You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Hive Watcher's doing a good job?

in Hive Polls4 months ago (edited)

Most people didn't amass fortunes running bidbots. I dunno much about backdoor deals, but you and wolfie joined the oligarchy when the bidbots folded, so something was arranged off chain.

That being said, I have expressed my opinion to you without restraint, and you have not flagged me for it, which I respect. I donate 1/4 of my author rewards to support authors that are being permanently opinion flagged, and if you promoted free speech with your phat bags a lot fewer of the content creators that eventually give up fighting that financial censorship would give up.

I zealously promote free speech - and particularly OBJECTIONABLE speech - and hope you will too. Hive has not succeeded in competition with blatantly censored web2 platforms because it does not protect free speech, which you and other oligarchs could do. I can only conjecture that were Hive to become a profitable investment legacy financial players would buy up tokens and take power in the plutocratic governance model Hive employs, and you and your mates don't want to lose your pond you're the big fish in today.

Perhaps you could set me straight if I'm wrong.

However, whether you even deign to notice I exist or not, you could defend creators that are opinion flagged, like @por500bolos, who adamantly refuses to be flagged off the platform. Hive NEEDS forthright speech and CRITICISM to succeed.

Please defend and promote Hive by defending objectionable/critical free speech and countering opinion flags.

Thank you.

Sort:  

I am part of no oligarchy or anything I’m as much of a loner here as you can get.

As for flagging for opinion, that’s not my style. What others do is out of my hands.

Well, appearances certainly can be deceiving, and I pointed out all I can do is conjecture from what I see. I agree that what others do isn't in our hands, but as a coder you certainly can consider mechanisms to promote free speech and deprecate profiteering.

I don't think that's really your 'style' either, but thought it was worth an ask.

Hive has more free speech than anywhere, there is no guarantee you will be rewarded though but your content won't be removed.

Hive has more free speech than anywhere

Hive is more censored than Fakebook or Twatter. Canada censored honking trucks by seizing the bank accounts of people donating to the truckers. Financial suppression of speech is censorship. The fact the content isn't removed doesn't mean it hasn't been censored. The fact the truckers weren't executed by cops on the side of the road for honking doesn't mean they weren't censored.

Opinion flagging is censorship by every authoritative definition of censorship. It's short of double tapping to the back of the head, but the utter elimination of information isn't the definition of censorship. Suppression of speech is the definition of censorship, and that's why flags work to eliminate spam, scams, and plagiarism, because it suppresses that kind of intolerable speech. There are worse forms of censorship, as I've mentioned above, but that doesn't mean that financial suppression of speech should be tolerated on Hive.

Hive's one value is it's potential to secure free speech, and the constant financial suppression of forthright speech deprecates Hive, and prevents it from being more useful than Fakebook and Twatter, which is why society keeps using them and isn't using Hive.

Frankly, despite I know damn well I am right, I don't think it matters much anymore. Hive has squandered it's potential to create a platform that secured free speech and replaced Big Social Media by allowing opinion flagging to drive away it's users, and let scammers dominate the rewards pool, as you are well aware. Shortly Hive is going to discover what Monero has recently learned, and more, because KYC is going to be required to use the internet, and that will be the end of Hive, at least for me.

After that, all you'll have is your dollars you extracted from Hive, and the USG is going to lose it's reserve currency status, which will make dollars worthless as Turkish Lira. Hope you've invested in Renminbi, or gold, which may still have value for a while after dollars collapse. If folks had properly valued free speech perhaps Hive wouldn't be facing it's destruction, because we'd have a community of many millions that would be a political force to reckon with and an existentially valuable resource - free speech - that they'd defend by defending Hive from destruction by KYC that is surely coming, now that we have squandered our community for a few dollars that will soon be just as worthless as Weimar Deutschmarks.

I’m not going to go back and forth on this for the next week. With Canada their money was stolen, on Hive this can never happen as no one can take anything from your wallet. Post rewards are not yours until the community has decided what it is worth at the end of 7 days.

I’ll agree the voting is not always fair and that’s the same with everything in life. Sometimes it just sucks and there certainly are favorites.

There is no way Hive is more censored than Facebook, I call bullshit.

I haven’t really extracted dollars from Hive. I’ve pretty much only held it over the almost seven years of being here and it is not my biggest bag by a long shot. I am primarily a BTC holder. Any fiat I have is mostly in stocks. I am positioned in such way inflation has little impact on me. In fact my Hive is the most sensitive to inflation due to its stagnant performance.

That being said, I am not an advocate of opinion flagging and downvotes are way over exaggerated as they are extremely rare.

Loading...

