The HNG Internship | What it’s All About and Why I Joined it

in Speak Peace3 years ago

Hello everyone.

Today, I would like to talk about an internship program that a friend of mine suggested to me a few days ago. The name of it is the HNG Internship and I would like to give a bit of info on what it is about, why I joined it and what are some things that I aim to accomplish from it.

1_N6Gfu_nw0v-oljFOlj4nYA.png

Image Source

About the HNG Internship

The HNG Internship is a 3-month industrial training program that aims to locate and develop talented programmers through intensive training processes that will help programmers to cope in real world situations. Along with this, it also promotes communication among the various developers since some tasks require a team effort.

It also trains programmers on how to integrate the skill they have learnt into business ideas such as how to find opportunities and how to turn their ideas into problem solvers.

Why I Joined This Program

So, why did I join this program? I joined this program because I felt that I wasn’t really learning how to code properly by just watching one tutorial or another and I could not find any proper way to challenge myself. So, I joined this so that I can hopefully get a bit of experience as a programmer.

My Goals in Joining the HNG Internship

I signed up for this training program since I am currently learning HTML, CSS and Python. Here is what I hope to achieve in joining this internship:

  • I hope to build up my skills and be able to improve in programming as well as to gather as much experience as I can.

  • I aim to use this as a chance to build my self-confidence since that is one area that I’m really lacking in.

  • To be frank, I also want to use this as a way to be able to earn a living.

What I Plan to Achieve by the End of Eight Weeks

Here are some things that I wish to achieve on the next 8 weeks of this internship:

  • I wish to be able to create a properly working program or website either for personal use or for commercial purposes.

  • I hope to be able to help someone to solve a problem through a program or website that I am able to come up with.

  • I also hope to be able to earn a living through programming (But this will probably take more than 8 weeks though 😅).

  • And I also want to use this chance to be able to get connected with fellow programmers too.

From what I’ve seen from this, I really recommend this to a programmer who is looking to improve their skills. But before I leave a link to sign up for it, I recommend to check out these tutorials because you will make use of these in the long run. They also helped me out a bit too.

GitHub Tutorial

Video by LearnCode.accademy

Figma Tutorial

Video by CodeWithChris

HTML Tutorial

Video by Programming with Mosh

I have been able to sign up for this program under the Frontend track since I am more focused on HTML and CSS this time instead of taking the Backend track like last year since I was more “focused” on Python at that time. I also highly recommend other aspiring developers to join this training too via this link: https://internship.zuri.team

Joining this internship is going to be my biggest (also toughest) challenge that I will be taking on and I hope to do well this time instead of slacking off like the time I took this training last year and then struggling to do my work on the deadline date 😅.

I really hope this post was able to inspire programmers such as myself. Thank you very much for reading.