Roasted tomato soup with pasta and tofu

in Qurator4 years ago

DSC_5503.jpg

I am continuing with my comfort food these days, which are soups and stews.
I need comfort right now with the nonsense that is going on in the world and the country. The restaurant where I work has been open for take out for three days and we did very poorly. I fear for my income. However the owner's other restaurant is doing insanely well so there is hope. It's just weird to work around sixty hours a week, then suddenly work thirty five hours.

The good part is I get to enjoy more time making my own food in my own kitchen.

DSC_5392.jpg

Tomatoes are a good price right now. It's unfortunate that I was not able to get the ones from Marc's parents garden that I grew when we lived there.

When I saw these tomatoes in the bargain bin I thought of tomato soup. It use to be one of my favorites growing up being raised by my father who had a bunch of cans ready to open for my my dinner. He let me pick out any kind I wanted. I often picked tomato.

I knew that Marc would complain if I just made a tomato soup for dinner, so I added some tofu and pasta. I also made bread from a dough that I had made for naan bread, in my last post.

DSC_5406.jpg

The tomatoes were roasted in the oven for around half an hour along with onion and garlic.

DSC_5410.jpg

The skin of the tomatoes were removed. The tomatoes, onion and garlic were blended until smooth.

DSC_5417.jpg

I added one tablespoon of tomato paste to add a little thickness.

DSC_5418.jpg

Then the seasonings which were 1 teaspoon oregano, 1 teaspoon thyme, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 teaspoon pepper, 1 teaspoon paprika, 2 tablespoons vegetable broth powder, and salt to taste. The tomatoes were fairly tangy so I added a little bit of agave nectar. Taste as you go. Then add according to your taste. brought it to a boil then simmered on low for the time it took me to cook the other ingredients.

DSC_5420.jpg

I decided to shred the tofu. I had shell pasta in my cupboard enough for the soup so I cooked it separately.

DSC_5456.jpg

I added one diced onion, 3 cloves minced garlic and 1 diced carrot, to brown in a pan. Then I added them to the tomato and blended everything with an emulsion blender. I browned the shredded tofu with a little olive oil then added that to the pot as well.

DSC_5448.jpg
The cooked pasta was added at the end.
DSC_5465.jpg

Meanwhile with half of the bread dough that I had made the day before, I shaped it into an oval loaf and put it in the oven until it was baked through.

I am not an expert at baking bread but I was quite satisfied with the results.

DSC_5304.jpg

Bread
3 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons dry active yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 cup warm water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup vegan butter, olive oil or coconut oil

I don't make a habit of eating gluten bread but sometimes I just want something to feel like I am in the country on a brisk fall day.

DSC_5347.jpg

I love the tangy flavor of tomato and when they are roasted with onion and garlic it adds a little boost.

DSC_5495.jpg

Normally I spice everything up but this time it was just a sprinkle of cayenne that did the trick.

DSC_5497.jpg

Thanks for dropping by!

Sort:  

Yummy tomato soup! Very nice and creative menu! I like the bread as well.

Thank you @kaminchan for a lovely compliment!

A very delicious recipe :) thanks for sharing with us!

!discovery 20

Thank you too!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

So tasty!

I like to eat bread but I never make it, I just want to try someday. You are really an amazing chef! This food makes me hungry now.

I appreciate your compliment but you are the chef I admire the most my dear!

Serious to god woman, do your amazing recipes never end? Just been planting tomatoes here in Australia - hopefully by next Autumn, I'll be ready to make this!

That is the best compliment ever! Thank you for your support. It's so weird that our season is over and yours is about planting.

I wish for the best crop ever for you!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @justinparke.

For me, the fresh bread seals the deal. An awesome tomato soup has to have some croutons, crackers, a grilled cheese (for the vegetarians), or some fresh-baked bread. Well....you brought fresh-baked to the party, the best possible partner for this dish in my opinion. Thanks for sharing @carolynstahl.

Your post is featured in our latest #plantbased curation post, Spring Roll Salad, Soups For The Soul, Persimmon Smoothies, Chestnut Truffles And More!!.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.