Define 'removed'. I'm aware of posts and comments that have become unavailable on Hive, at least through any mechanism I am able to deploy. My posts aren't so objectionable as to merit such removal/disappearance, though. Flagging isn't just 'not rewarding' content. Flags are taxes, which is theft. No one guarantees Toyota will sell any trucks. But Toyota sells a lot of trucks in America, and make good money doing so, just like a popular creator getting a lot of upvotes. BYD, the Chinese electric automaker, however, isn't going to be able to sell it's cars in America, because the USG is going to downvote them and eliminate the upvotes purchasers of their vehicles would be giving them.

Censorship doesn't have to remove the content, when it can just remove the creator with flags. Flags aren't no vote, aren't not rewarding content. They're taxes that take away what others have given. And, of course, taxation is theft.

Rewards are not yours until they are in your wallet. The community decides the value of content during the seven days. This is how Hive works. It certainly isn’t always fair but it is hardly my fault.

I am not blaming you at all for other people's flags.

However, flags are taxes, as demonstrated by the Toyota analogy. If you like the product you buy it. If you don't like it, you don't buy it. Flags tax the purchases that have been made of the content creators have been upvoted on, just like taxes on Toyota sales.

Taxation is theft. I'm agin' it. It is necessary to flag spam, scams, and plagiarism, because those things are existential threats to Hive, so in those cases they are necessary and justified by the fact that they are countering criminal predation on society.

It's not theft if you're stealing your shit back.

With Canada their money was stolen, on Hive this can never happen as no one can take anything from your wallet. Post rewards are not yours until the community has decided what it is worth at the end of 7 days.

Rewards are not yours until they are in your wallet. The community decides the value of content during the seven days.

¿The community decides? ¿What community?

Then, how would you call what a single MoFo in Hive can do against "the community" through a simple whimsical downvote?

Wouldn't you call it a blatant theft from both the authors and their content curators of the potential money they could have made if this MoFo had not acted in the same way that the government of Canada did with its citizens sympathetic to the truckers' cause?

The rewards money and payouts may well not be yours until after seven days. But if suddenly a big SoB comes on the sixth day or before to prevent it reach your wallet and take them away from you, isn't this a damn robbery?

Paychecks aren't ours until they're taxed either, eh? I once claimed 9 Eskimo wives on my W-4 (the form you fill out when starting a job so the employer knows what to withhold from your pay for taxes) so that the USG took nothing from my paychecks. Really pissed off my employer, too. I knew I wouldn't have a tax liability at the end of the year, so didn't want the USG to hold my money for me until then.

I needed my money. It was my money and I wanted it then. However, all this dodges the point, that taxation takes our money before we get it, just like flags on Hive. More importantly, taxation is theft. Flags are theft. They're the same.

I am part of no oligarchy or anything I’m as much of a loner here as you can get.

Ah, C'mon Marky! Don't be so modest. You know very well what @valued-customer means when he correctly says that you are a member of the oligarchy in Hive. After all, you occupy the eighth position in that plutocratic hierarchy for quite some time.

Please defend and promote Hive by defending and countering opinion flags.

Oh! and another thing mate. Also stop being so elusive by avoiding responding directly to what @valued-customer has suggested you should do. };)

but as a coder you certainly can consider mechanisms to promote free speech and deprecate profiteering.

You see? He's telling you that with your high HP, your obvious privileges/support and your coding skills, you could really make a difference if you wanted even if you're the opulent loner you pretend to be. Easy-peasy bro! ;o)

Ah, C'mon Marky! Don't be so modest. You know very well what @valued-customer means when he correctly says that you are a member of the oligarchy in Hive. After all, you occupy the eighth position in that plutocratic hierarchy for quite some time.

I know full well what he means, and it's completely false. Just because I have money doesn't mean I am part of anything. I have very much been a lone wolf here, I have tried to unfund a lot of the DHF proposals I feel are not in the best interest of Hive unsuccessfully. I have my own brain and I make my own decisions. You would be shocked if you realized how far I am from the circle of anything here. I occupy the eighth witness spot because I actually know what I am doing and I am always around when the shit hits the fan or we need to update, that can't be said for many of the witnesses.

You see? He's telling you that with your high HP, your obvious privileges/support and your coding skills, you could really make a difference if you wanted even if you're the opulent loner you pretend to be. Easy-peasy bro! ;o)

What does my HP have anything to do with free speech? I am the most downvoted person here, you don't see me crying about free speech. Free speech does not mean free rewards.

What does my HP have anything to do with free speech?

