WRITING: A THERAPEUTIC PROCESS!

in Speak Peace2 years ago

Once again, HiveNaija has given us an interesting topic and this has to be my favourite among others. Why? Who doesn't like to talk about their passion or how much they enjoy it?

It's past 3am and I am writing this as I feel a little better. Even if I may be a little sick, I'm still gonna blog daily. It is Therapy for me.

kaitlyn-baker-vZJdYl5JVXY-unsplash.jpg
Source

DERAA, WE'VE NOTICED YOU BLOG EVERYDAY. WHY?

I am going to say it again. It is therapy for me. Just a few people might understand what the keyboard or a notepad does for the human soul. A lot of people, most especially women own diaries. Why? It's a way of laying out their concerns and talking even when no one hears them. But here, on Hive, we get to be heard. It's like a digital diary.

BUT HOW DO YOU DO IT? WHERE DO YOU GET YOUR CREATIVITY FROM?

That may be a hard one. Creativity is something I believe may be in-borne. There are just somethings you can't explain because you yourself do not understand. But I'll say this, when I get more ideas is when I take time alone and take a deep breath.

I discovered there is a huge burst in ideas for me when I go on evening strolls or listening to music. Other times, they just come to me like ...kaboom!

OKAY. DO YOU HAVE A NOTEPAD THAT YOU JOT THESE IDEAS DOWN?

I got a notepad the other day but I haven't used it. I only write down the title of what comes to my head. I don't think a notepad makes a lot of difference, only if you're the forgetful type and that I am. So, I just write down the title and when I look at it later, I remember what I was going to write about.

pexels-photo-4240503.jpeg
Source

DERAA, ARE THERE PROCESSES YOU GO THROUGH BEFORE PUBLISHING YOUR ARTICLES HERE ON HIVE?

Oh yes. I don't publish immediately after drafting. A mistake most make. Ever since I took the advice of setting a time for my posts, I draft the day before. Let's say by 3pm, the post for the next day is saved on drafts. By night time, I am reading it again. By 6am the next morning I am up and going through it again. Why?

I get to see mistakes I didn't see before and also make changes where necessary. After drafting by 3pm, I take a break and might just nap. By 7 or 8pm, I will be going through it again because my brain would be very active. It points out amateur specs and prompts me to correct them. 6am, It's very early and my brain is in overdrive. I go through it again and make final corrections. Then finally by 7:45am to 8am, I just skim through before publishing.

This process works very well for me.

pexels-photo-8747027.jpeg
Source

HOW MUCH HAS THIS PROCESS HELPED YOU?

It has helped a lot like I said, giving me the opportunity to be better daily. If you compare my early days articles to now, you'd notice a massive change. Well, to me it is.

IS THERE SOMETHING YOU HOPE TO IMPROVE?

A lot of them. I want to keep improving in my writing and that's why I'm always with a dictionary. I also bought a book yesterday. I won't tell you what book it is yet😏 but I'll tell of the author. Brian Tracy.

Brian Tracy has to be one of my favorite authors and I'm sure some of you here know about him. I'll talk about this book soon.

So yes, I'm working towards improvement. And you'll all see it as time passes.

ANY FINAL WORDS?

pexels-photo-3769021.jpeg
Source

Yeah. Do not force it. When you get the block, do not force it because you'd end up making mediocre articles. You have 24hrs in a day (27 hours for the night birds), there is a lot you can do within this period. Go take a nap or take some ice cream. Just take a break from whatever gadget that reminds you of writing because as fun as it is, it could get stressful when you put too much work. Don't write like it's a burden. Write as though it is your only way out.

Sort:  

Congratulations @deraaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This was just so entertaining..i love the rub you included in this... Makes it look lively.. Nice..

I have learnt one or two things from this piece. Writing is something that comes naturally.. We can't just force it.. If you don't know, you don't know... I love how you explained your process of writing, going through it over and over again before publishing. I wish so many persons will learn from this also instead of publishing posts that are filled with errors...

Thanks for sharing this

Writing is something that comes naturally.. We can't just force it

Exactly. We can't force it but we can develop it. Thanks so much for your support ❤️

I will always be here to support you...

Do not force it.

This is very important. Before, I made sure I write something down even though it hurts. But now I figured it's better to just go with the flow. You know what I mean.

I do. Take your time so you can enjoy it

I love writers, their mode of thinking and receiving inspiration is something that should be studied. I love artists too I think I just love creative people from every dimension

I feel you ❤️ thank you for taking your time in reading.😊

I love the way you break down your writing, actually felt like an interview. Each heading reflects a thing or two about you..

Well I've learnt something already, I'll start to make use of that from now one, it'll save me a lot of stress and help me write more consistently.

Thanks for sharing

🙈🙈

I'm glad you found it insightful.

I have been waiting for your entry on this topic 😁.. It was worth the wait..

Awwww... You actually made me grin so wide...🙈. Your sweet words ehn...❤️. Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Just take a break from whatever gadget that reminds you of writing because as fun as it is, it could get stressful when you put too much work. Don't write like it's a burden. Write as though it is your only way out.

This is pined for me..
Well-done champ

Thank you Amigo. Muchas Gracias ❤️

Now she speaks what?
Spanish?..😄😄

Claro. Spanish Y Japanese. A little of German and Russian 😏

I see our similarities now, maybe you are my twin, who knows? But I enjoyed reading this a lot, felt like an interview.

Yes. I wanted it to feel that way. I'd love to have you as my twin. I guess we're universe twins considering we have the same zodiac sign 😏

In an alternate universe, probably.