The Hidden Chemist..

It's not very often on my travels I'm lost for words.. but this was one of those days. I had taken a wrong turn on my way to another explore and out of the corner of my eye I saw what I thought to be the front of an old chemist shop, I came to a screeching halt, which I Really need to stop doing! and dumped the car on the kerb. From what I could see, the shop front was all that was left of what looked to be an old Chemist. As I peared through the painted windows all I could see was a massive pile of rubble,.. no shop. Curiosity has always gotten the better of me and before I knew it I was squeezing through a small gap and came face to face with a mountain of bricks. I could see a few remnants of what had been old advertising signs and bits and bobs strewn amongst the rubble so I proceeded to clamber over the mountain to see what I could find. In front of me was a big hole in the ground, I crouched down and sort of slid in a very ladylike fashion towards the hole,. I honestly sat there staring for a good few minutes at what was before me until I really quickly snapped out of it and thought hell I need to get in there now!!!


I'm not even sure how I did it but in true kamikaze style i slid towards the hole and before I knew it ide hit the bottom.
I looked around and I realised I was in the cellar of what used to be the old chemist.. if this was heaven, ide just arrived.


Bottles and Ceremic pots filled the shelves and the floor, some buried in the dust, just their necks showing.


Some still had their contents in bursting out of their lids and corroded to the bottles.


Tiny little green and blue poison bottles hid behind huge ones, pots of liquids and creams balancing precariously on rotton shelves, one push and the whole lot would come tumbling down.

Old crates piled high with empty bottles that never got taken out and filled, an old cash bag that once held old pennies and the takings of a good day lay on a shelf covered in dust and consumed by darkness for decades..


Beautiful Latin writing of what the bottles held, Carefully written on a label and then tied with string, I always knew I should of listened more at school.. Before I knew it darkness was drawing in and it was time for me to get myself out and back to reality. With the help of a pallet and resembling a coal miner I dragged my self out of the hole in the ground and into the fresh air. As I sat in my car I couldn't help but wonder how busy the little chemist would of been, the shopkeepers with their little black pinnys and white hats climbing up and down the stone stairs making medicines and remedies for the surrounding villages.. what it looked like, why and when it shut,. After researching it the shop closed around the 1950s and was taken over by another chemist who sealed the cellar up and it was only discovered when in 2022 the workmen pulled the chemist down and while digging they found it. Due to the chemicals in there I believe a proper licence is needed to remove it all and that costs money, so to this day, the hole in the ground is still there awaiting its fate..

Sort:  

I got a very cartoonish image from "dump the car on the kerb" imagining you literally picking it up and dropping it there with psychic or superhuman powers XD

What an epic find O_O

I did ha!! dumpes and ran!

What an amazing first post!
Beautiful shots, I love the lighting.

Tipp: Don´t forget to reblog it to your own blog, so that all can see it, when they go to your profile page on peakd.

aww thankyou so much!! and yes I shall do that 😊

It looks like being some science from another time. Thanks for sharing those amazing pictures with us! And welcome to Hive!

oh thankyou so much! I'm super excited about sharing all my adventures in here!!

I am looking forward to read them ^^

Great post @ninjakitten , welcome to the hive, love the story to this. wait til hivians se your other time capsules!!!!

yay!! hello trouble 😜 and thankyou!

😂👍

I wish I experienced drive-byes like this, they are generally decaying death-traps that attempt to kill me with massive holes in the floor.

The bottles remind me of an old local shop that has recently changed due to the owner dying. It was like going back in time, and other-worldly. I can't say I have ever seen anything like this on my explores. A great start!

oh this was sheer luck! like you I waste hours and petrol and end up in a wood looking at a shed 😂

I am quite organised but drive-by's are 90% pants! One like this.., wow, you were incredibly lucky..

Hello @ninjakitten! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive - congratulations and welcome! And what an amazing post it is - I can see why you'd be at a loss for words, after stumbling over (or should I say, kamikaze-like sliding into...lol) that otherworldly looking chemist cellar. Such an incredible find, and your pictures are awesome!

It would also be awesome if you could do an introduction post, so our community can get to know you a bit better. For hints on how to write an intro post, please check out the SELF INTRODUCTION section of the post 3 things Newbies should do in their first week on Hive.

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities. I see you've already found Urban Exploration, and I think you'll find Team UK interesting as well.

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the Hive Newbies Guide should be helpful to you, as it is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

For now, @lovesniper will follow your account and we are looking forward to seeing your intro post. Also, please mention tag me ( @traciyork ) & @lovesniper in your intro post in order for us to be notified, so we can consider your post for OCD curation. Lastly, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server if you have any questions!

OK thankyou!!

Congratulations @ninjakitten! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

aww thankyou!

Wow! These are amazing pictures - it's like you have stepped back in time.

Thanks for sharing, @ninjakitten!

Annabelle 😊

aww thankyou!! I absloutly loved it!! a real fluke as well

Sometimes those flukes lead to the best experiences!

they definitely do!! such a lucky find il never forget

Welcome ninjakitten! If you love travel check out @travelfeed / TravelFeed.io :)

Hay hi and thankyou!

Pretty intresting stuff, impressive vintage visuals and stuff. Thanks a lot for sharing with us!

What a great drive-by! Who am I kidding? What a great find. Is that car okay? Dumping on the curb! :)

I have never seen an explore with so many bottles of ick in it. I look forward to more. :)

it really was a drive by find.. I've never been so lucky! that never happens to me usually, 8 drive for hours and arrive at a barn 🙄😁

Loading...