Introductory post about myself!

in Speak Peace2 years ago (edited)

Hello family, I am David Oluwapelumi Adenegan and I go by the name Dee Best. I am a professional chess player and a lawyer in embryo. I was the second child born into the family of Mr & Mrs Adenegan from Iyere, Owo Local Government, Ondo State, Nigeria.

IMG-20220322-WA0056.jpg

Even though I am from Owo, I have lived 95% of my life in Akure, the capital city of Ondo State and in fact I was even born there.
Let me tell you a brief story of my life, my legal profession career,

and how I developed so much keen interest in chess that I am developing a professional career in chess.

PRIMARY SCHOOL EDUCATION.
I attended Peace Land Nursery and Primary School for two years. As a young pupil, I could not really cope with academics. My school teacher complained that I was the dullest student she has encountered in her

teaching career (at least I am not the dullest in the whole planet...LMAO). Two years later, I proceeded to FUTA Staff Primary School where I completed my primary

school education. As a primary school pupil, I was my class goalkeeper and my defense system was way better than NASA defense

system...haha. I was having a smooth goal keeping career and won major competitions for my class until I had a minor fracture( not while goal keeping though) That kept me off the pitch for a while. At this time, I

knew nothing about chess though. All I wanted to be in life was a pilot.
SECONDARY SCHOOL LIFE
After passing the necessary examination, I proceeded to Aquinas College Akure(ACA) for my secondary school education. My school was definitely the best in the state and

one of the finest secondary schools in the country. Hence, it was just full of competition and struggles in virtually all aspects. I resumed my goal keeping career again and people marvelled at my prowess in this area

of sport. This went on until my year 3/6 in school when I was a victim of a road accident. I sustained serious fracture that their pain lingers on. The doctor broke my heart when he told me to stay away from any active involvement in sport activities. (sigh...) It was sad for me and my team mates. And that marked the end of my goal keeping career and perhaps the dream of being a pilot.
The rest of my secondary school education showcased a situation of inner struggle and quest for what brings me satisfaction after my goalkeeping career has been

terminated. Unfortunately my search failed. Nothing could satisfy me like hopping and jumping on the pitch to catch fireballs (LOL)
UNIVERSITY LIFE.
After failed attempts to get admission into, I finally secured admission to study Law in Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba Akoko in year 2017/18. That was my first time of having to move and live a life outside home. I muttered to myself as dad drove me to school: " Nice

one Dave. You finally secured your liberty!" (oh I can hear someone saying bad boy!!...LMAO). I fell in love with the course I am studying and I put so much energy into it and I am just developing myself on daily basis.
Everything was going smoothly and booommm, Covid-19 came in. We all were sent back home. Oh no! What a terrible world for a poor boy! My depression grew and I was just

surfing the internet. This went on until I stumbled on something on the internet. Wow...it was a chessbook! I had watched the computer beat my dad in chess daily, and I saw something that could teach me how to revenge my dad( that is if I don't get beaten too though..Lols) So I started and finished this ebook on

the 12th of April, 2020. I was so happy to learn something new. Out of my confidence I went to play against this level 1 computer and I was trashed about five times until I struggled to have a draw.
Few days after my career started, my

friend organized a tournament online to ease the boredom of Covid-19 compulsory break (perhaps the real aim was to embarrass me because I did not struggle to come last, it was more like a free given gift).

From there, I developed keen interest in chess, and I had series of training sessions with my uncle who was a champion in major tournaments in the country. Since then I kept developing my chess skills and I kept reading books and

so far I have read over 4000 pages of chess books and still counting.
In May 2021, the Faculty of Law organized a sports festival and I played a tough opponent at the final

but I triumphed and that served as
my greatest motivation till date. Below is a picture of myself coming up from a losing position and winning eventually.

187068074_521568688873641_3842553510640728844_n.jpg

More so, I will be attending the biggest competition (Southwest National Chess Tournament) in my career on the 12th of April, 2022 and that is exactly two years after the commencement of my career.

APPRECIATION
My appreciation goes to the music star @Obaro who introduced me to this hive blockchain and let me know I can use my chess instructive skills to develope a number of chess stars on this platform. And my

appreciation also goes to @starstrings01 who is a mentor to my boss and giving me a platform where I can benefit from my skills. Thanks for stopping by to read about me!

Sort:  

Hi David, welcome!

Hello godfish. Thanks

Hey David, good to have you join the family finally. Would like you to know that there is a power chess community on Hive, and you should check it out here. You would also need to meet the boss @samostically, a strong Nigerian Hive chess player as well, he has a lot of soap to give you.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Welcome to Hive man!

This post has been selected to be curated by hive learners community. Kindly click on the banner to visit our community and check out our discord channel here.

hl_congrats_baneer-1.png

Thanks boss. It's nice being here. I will check him out. I subscribed to the community already.

Welcome to the family@ David....I hope you find what you are here for

Thanks Zeetunes

Congratulations @d-best! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy 6th Birthday to the Hive Community
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome on board @d-best

Make sure you explore and enjoy hive.
Try to mingle with @samostically he is a big fish and a chess lord on hive.

You'll have a lot of reasons to be grateful for meeting him.
Stay good

Thanks for bringing me on board boss. We will definitely have a great time together.

Welcome on Hive!
I guess you discovered already our chess community :)

Welcome to the boards! We play in 20 minutes a rapid tournament. Check out my blog.

Oops,I missed that. I'm busy preparing for a National open competition.

Just so you know, I already voted your post but due to your behaviour spamming people's posts with replies to come and check out your post, I'll switch my vote into a downvote. This is not how things work here, nor how you will gain followers. So consider this a lesson and do try to get attention on your post justly, not like this.