Silk PLA Miniature Test

in ThreeD (3D) Printing15 days ago (edited)

silk filament.png

I have been testing a new filament with the library 3D printer. Our Dremel 3D45 is designed for proprietary spools, so I needed to first print an adapter to use standard 2kg spools, and then acknowledge I was voiding a (long-expired) warranty before it would let me select custom settings.

Fortunately, the OVV3D tri-color PLA I used included suggested nozzle and bed temperatures, and everything basically worked right out of the box. Yay! No troubleshooting! The result was this iridescent model of a tentacled monstrosity I can use in my Dungeons & Dragons campaign. I might use it with an Aboleth stat block or some other creepy-crawly big bad for this story arc. It has a 0.2mm layer height and 2 perimeters. I can't recall whether I used 15% or 20% infill.

Silk PLA is interesting stuff. The presentation is amazing, much better in person than what I can show with my cell phone photography skills. This has a blend of blue, green, and orange that takes on a coppery hue. I like it. This also seems a bit more flexible and resilient to bending than the more brittle Dremel-branded PLA, so that may offer some benefits. The spool was also very well wound, and I had zero binding or tangling issues despite the jury-rigged feed system I had to use.

However, I am unimpressed with its behavior for anything functional. I've had some issues with layers not adhering and models splitting despite looking like a solid print. It also swells almost to the original 1.75mm diameter shortly after extruding from the 0.4mm hot end nozzle whenever I change filament or clear a clog. It doesn't seem to affect the printed model, but I wouldn't trust it for anything requiring dimensional precision. Finally, it just feels more fragile, though I haven't done anything scientific to actually test its resistance to being crushed.

Have you used "silk PLA" or other PLA-adjacent filaments? What did you like, and what did you hate?

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

I've been having trouble getting back in the swing of writing serious posts, and tackling controversial topics while trying to be fair and balanced is no easy thing. You get a soft topic as filler (15% or 20%?) while I try to hash out tough topics behind the scenes and wrestle them into a coherent essay.

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency | LEO

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through InLeo or PeakD. If you use either of my referral links, I'll even try to delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

Sort:  

I'm always amazed by what's achievable through 3D printing. This looks perfect despite the intricacy of them:)

Silk PLA seems to have less obviously visible layer divisions than standard PLA, and the model I downloaded is good for demonstrating the color effect. I was impressed by what I can get from the material on a visual basis for sure, but credit goes largely to the digital sculptor.

Tentacles monstrosities are always a good thing!

I don't need to know which dark corners of the internet you visit.

The tentacley corners!!!

3D printing doesn't ever feel to mesmerize me. I don't know how fragile they must feel to you but they look quiet lovely from here.

I’ve never used a filament but I have also not heard any bad review about it
I hope you try it again maybe it could be better. Let’s assume you didn’t do it well so the second result will tell if the filament is bad or the other way round

I don't think you know the first thing about 3D printing based on your reply.

That is awesome you play D&D. I have been playing since I was little. I thought about using my library's 3D printer, but the stuff it produces looks kinda janky, so I would always make paper minis. Yours looks great! Then I just started buying actual minis. We play a fair amount, online using roll 20 and dnd beyond, but every year we play for 4 years straight during the 4th of July in person, and have an epic medieval feast around the campaign. Here was our 9th annual feast video:

That's a shiny Tentacruel! Are you going to paint it?

!LUV
!LOL

Nah, I don't like painting FDM prints, and the cool filament is the feature here. Resin prints would be better for painting.

jacobtothe, zakludick sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

The inventor of autocorrect has died
His funnel is tomato

Credit: reddit
@jacobtothe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of zakludick

(3/6)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP