quality content. Here are also some references that you may find useful:🔍

Emotions & Feelings community theme.
Guide to publishing Emotions & Feelings community

HIVE is a beautiful place.

Greetings 🌟

Ok. Thank you