Sort:  

Received. Thank you.

I didn't type "Hive" before it.

Putting screenshots here, editing in a minute.

Here’s the app on the iOS store you should get.

2E6A9E94-4F9E-4A48-B7AD-59871061042D.png

When you have the app you need to add accounts to it by clicking the 3 dots on the top right I think. I forget if it prompts you to do that when you have the app for the first time.

E1A75EA1-5257-4394-9D15-B0BD874EF216.png

Then go to “manage keys” and then add the missing ones. It’s pretty easy!

E8D8C50E-4EA7-41B8-838B-F06A0B124A90.png

Once you have the keys in there, you can go to the browser function by clicking the 3 dots again. Navigate to PeakD.com (I don’t know if Ecency supports things like memo key and account token claiming) and navigate to your wallet. If you want to send me an encrypted memo, send me .001 hive and in the memo text the first letter needs to be # and then a space. Everything after that is encrypted. Similarly, if someone sends you an encrypted memo it will show up with a lock symbol on it if you look at your wallet and the incoming transactions. Click the lock and keychain will prompt you to unlock it using the memo key. Accept and it’s open to you now!

Oh dang I was so close to thinking I had a clue. Encrypted messages?!?

Yeah the memo key is only readable between you and the person you send it to. That’s what’s so awesome about it! It’s still logged on the chain but it can’t be read by anybody else. I’m trying to figure out a way to get that incorporated into the chain more. I have some ideas but don’t know how to code them lol.

You send me a memo, only you and I can read it. Cool shit! I sent you my cell number before since I don’t want others having it. I’ll resend it again so you don’t have to go find it, once you get the thing working.

Ok I have the app. You entered all of your keys in there? It's embarrassing to admit how naive I am to this stuff but entering my keys like that scares me.

All I can do is access PeakD through the key thing? So it's like a PeakD app? What if I use Ecency only? Man I'm sorry if I'm making this more difficult than it is.

Sorry for not getting back to you sooner lol.

Keychain isn’t just an app that you can use things like PeakD on. You can use anything hive related and your keys are stored encrypted on your device. How I understand it is that you add your keys to the app and it’s stored just on your phone or laptops hard drive. When you go to broadcast something like a comment, send funds or power up it takes that information and creates the transaction on your phone with the key like posting, active or memo and signs it, encrypts it then broadcasts it on the internet to the blockchain for it to be processed. This is the most secure way to do it for most people because we keep our phones protected. If we use an online service like Hive Signer we do all of that stuff on an internet website so your keys are potentially vulnerable since it’s on someone else’s server/computer. It’s not that vulnerable given that the folks at hive signer want to keep a good reputation at being secure but it’s still possible.
Ecency is pretty good as well because you can do that stuff and they store your keys on your device as well however Ecency is limited in that all you can do is comment, vote, post or send funds to places.

With hive keychain you can log into different front ends like leo finance, PeakD or you can access the second layer tokens at hive engine and perform all of your active key transactions right from the app. You can buy some Leo tokens, sell your Splinterlands Dark Energy Crystals, delegate your token stake to someone and lots more. All with the safety knowing that your active key is stored locally on your device and if you keep your phone safe, your keys will be safe.

I think the best bonus, as I’ve mentioned before, is it’s the only app that lets you use the memo key as well. There are accounts like Appreciator that send all of their delegation rewards as memo key transactions. You get the liquid hive but if you don’t have your memo key set up you won’t be able to see what they sent to you. Not a huge deal but I think more people and groups will be using the memo key in the future.

The keychain app has the versatility to do anything you want across all of the hive apps and front ends which is why I think it’s a great addition. Even if you use it once a week or once a month it’s important to have your keys protected and available to you to do whatever without the hassle. For example I go there daily to stake my hive engine rewards with my active key. I also daily transfer my HBD to my savings account. If you are doing it via other services like hive signer it’s not as smooth to do that as on the keychain app. Once you do it three or four times it’s incredibly simple!

Sorry for the long comment, wanted to just try to explain it the best I can lol

Don't ever apologize for being so helpful. My best analogy goes: talk to me like a German Shepherd. Eerily intelligent creatures you just gotta.... talk.... real..... slow.....

Thanks for drawing me pictures, I feel totally comfortable now. Don't be surprised if I come back like 'ok now how do I see that one message you sent me that one year?'

No worries man! Thanks for the boost on the comment, appreciate but not needed. I want to help you feel comfortable with the app!

Let me know when you get it sorted out and I'll send a new one so you don't have to go searching back months lol it's easy enough and only costs .001 hive to do it.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @dandays.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yeah man no worries! I’ll explain it better but it’s safe storage because it’s strictly local, sort of like Ecency

If you wanted, just put your posting and memo key in there. Those are the absolute least vulnerable, people can't do anything besides vote and comment really.