Tales of the Urban Explorer: Easton House

It’s only when I come to do the write up’s about these old places do I learn the history.

Easton House, formally Easton Lodge was built in the 1840’s and boasted a sweeping staircase topped by a stained glass window, a ballroom, and entertainment rooms with marble fireplaces.

26_IMG_8542_26.jpg

...'what type of seedy entertainment went on in those rooms methinks?'...

Since our visit just over a year ago, the grounds have been cleared, the house sold and it will be re-developed into separate housing. That’s if all the red-tape is cleared but don’t count on it, those trees could grow back just as fast and thick as when we were there.


OldEaston.jpg
Source
’Easton House, probably in the late 1800’s. The gate looks just the same as the one that was getting in our way’…

How these houses quickly fall from grace and into ruin. Below is an image from 2008. I suspect it might have been liveable, if a little damp.


Easton2008.PNG
Source
’2008, very respectable; all the windows intact, no wooden shutters and even some camera’s’. I would not dare try it back then’…

“What do you think..., over the gate?”

We looked beyond the murky looking, rust-coasted gate that looked identical to the one pictured above in the 1890’s image and saw lots of trees, boarded windows and no access points.

If we were to scale it there would be no guarantees. This was a high visibility main road with a row of terraced houses opposite. There was a high chance of Karen interference, but that gate looked quite easy.

28_IMG_8544_28.jpg

@anidiotexplores wasted no time, and scaled it, jumping far side and disappeared into the gloom of the fading sun. It took me a little longer, but this gate was obviously built to aid climbers, its foot holds and ample space between the spikes nicely house your man balls.

Literally a minute after landing, we heard the ritual ‘OY’, from somewhere outside but both of us had a sudden attack of deafness. Funny how that happens at just the right moment?

25_IMG_8540_25.jpg

A large window loomed with an inviting gap in the boards. We were inside and ‘OyMan’ outside could go fuck himself.

...'it's an established fact that 'Oymen' never climb spiky gates in order to pursue explorers into derps that are dropping apart'...

1_IMG_8515_1.jpg

Our landing point was fortunate as was the time of day. I looked up that stairs and saw those stained glass windows, or what was left of them with some nice lighting in tow.

Or maybe it was a creepy lady ghost with chunky turquoise legs?

2_IMG_8516_2.jpg

Oh shit, someone has bought this wreck? I hope they didn’t pay more than a token gesture, what a mess.

3_IMG_8517_3.jpg

Whatever the condition, I always notice the small details such as the swirls above the doorway, despite the second floor being barely present above our heads.

4_IMG_8518_4.jpg

If one can ascend, then one does even if the stairs look a little sketchy. This is part of Urban Exploring, it’s not for wimps, and you need to grow balls if you want to see all of the sights.

5_IMG_8519_5.jpg

From the second floor vantage point, you get to see panoramic view of the levels below there where the floor no longer exists.

6_IMG_8520_6.jpg

A little care was needed on the stairway bend; keep away from the corners please.

7_IMG_8521_7.jpg

Jump, I think not, maybe after a few beers but I tend not to mix getting pissed with exploring.

8_IMG_8522_8.jpg

There was a substantial section of this floor that had no floor if you get my meaning.

9_IMG_8523_9.jpg

The sights and wonders that we could have seen over there. It wasn’t to be.

10_IMG_8524_10.jpg

@anidiotexplores roams around on the ground floor and wonders if I will be up for the jump?

11_IMG_8525_11.jpg

After some thought about my life, what would change if I jumped, the priceless sights I would miss and the debilitating 'new me' without legs and in a wheelchair for the rest of my life, common sense prevailed and I descended sulkily.

12_IMG_8526_12.jpg

Some rooms we could not get into, the sheer amount of beams, wooden spikes and rubble were getting in the way.

13_IMG_8527_13.jpg

Was this written on the last day of Easton House’s old existence? I struggled to find when it closed its doors but guess it was in the mid noughties.

14_IMG_8528_14.jpg

Why indeed? We are never too serious about exploring, and always have a laugh.

15_IMG_8529_15.jpg

I often look up and think. ‘I was walking on that a few minutes ago’. From this angle, it looks a little unsafe, don’t you think?

16_IMG_8530_16.jpg

17_IMG_8531_17.jpg

It appears we have a basement, but we found no stairs leading down. Maybe they were in the rooms stuffed with fallen debris?

18_IMG_8532_18.jpg

19_IMG_8533_19.jpg

20_IMG_8534_20.jpg

When presented with such rooms, it’s a question of… ‘is it worth trampling over all this crap to get over there when there’s fuck all over there’.

If I can see priceless manuscripts written in the 19th century, I would likely try.

21_IMG_8535_21.jpg

Natural light, it makes so much difference. This is why I love 'sunny day' explores.

22_IMG_8536_22.jpg

Nice door, but what’s behind it. To the left it’s looking a little ropey.

23_IMG_8538_23.jpg

All three floors in a single photograph; whoever bought this needs to be very rich to fix it up.

24_IMG_8539_24.jpg

This company appears to have gone bust, I suppose that fits, the card being found in here.

A super dangerous explore, but quite normal for us. You do get used to it.

27_IMG_8543_27.jpg

OyMan’ was nowhere to be seen; we vaulted the ancient gate and left without incident.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png

TalesLogo.JPG

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Has your buddy had anymore involvement with the local constabulary?

