Gnocchi with vegan creamy mushroom sauce

in Qurator4 years ago

DSC_4953.jpg

What do you do when you go to your favorite grocery store and their feature sale item is organic potato ghocchi for one dollar a pack? You buy a few packs.

DSC_4876.jpg

I didn't do anything with it for a few days so today I had to check the fridge to see what was in there. I had left over cashew cream that I had made from soaked cashews, lemon juice and nutritional yeast.

DSC_4881.jpg

I had a tray of Portobello mushrooms that I hadn't used and not much more so I decided on creamy mushroom sauce.

DSC_4888.jpg
I really love flat leaf parsley for this kind of dish. Actually I prefer it for almost everything except soups and stews where I prefer curly parsley. I chopped up a small bunch for the mushroom sauce.

DSC_4892.jpg
First I browned the onion and garlic in a hot pan with olive oil. Than I added the mushrooms.

DSC_4900.jpg

I then added the cashew cream and a little bit of vegetable soup broth.

DSC_4912.jpg

I added the soup broth slowly until I got the desired consistency.

DSC_4921.jpg

Mushroom cream sauce
3 cups chopped mushrooms of your choice
One onion chopped
4 cloves garlic minced
2 cups chopped parsley
1 cup of cashew cream
1 teaspoon oregano
1 tablespoon black pepper
salt to taste
1 to 2 cups of vegetable soup broth

DSC_4926.jpg
I am a hot sauce lover but I couldn't do that to this dish. I wanted it to be more easy going so no hot sauce on this one.

DSC_4937.jpg
I did add a little cayenne pepper and dab of balsamic glaze.

DSC_4955.jpg
I'm sure there are gluten free ones out there but if you see a package that says potato gnocchi, read the ingredients if you can't consume gluten.

Gnocchi is usually made of potatoes and low in gluten but usually held together with wheat flour. You could always make your own if you have time. I hope some day I will have time.

DSC_4930.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Oh! I am very hungry now! I could drink the cream sauce like milk!!

Haha...i bought nearly the same Gnocchi with Quinoa here,not for a dollar...i paid 1,50€
So, you got the better price :)
But they are ok, aren't they...and what you made out of it looks yummy. Gotta look out
for that cashew cream ;)

Wow, it looks delicious :) :) thanks for sharing with us!

!discovery 15


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @justinparke.

I love it, got the umami thing going on from the mushrooms, and the heavy rich cashew sauce, sure it's very filling. Most pasta dishes aren't very satisfying to me, but there is just something about gnocchi, and I love this original sauce. Thanks for sharing @carolynstahl.

Your post is featured in our latest #plantbased curation post, Gnocchi, Cookies, Healing Ancient Grains, Creamy Spreads, Indian-Chinese Fusion And More!!.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your support!!!

Thank you so much for this @justinparke and @naturalmedicine. I appreciate the support!

Of course, keep the delicious treats coming...