Exploring two abandoned beach bars. My first urban exploration!!!

Hello, my friends. this is my first post in the urban exploration community despite being here for a few months watching and admiring other members' posts. When I discovered the community I was completely ignorant of the urban exploration term and was impressed by the posts of some of the members. I thought that I can also explore and photograph old abandoned houses and through my photos to capture the hidden stories behind them.

With a brief search on the internet, I discovered that Athens, the city where I live, has about 4000 abandoned buildings but unfortunately most of them are sealed and no entry is allowed. During my photo walks, I started to observe these buildings but most of the times I couldn΄t get in because either it was closed and there was no entrance other than the main one that was locked or because it was very crowded outside and I could not get in without anyone seeing me.
20200613_161755.jpg

A few days ago I went for a swim on a beach in the Alimos of Athens and although the beach was a bit crowded, the area smelled of abandonment. Behind the beach, there were two abandoned beach bars that testified that a few years ago this beach gathered many more people who had a good time swimming and having fun under the sounds of music, drinking cool cocktails, and enjoying the carefree summer.
20200613_165120.jpg

20200613_163306.jpg

I thought this was my chance for my first urban exploration and I wasted no time. I took my camera and started exploring. The first bar was built of stone and in some places, it was painted with a blue-green color which is my favorite color. There were two outdoor bars, a kitchen with the shutters down, many small changing rooms, toilets and some other small rooms that I discovered while discovering that homeless drug addicts live inside because there were mattresses on the floor.

20200613_161708.jpg

20200613_162231.jpg

20200613_162047.jpg

20200613_162031.jpg

20200613_165048.jpg

20200613_161848.jpg

20200613_162013.jpg

The atmosphere was somewhat depressing and smelled of urine everywhere. There were also some clothes on an airer so I made sure that someone was living there. I was in a dilemma if I should try to explore the indoor of the beach bar and when I tried it, a huge guy opened the door and asked me what I was looking for there. I explained to him that I like to take photographs of abandoned buildings but he didn΄t let me in, saying that this building is not abandoned and he lives in with his family. So I decided to try my luck at the next bar which was also abandoned and the passage of time has left its mark even more strongly.
20200613_163220.jpg

Outside there was a large bar with plenty of empty plastic bottles inside, the DJ space and a few discarded tables and chairs left over from the time the beach bar was running normally.

20200613_162300.jpg

20200613_162405.jpg

20200613_163149.jpg

This time I was luckier and found a way to get inside the bar through a small crevice you see in the photo below.

20200613_162318.jpg

Entering through the small hole I discovered, I noticed that in this place, although abandoned, the human presence was intense but fortunately its inhabitants were missing at that time. The interior was operating like a nightclub and inside there were many discarded items and furnitures.

20200613_162524.jpg

20200613_162532.jpg

20200613_162848.jpg

20200613_162851.jpg

I think drug addicts live in this area because there were boxes of drugs everywhere.
20200613_163046.jpg

20200613_162728.jpg
There were also a lot of old cell phone chargers there which surprised me but later I thought they might contain copper as well as other cables.
20200613_162904.jpg

a large candle hung from the ceiling for the current residents of the club to see at night
20200613_162720.jpg

I also found a rifle stock there.
20200613_162623.jpg

at the back of the club there was another outdoor area where customers had fun while the club was still open. And there were a lot of discarded things and it smelled very bad
20200613_162557.jpg

So that was for today, as I told you this was my first exploration and my feelings were mixed. I do not hide from you that sometimes I felt scared, such as when this huge guy came out to ask me what I was doing there or when I was in the second bar, I was afraid that at any moment someone could come in. Except from fear I also felt the excitement of exploring and that made me keep going. Thanks for stopping by I hope I will find again an abandoned building and capture even more beatiful pictures. I will finish my post today with a photo of an abandoned old car which was near the second club I explored. See you at my upcoming posts.

20200613_165751.jpg

Sort:  

Oh.....
sorry when buildings become abandoned :-(
But I am surprised by the people who settled in them:
can't they really put things in order there for themselves? :-(

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

thank you @oldmans :)

You are welcome! Excellent post and a fine tour of the abandoned.👍 You are a braver man than I though going into those places. 😀

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Hurricane Rider 🌪 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thank you!!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good day. Very informative, the article is written with a truthful and relevant meaning. You are a single-minded person who, despite the danger, decided to explore these abandoned buildings. I, like you, feel sorry when such premises spoil the environment. Photo of excellent quality. I really liked your post. Many thanks. Take care of yourself. I wish you success.

Thanks for your comment and yout conpliments @saxx1304 :) I always try to give my best on my posts, thats why I do not post daily. I want to be sure that my pictures are qualitative and I have a story to write. Wish you success too!

I should learn from you to make good publications. Thanks you

I΄ve just checked your blog and I can say that your photos are really good. What you can do to improve your post and have more attention on them is to write some thoughts about your photos.
Also you can pin your posts on pinmapple which gives you more visibility. Furthermore, they daily choose the best posts and you have the chance to be upvoted from blocktrades and theycallmedan.

It's great. Thanks you

nice snaps.

Thank you :) Glad you like them!

Good story and decent explore, try and take someone along, its less scary.

I explained to him that I like to take photographs of abandoned buildings but he didn΄t let me in, saying that this building is not abandoned and he lives in with his family.

He's probably made it his home, but better keep away, especially if he's a big dude!

Hello I am glad you liked my post because I learn about urban exploration from your posts. In fact I have captured these photos 2 months ago and didn't post them because I had as an example your work and I thought that they are insufficient to publish.
I will definitely take a friend with me next time because there are many homeless people here in Athens and now with the refugee problem more people are using abandoned houses as homes so it is a little dangerous.
Thanks for the support. :)

and didn't post them because I had as an example your work and I thought that they are insufficient to publish.

Don't worry about comparing yours to mine, all UX posts are welcome.. just post them!

Se ve que era un buen lugar, es una lástima que lo hayan abandonado. Buen post.

I just had one question ... Why are there so many abandoned buildings?