How you got it, for one thing. But I'll say no more about that because I haven't seen you profiteer since the bidbots mostly ended, so I'm trying to move on, and as @por500bolos says, am suggesting you use your HP to defend free speech that is being suppressed with flags. You aren't flagged anything like @por500bolos is, because the flags flown on his content are a substantial percentage of his stake. Anyway, you're well able to withstand flags and keep the tokens rolling in, unlike him and others here.

Just imagine if those flags were reducing your income to pennies, or even nothing at all, like they do to many people being censored on Hive. You'd be gone in a flash. That's censorship in action on Hive. Hive being your golden egg-laying goose (if, as you've stated, you're not part of the censorship ring paying minions to suppress speech here) you'd be wise to defend free speech, because that is all that keeps Hive tokens worth anything at all, and is the only thing that could make the price of your tokens rise, by attracting users and investment.

I don't blame you for being financially prudent, but I don't think you're being prudent allowing people to be flagged off the platform, because the community being here is the only thing that gives your tokens value at all. If you've been paying attention, censorship is increasing, and will continue to until Hive becomes intolerable to censors. That will be the end of your pipeline to money on Hive, unless you build a community strong enough to defend it.

Finally, I don't know you personally, and certainly have mistaken some things about you. I have been surprised not to be flagged by you, which is why I've bothered to mention these things to you at all. It's probably too late to reverse the trend sinking Hive into oblivion, but I won't give up on it until I have to. All that will take is KYC to go online, however, and I am confident that is coming regardless of who wins the coming election. Musk will be all for it, and so will Zuckerborg. They'll benefit from it, but it will destroy Hive.

Dollars aren't going to survive it anymore than Hive tokens will. A vibrant community of Hive creators could be enough to keep that KYC from destroying Hive, the internet, and the USA, by politically opposing that KYC.

Of course, that would take a lot of work, and it's easier just to sell the tokens before that rolls out and invest in something that will retain value during war and famine. We'll see, won't we?

You aren't flagged anything like @por500bolos is, because the flags flown on his content are a substantial percentage of his stake

I beg to differ. I’ve been hit with $400 flags and all my posts and my curation was flagged for over a year. I couldn’t even vote how I chose without those users getting downvoted to zero as a result.

I don't blame you for being financially prudent, but I don't think you're being prudent allowing people to be flagged off the platform

I am not the police of this platform, that falls to Hive Watchers as they are the ones being paid for it. If you haven’t noticed I stopped selectively voting well over a year ago and only vote burn posts now. For a better part of a year I was forced to limit my votes to the stabilizer posts. There are 1.6 million other accounts you can also hold accountable for this none of which I assume are performing to your expectations. It’s been clear to me for a while I have little to no say regardless of how much HP I have.

I know full well what he means, and it's completely false.

Well, it wasn't entirely false. Did you achieve to read with total attention when he said:
"Most people didn't amass fortunes running bidbots. I dunno much about backdoor deals, but you and wolfie joined the oligarchy when the bidbots folded, so something was arranged off chain."

Just because I have money doesn't mean I am part of anything. I have very much been a lone wolf here, I have tried to unfund a lot of the DHF proposals I feel are not in the best interest of Hive unsuccessfully.

Yeah, I agree with that and I've been able to see and confirm it. However, I have also seen how you have not sought support for that lone crusade with the right people and the right communities that could help. Most likely so as not to lose the privileges and support that the current plutocracy gives you and has given you to this day.

I have my own brain and I make my own decisions. You would be shocked if you realized how far I am from the circle of anything here.

No one is denying that you have your own brain and you make your own decisions. And it's exactly why @valued-customer bothered to suggest you that you might be able to help to combat and alleviate this other kind of obvious abuse that HW is doing if you only wanted to use your HP properly.

I occupy the eighth witness spot because I actually know what I am doing and I am always around when the shit hits the fan or we need to update, that can't be said for many of the witnesses.

What is nothing more than mingle exclusively among the current plutocracy and keep having the support & votes of that rancid oligarchy with the greatest HP and voting power to put you and mantain you in that privileged eighth witness spot, right?

What does my HP have anything to do with free speech?

@valued-customer already explained it clearly to you at the beginning of this thread. Read it again if you didn't understand the relationship between your HP, your influence and voting power and what you could achieve in favor of free speech.

I am the most downvoted person here, you don't see me crying about free speech. Free speech does not mean free rewards.

Ah, C'mon bro. You have been heavily downvoted only by @transisto and @newsflash because of your personal vendetta with him. And the rest, the few other downvotes anyone have given you, have been when you have behaved like a real asshole, spreading everywhere your own downvotes and those of @buildawhale arbitrarily and without any criteria that was supported by anyone else. That's why no one has seen you ever crying over anything related to free speech.