Hurricane Night Part 2 ハリケーンの夜 パート2 [English and Japanese]

in Hive JP8 months ago

IMG_3325.jpeg

Hurricane Night Part 2

After our power came back last night, Hurricane Lee directly hit my area. Fortunately, the storm didn't cause severe damage around my house.

Our butane gas stove worked fine yesterday morning. However, last night, just as I was preparing dinner before sunset due to our ongoing power outage, the gas stove didn't work.

My husband went to a hardware store to get a new gas stove, but four of the stores didn't have any in stock. So, he bought fast food for us because we couldn't cook anything.

Normally, we avoid eating fast food, as it's expensive here and we try to steer clear of junk food. However, last night was an emergency. After just one bite, we found it too oily and salty. We couldn't even finish everything because we quickly felt full. We also don't drink soda, and upon sipping the soda, we immediately noticed the excessive sugar content. Furthermore, the coleslaw was stale. I miss Japanese junk food a lot!

Nevertheless, this experience made us appreciate our daily fresh food. By chance, we decided to try our broken gas stove one more time, and strangely, it worked! Oh my… We boiled water and enjoyed a nice mint tea to wash away the oily food.

After our junk food dinner, we felt very heavy and had heartburn for a while. I lit many candles in our house and decided to do some slow yoga and stretching since there was nothing else to do without power. It turned into a deep, long yoga session for me. Suddenly, right before concluding our yoga session and foot massage, the power came back.

The wind was very strong, but we managed to sleep well. This morning, we went for a walk despite the windy conditions. We saw many fallen leaves, some fallen trees, damaged road conditions, and more. However, our area was lucky to have only a few damages. Other places are still without power, and there are damaged houses and injured people. I hope everyone is safe.

IMG_3321.jpeg
Candle Lights and Yoga Time

IMG_3329.jpeg
IMG_3330.jpeg
Our gas stove and emergency cooler boxes.

IMG_3319.jpeg
Dude is scared by the strong wind. There were many fallen leaves.

IMG_3327.jpeg
IMG_3328.jpeg

There was some damage on the road.

IMG_3320.jpeg
IMG_3322.jpeg
Trees and plants fell down in our neighbours.

Some trees fell down. The plants fell down in our neighbors' yards.

IMG_3323.jpeg
The strong wind moved the tree left and right. We had clear weather after the hurricane passed.

IMG_2655.png

Japanese 日本語
IMG_3325.jpeg

ハリケーンの夜 パート2

昨晩、停電が復旧してから、ハリケーン・リーが私の住む地域を直撃しました。不幸中の幸いで家の周辺では大きな被害はありませんでした。

非常用のカセットコンロが朝は問題なく使用できたのですが、停電中なので日没前に夜ご飯を作るためにカセットコンロに火をつけようとすると、なんと使えませんでした。

主人がガスコンロを買いにホームセンターに走ってくれましたが、4軒とも売り切れで買えませんでした。料理ができないので、仕方なくファストフードを買ってきてくれました。

わたし達はジャンクフードは普段あまり食べません。高いのと体にあまりよくないので控えています。でも昨夜は例外でした。ひとくち食べるとすぐに2人とも油っぽさとしょっぱさにびっくりしました。すぐにお腹がいっぱいになってしまって、完食できませんでした。普段ソーダは飲まないのですが、セットのソーダがものすごい甘くて飲めませんでした。おまけにコールスローは腐っていました。日本のジャンクフードが恋しいです!

今回の経験を通じて、普段の新鮮な食事に感謝するきっかけになりました。食後にもう一度なんとなくガスコンロに火をつけてみると、なんとついたのです! えー…。仕方がないので油っぽさを洗い流すべく、お湯をわかしてミントティーをいれることにしました。

ジャンクフードごはんの後、しばらく胸焼けがしてお腹か異常に重たかったです。キャンドルをたくさんつけて、停電中で他にすることがないのでヨガとストレッチをゆっくり時間をかけてしました。かなり深いストレッチができたので良い時間でした。すると突然、停電が復旧しました。

風がとても強かったのですが、眠ることができました。今朝、まだ風が強かったのですが、犬の散歩にでかけました。落ち葉がそこら中に落ちていて、倒れた木が何本かあり、道路のダメージなどがありました。この近所の被害は少なめで済むことができましたが、まだ停電中の家がたくさんありますし、かなりのダメージや怪我人も出たようです。みなさん無事でありますように。

IMG_3321.jpeg
キャンドルとヨガの時間

IMG_3330.jpeg
IMG_3329.jpeg
カセットコンロと災害用のクーラー。

IMG_3319.jpeg
ドュードが強風に驚いています。落ち葉だらけです。

IMG_3327.jpeg
IMG_3328.jpeg
道路にダメージがあります。

IMG_3322.jpeg
IMG_3320.jpeg
木が倒れて、近所の畑の植物が倒れています。

IMG_3323.jpeg
強風が木を左右にゆらしています。台風(ハリケーン)一過の後のいい天気です。

IMG_0833.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

Sort:  

❤️‍🩹

Thank you!

被害が少なかったようでよかったです。ファストフードに対する反応、すごくよくわかります。私もセットを完食できる自信ありません 😅 最後に行ったのはいつだろう・・・

ありがとうございます!いまだに停電で困っている方たちがいるので早く復旧すると良いなと思います。

@akipponnさんもファストフードに関してそう感じるのですね!チラシやコマーシャルではおいしそうに見えるのですが、カナダのファストフードはこだわって作っている感じではなく、油が古いのだと思います。新しい油でカリッとあげたポテトフライはおいしいと思うのですが…。肉もやっぱり臭く感じてしまいました。きっとたくさん薬を使ってるのかな〜と…。

やっぱりおいしい物を作って食べた方がいいなと改めて思いました。毎日作るのは面倒な時もありますが😅

Goodness, glad to hear that you are all okay. I hope those who's affected more with it recover soonest.

Thank you! Some houses still lost their power. I hope everyone gets their comfortable lives soon.

If people there most fast to prepare what's there to prepare, it'll surely happen soon. (人 •͈ᴗ•͈)