Where Hive Magic Happens 🔮 Qurator's Monday Missions 🕵️ Workstations 🖥️

in Qurator4 years ago (edited)

fgt.JPG

This week's Monday Missions topic is "Workstations," so I will share with you where all the Hive blogging magic happens.


🐇🎩 Where The Hive Magic Happens 🔮🧙

an entry for

Qurator's Monday Missions | Workstations


🔭 FAR FROM MAGIC 🧙‍♂️

   Hive blogging magic is certainly an overstatement, but I hope I grabbed your attention. I will say we are eking out a living from blogging on Hive, and although far from thriving on it, Hive has become our most stable source of income during this global downturn.

station.JPG

   It's a pretty average workstation, but I've been getting by with much worse than this for years. To have a desk and semi-broken chair is awesome, no matter how mismatched their ergonomics might be.

🏃‍♂️ PORTABILITY IS KEY 🧳

   After years of bouncing back and forth between laptops and PCs, I finally purchased a mini PC, and I have no regrets whatsoever. Combined with a bluetooth keyboard, bluetooth mouse, bluetooth speaker, webcam and portable monitor, I have a very portable workstation that packs down to a reasonable size.

bv.JPG
vb.JPG
tr.JPG
nh.JPG
88.JPG
99.JPG

   What you see is a Logitech MX Ergo Trackball Mouse, Logitech Illuminated Keyboard, Logitech C920 HD Pro Webcam, JBL Flip 4, Intel NUC5i7RYH, and an ASUS ZenScreen 15.6 Inch Portable Monitor.

   All in all this equipment gets the job done. The only problems I encounter are when I am replaying videos on my timeline in Shotcut, which are a bit choppy, but hey it's a mini PC, I'm pushing the limits.

   I also teach Cambodian online, although COVID-19 has all but destroyed my student base. Learning languages is just not a necessity during tough economic times when survival is number one.

   I still have one student though for which I make use of the webcam and mini whiteboard I keep on my desk. Other than the $80 a month we get from these lessons, Hive is our main source of income.

🐝 My HiveWare 👨‍💻

   In my opinion, nothing beats Peakd.com for creating Hive posts. I was already partial to S!eempeak back when S!eemit was hip, so the interface is very familiar.

bng.png

   Not many frontends have a side-by-side option within the editor, and that is one of the biggest draws of the Peakd editor.

   When it comes to commenting and curating posts, I use Ecency, formerly known as eS!eem. I like the gamification system and using ESTM for post promotion. The desktop windows app will be released soon, so I am eagerly awaiting it.

vbvb.png

   For now I use Ecency on my iPhone 8 and eSteem on the PC. The whole family impatiently waits for their daily allotted SPIN & WIN, where I always seem to get 5 ESTM and @Sreypov always seems to get 20+ ESTM, causing me to think maybe luck is real.

   When it comes to making those eye-candy 800px x 480px awesome Hive thumbnails, I use GIMP, a totally free image editing program that is similar to Photoshop.

Untitled.png

   The simplicity of GIMP compared to other similar image editing programs is advantage for me. I'm far from a professional photographer or photo editor, and I have yet to even make use of 50% of the features this program has to offer, so it's more than enough.

📷 My Precious 😨

   This Canon PowerShot SX530 HS Digital Camera has been in my possession for several years, and I've only recently began using it and learning its features.

gt.JPG

   I've always felt self-conscious with a big camera around my neck, and I also live in the developing world, so a big lofty camera makes you stand out like a sore thumb, something you don't usually want, especially when taking natural photos.

   Especially in Cambodia, I've found a smartphone to be the least obtrusive device to catch people acting natural, my favorite kind of photos. I'm getting used to using this monster though, and I've learned I just have to wait 20 minutes until folks begin ignoring the camera.

   @Sreypov is quickly becoming an awesome blogger and photographer, so I've recently acquired one more reason to finally learn the ins and outs of my new-ish camera, because she wants to learn how to use this camera properly too.

🌐 Conclusion 👨‍💻

   This was my first Monday Mission post for @Qurator, but I've meaning to take part for far too long. That's my workstation, humble but functional, and always ready to pack up and go when the world changes for the better.


🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and reblog.


80.png
Untitled.png
pinmapplefinal.png
Abundance.Tribe.png

Sort:  

You have a such a different setup than me. I have a full PC with a screen large enough to watch movies! 🤭

That's simple and neatly organised, though. At least we have that in common.

Simple and organized is key, although I wish I had a larger monitor at times. When we find a forever home, a monitor is on my list of things to purchase.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It was interesting seeing your equipment! I was surprised at the mini-PC, as most folks seem to use laptops, tablets, or phones, with the occasional desktop thrown-in. I love your desk!!! It is such a pretty color!!! ❤️

I used to use laptops, but couldn't afford the repairs or find the small unique parts needed when a repair is a must, especially in Cambodia. This thing only has 4 screws, and uses universal parts, so now I am the repairman, and a very cheap one I might add.

This setup is what I call my mobile desktop. I used to use this setup with a monitor I would purchase on arrival in whatever location I found myself, but I always lost too much money when selling my monitor because of luggage restrictions.

This whole kit is small enough to fit in a shoulder bag with my camera and other digital toys, something important when traveling, and it keeps from having to check any of these items at airports, of which there is always a small risk to lose the bag in transit.

!ENGAGE 15

Wow... that is the smartest thing, then! Kudos to your ingenuity! 😃

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @justinparke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I got to try GIMP.

I highly recommend it, just go to the website and download it free of charge. There are plenty of YouTube tutorials out there to get you up and going.

It may be a mismatch - but so much character
Love the colour of your desk!!

So you wait 20 minutes eh? haha