Coping with the distance!

in Love & Sexuality2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


The concept of long distance relationships is not something that every one appreciates or can cope with. We all have our preferences regarding relationships and long distance relationships is something that people often question whether they can deal with or not.

As much as some people feel they can cope with distance relationships, once it happens due to situations beyond their control such as having to travel to a distant location due to their career path, they realise coping is much more difficult than they initially envisioned.

While Several people can cope with distance in relationships, several cannot since their partners being within arms reach at all times is what makes them feel loved and confident that the relationship is actually what it should be.

The activities done together is something that makes relationships enjoyable, and this is something that cannot be gotten over the distance regardless of technology which allows for constant communication via face-time and texts, which sometimes leads to the case of doubt and infidelity since each partner may begin to receive attention from someone within their reach.

In the end, a lasting relationship amidst the distance boils down to both partners having a certain level of understanding and trust while developing a top-tier communication which will allow them work things out regardless of the distance.

Appreciating the distance or not It's an individual thing which is solely based on preparing ones mindset for the unplanned situations while developing mechanisms to cope with it. Do what works best for you.

See you on the next one

Thumbnail and transition designed using Canva!

YouTube Music Thumbnail City Dark Dance.png

Previous videos in the series:

Understanding the African reaction to Pansexuality!

The African Mentality on Women expression

Nigerian women and the mentality of relationships as a means to an end!

A date with eighteen +1 ladies!

The Mentality of control in relationships!

Why Does Love Fade With Time?

Can you take back a cheating partner?

Deliberating on Love and Money!

Is getting married an achievement?

People should not be forced into relationships!

YouTube Music Thumbnail City Dark Dance.gif

Regards!
uchihanagato!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Coping with distantlce relationship requires a certain level of mental preparation which not everyone can afford. Apart from that, there's the issue of trust, constant communication, understanding and lots more which needs to be put into consideration.

It's a very complicated issue.
I don't think I can ever cope with long distance relationships.

It's a very complicated issue.

Very very complicated one o.. and its often tough to decide the right step/decision to take.

Not everyone can cope with a long distance relationship, especially when it is for a long term like a year and more, amidst trust issues arises.

Yes, not everyone can.. But I'd like to ask a took direct questions- can you?

Yes I can, but not for a long period of time.

Is one year too long?

I will cope with one year during dating since there is a fixed time for it to end, but in marriage we have to visit each other once in a while oo

Long distance relationship only works when there is full trust, not one sided both ways

Yes, that's correct. It must be trust from both sides. But even with trust, things could happen since we're still humans.

I have no issues with distance relationships as long as it doesn't exceed a maximum of three month and there is enough communication and trust between us.

I have no reason to doubt my partner because I trust her. We both trust each other.

But once the distance is getting behind 6 months, them there's a problem somewhere. We may have to call if off or perhaps work out something to cut out the distance.

Wow.. each man to his own opinion. 6 months is actually a lot, and I agree. I can actually do as long as 1 year but once it exceeds then I'd have to find a way around it to make sure sure distance is eliminated o.

But that one year is not gonna be easy. I feel you bro.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @uchihanagato.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you.

I don't think I an ever cope with being in a distance relationship. It's not something I'd appreciate. I like my partner around me. Even if we don't see everyday, I need to know that they're within my reach whenever.

Imagine not seeing your partner for months due to reasons unknown. We'd only be limited to texts and calls. Things are definitely going going get boring with time.

Distance relationship is not for me.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I completely understand your point of view, which is why ibsaid that each person should simply do what works best for him or her since there's no specified rule regarding relationships. I really appreciate your contribution. Thanks.

Congratulations @uchihanagato! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 600 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you.

In my opinion, I feel distanced relationship should not be advised, I believe trust is key in every relationship, so as not bring the doubt of infidelity, trust issues, unnecessarily monitoring from either party...

 2 years ago (edited) 

I feel distanced relationship should not be advised,

Do not forget that things happen beyond our control. Imagine your partner was transferred transferred another city due to work, will you end the relationship because of the distance?

I'd suggest you think it through before making a decision.

I think one can cope only if both parties have fully agreed to it. All the major things that would help such relationship stand, is trust and communication. When I say communication, I mean constant and quality communication.
It also still comes down to the individuals involved.

Yes, agreement is he major thing. Once there can be agreement via effective communication, the distance will become easy to handle.

That's the point.

It has to do with the individual involved.

Above all it is important both partners talk about what works for them. I think when they're completely honest about it with one another they'd be in a better place in their relationship. Long distance or not.

That's my take.