They are still deciding whether to charge him for Burglary, despite finding no goods on his body. Tough decision, it's been a month now.

wankers, yet the bearded twat gets away openly selling his stuff to the rags

Selling? they get nothing besides free exposure. Waste of time.

the red top rags I believe offer up amounts of cash?

I wouldn't know, they have never approached me. With every man and his dog, (and chubby girls with enormous tits and layers of tanfastic), exploring now, there's plenty to choose from.

yup fat arses and beards!
i was once approached by bbc radio cymru, when I posted the mills in mid wales. Told them to fuck off too!

what type of seedy entertainment went on in those rooms methinks?

Hopefully not cummy bathwater driving like in that foul Saltburn nonsense!

The window on the staircase was a grand thing!

Hopefully not cummy bathwater

I get the sense that all manner of fouls deeds happened during those days. Even during our much younger lives, the BBC and media was full of perverts, such as Glitter and Saville. How much worse was it over 100 years ago?

They wandered about in plain sight! I saw an amusing comedy clip about a guy talking about the likes of Glitter and Saville and saying it was so weird that back in the day when we were young everyone knew a creepy old saville-like dude. They would be like, stay away from that guy in the house on Rowan drive cos everyone knew they were a beast. When I saw it I laughed because there was a well known one in our area!

My Art teacher at big school was a creepy bastard, who liked boys, but fortunately didn't take a fancy to me. I didn't get it at the time, but we couldn't see anything then.

Its just mental to think on the older days!

Another excellent urban exploration article... The facade is imposing, but the photos of the interior were my favourite... They are an explosion of chaos and colour!...

‘OyMan’ hahahaha :))

Thanks for sharing @slobberchops friend!

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

Thanks @jlinaresp, these 'OyMen' get annoying at times, and we have to ignore them, or engage in conflict. I'm not there to argue with Karen's so its always the former choice. If you go in, they either get bored or call the cops, either way.. nothing really happens!

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @slobberchops

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @slobberchops

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 11/25

@slobberchops! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (5/5)

Another damn cool story of invade and exploration. How I like the style! ' ...both of us had a sudden attack of deafness. Funny how that happens at just the right moment. A large window loomed with an inviting gap in the boards. We were inside and ‘OyMan’ outside could go fuck himself.'

😜😜😜

'Oymen' are annoying but generally have little balls, especially when they see it's not 10-year old kids. I tend to ignore them, unless I am sure they are the owners.

Hurrah to the little balls then 😂😂😂

Loading...

Its a shame to see that Sheena Easton's mansion has gone to ruin. I guess her 'baby' no longer 'gets the morning train'.
Some nice features in that place, must have been impressive at one point.
Those upper floors were a tad scary, fair play for even venturing up there !

That's old music, I was barely out of school when Sheena hit the scene. My best friend (at the time) had a huge crush on her.

From the outside looked impressive, on entry, call for the ball and chain gang!

No one in their right mind excluding present company would enter/buy said property.

!BEER thanks for another explore.

I can't imagine the thrill of discovering all those hidden nooks and crannies in an old, abandoned place like that. The history you uncovered and the risky climbs really make it feel like you're stepping into another world🤩🤩🤩

Wow, the dead trees outside already looked creepy, but the inside of the house was such a mess that it made the trees look nice. There wasn't much to see, but you noticing the swirly design was a good catch. It looked like a very nice place, but time wasn't nice to it.

Looking at the house from the outside view is not that bad and just a small renovation is needed but the interior needs a lot of work. This is just a wow story from 1840 till date the house still stood its ground.

The outside views are generally much better than inside. I have seen it countless times.

Honestly, I was already thinking of how you’d enter the building. It looks so rough but I wonder why this kind of amazing place will be abandoned
It’s a very big lodge though

The grounds are much larger than I figured. Having seen the chopped trees version of this, I can see just how big the estate was.

I actually have you on my favorite list so I see your post faster than almost anyone 😂😂😂😂

Don't try too hard, one comment is enough... really.

😂😂😂😂 thanks slobber I can finally relax.... I'm still new here so I'm doing everything 😂😂😂

i always enjoy this kind of content, thanks for sharing :3

Wow look at the front of that thing 😂😂😂 I don't know what kind of plant that is but I'll call it spooky plant

Maaaaan slobber sometimes I just wish I could be with you on these exploration... Absolutely dope

Damn this is over 200 years ago,😳😳😳😳 they have to do Carbon dating on that thing man😂😂😂 I'm sure the dinosaurs has a good time here though

You really took risks to share this with us... Thanks for all your work slobber... Sorry for flooding your blog with comments.... just very excited about your work man😂


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jlinaresp tipped slobberchops
@willendorfia(3/15) tipped @slobberchops

a bit of paint here and there and this house is back to its former glory, don't worry

It's like a haunted house, minus the old furniture, which was all broken

!ALIVE
!LOL

@slobberchops! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.


Hey @slobberchops, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love those pictures, it's a pretty dangerous place to explore but the more extreme something looks the more curious it is, I'm interested in what the “oyman” is, excellent article about your exploration!

Hard to imagine how such a well-built exterior housed such a tumbledown interior. And amidst all the ruin, that window, nearly intact! It's almost as if the local vandals had some respect for a change.

Thank you for sharing!

!PIZZA