Basil, kale and chive pesto with spagettini / Hive top chef

in Qurator4 years ago

DSC_2731.jpg
This is my entry for #qurator 's Hive top chef /pasta theme

Our garden is sad in some ways but It offered me some kale, basil and chives. Unfortunately after the harvest of basil, all of the plants started turning yellow. Perhaps too much water. I hope they can come back to me. I love basil so much.

I needed to make something without cooking much, due to the time that I had in a kitchen that is not mine.

The perfect solution for me was pesto. In the time it takes to whiz up the pesto, I can cook the pasta. The time starts with the boiling of the water after the greens are picked and washed.

DSC_2702.jpg

Herb pesto
Fresh kale, basil, chives, oregano, a few garlic cloves, olive oil, lemon juice, walnuts and peanuts.

I didn't add the amounts of each of the herbs that I used. I feel that in this case it doesn't matter. It ended up being approximately 2 cups. I just added as much as I could put in the blender than added around 1/4 cup of olive oil, and 1/4 lemon juice. the salt was to taste and the lemon juice enhances the saltiness in my opinion. The nuts I used added up to around 1/2 cup. Traditionally pine nuts are used but I just use whatever I had and that was walnuts and peanuts which had a good taste anyway. I happen to love peanuts. Sometimes I use tahini (sesame paste) which works well for me also.

DSC_2710.jpg

DSC_2711.jpg

I don't have a food processor so it's a little difficult to blend using a small blender but eventually you get what you are looking for.

DSC_2712.jpg

I coated the noodles with some of the pesto than top it with more.

DSC_2732.jpg

I usually eat pasta with crushed chilies but this time I just used cayenne. I love my spicy food. This cayenne didn't have much kick though.

1.jpg

Often tomatoes are accompanied with basil, but this time I accompanied the basil with tomatoes.

DSC_2719.jpg

Thanks for dropping by!

Sort:  

Yummy! Looking so good! I could eat the plate! You are an excellent cook!!

Have a nice day!

Thank you. I wish we could eat together one day!

Thank you very much. Hope you’ll visit Thailand again one day.

Your food is beautiful and looks tasty! I like basil very much but here not have, it have similar basil but smell not the same. I always love your pictures dish. Good job my dear friend.

Thank you so much. When I was in Mexico I could not find this basil. There was a different kind.

Looks delish. I had a chef boss once who told me that pesto could be made with anything - that blew my mind. Since then, I often use pumpkin seeds instead of the more expensive pine nuts, and use half basil half kale often. So good..

You're the first person that has told me they use kale for pesto. And pumpkin seeds for that matter.

I'm happy to hear that about your former chef boss.Pine nuts are over rated haha.

Congratulations on a well deserved
win @carolynstahl, what a feast for the eyes and taste buds too! I just looove pesto and have been using cayenne on just about all my food lately as I enjoy the bite it has and it has amazing health benefits too! Gorgeous photography!

Thanks a million. Congrats to you too. You are a real master chef.

Stunning presentation, my dear!! YUM. Moe pesto coming into my weekend.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @artemislives.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!