You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Memorial Day to Mark the End of World War 2 in Japan 終戦記念日" [English and Japanese]

in Hive JP2 years ago

My grandfather was a medic in the war. He went to Europe. He was on the beaches in Normandy. I can't imagine the horrors he saw on that beach.

Like most people from that generation, he never talked about the war. He hated fireworks. Many vets hate fireworks because they are reminded of the sounds of war, so I guess that's not very surprising. He would bribe his kids on the 4th of July and say no fireworks but you can eat all the ice cream you want today.

My other grandfather was in the Italian air force. I don't know much about what he did. I know he didn't want to be in the war and he didn't like Mussolini but that's all I know.

Anyway, it's good to write these things down. With history, usually the 4th generation from an event is when things start to be forgotten and history starts to repeat. We need to try to share all our stories to keep these memories alive and do our best to prevent it from happening again.

Anyway, thank you for sharing your grandfather's story.

Sort:  

I feel sorry to hear about your two grandfathers who also experienced scary wars. Your grandfather witnessed horrible things as the medical person for sure. Yes, I also heard that many people don't want to hear fireworks, jets, or bang bang sounds at all. It’s good to share this kinds of stories even though it’s not always happy stories. We can keep on telling and sharing our ancestor's stories like this!