You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3D Printing Some Calibration Cubes

in ThreeD (3D) Printing3 years ago

Hi @holovision, I seemed to have missed this comment for some reason, I need to work out a better system for keeping up with all the wonderful engagement I've been having here.

I've been inspecting your prints here very closely, and have noticed an anomaly that is similar with an issue I was having and trying to troubleshoot for a very long time. (like 3 months, the whole time I've had my printer) I only recently figured out what it was.

It was eccentric nuts, and I will explain what the anomaly was that made me think, over/under extrusion, bad extruder, bad bowden tube, bad leveling, improper Z-offset..

It was deviations in the layering. (and the scraping of course)

I even bought a new extruder trying to diagnose!

While we were chatting about the Z-offset, I started messing around with it, having better results, but then the anomaly resurfaced.

When those eccentric nuts wobble from improper placement, this is the result, as well as scraping.

Now that I've tightened up the eccentric nuts (which some were so bad they were not even touching the rails) all of those layering deviations have ceased, and any scraping I've incurred has been a result of over extrusion and shell thickness, but overall the problem is now fixed. ( and at the perfect time now that I'm starting a 3D printing blog.)

I cannot be sure that it's your eccentric nuts.
I suggest checking those first, (also check for gunk and obstructions on the rails)
and then if they are good, extruder and bowden tube.
I think your issue here might not be the Z-offset.
I hope it is just a matter of eccentric nuts.

Please let me know how things are working out.

Sort:  

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll check on that.👍

!BEER


Hey @print3dpro, here is a little bit of BEER from @holovision for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.