Hive Open Mic #109 - Snowbird (Anne Murray)

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago

Hello, dear Hivers!
For this week's theme I couldn't really think of a kite song as such, but I picked a song which is about flying far away and which I love very much: "Snowbird".

It has a sad and melancholy quality, but also contains pictures of new life and spring.
Written by the Canadian Gene MacLellan it depicts the heartache of an unfulfilled love. I believe he suffered from depression for most of his life, which would explain the aura of the song as well.

Anne Murray's version from 1970 is generally considered the best known one, and certainly the one I remember from when I was a child, but the song has been covered by many others, including Elvis Presley, Lynn Anderson or Andy Williams.

And here comes my version now.. 😄
Hope, you like it and thanks for listening!

Lyrics

Beneath this snowy mantle cold and clean
The unborn grass lies waiting for it's coat to turn to green
The snowbird sings the song he always sings
And speaks to me of flowers that will bloom again in spring.

When I was young, my heart was young then, too
Anything that it would tell me, thats' the thing that I would do
But now I feel such emptiness within
For the thing that I want most in life's the thing that I can't win.

Spread your tiny wings and fly away
And take the snow back with you where it came from on that day
The one I love forever is untrue
And if I could, you know that I would fly away with you.

The breeze along the river seems to say
That he'll only break my heart again should I decide to stay
So little snowbird take me with you when you go
To that land of gentle breezes where the peaceful waters flow.

Spread your tiny wings...

Sort:  

Hi @anna-newkey,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Wow I love this rendition! I like the blending-like vocal you made here, and what I love more on this cover is the beautiful Gretsch guitar.

Aww, thank you so much!
Lovely to see you here!
Isn't it a beauty?
Thank you!

Wow 😃 increíble cantas y tocas muy bien, muchas gracias por compartir 🥰 Bendiciones

Oh, thank you so much!
I'm so glad you like it!
That's lovely!

Si me gustó mucho como tocas, también estoy aprendiendo la guitarra, espero algún día poder tocar así 😃

That's wonderful!
I'll be looking forward to see you play! 😍🎸

Lovely @anna-newkey ! Well performed. Nice to see the Gretsch getting an outing, too.

😂 yup, more and more, my Taylor is starting to feel neglected..
Thank you, Danielle!

Congratulations @anna-newkey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This song feels special, we think you made this beautiful composition your own because of the excellent way you carried it from beginning to end. What we feel when we listen to this song is strange, there is something of sadness or nostalgia but in certain parts we also feel some joy, maybe it is because of the rhythmic, we would say that for us it was an enigma.

Thanks for being here one more week dear Anna, best regards!

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-28 at 9.15.34 AM.jpeg

Thank you for your lovely comment!
Nostalgic, that's not a word I had thought off, but it fits very well.
Thank you so much!

This is a wonderful cover too. I enjoyed listening to it despite the sadness in the lyrics. 🙂

!1UP

Oh, thank you so very much!
That's wonderful!

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@vibes-curator, @beatcz-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

beautiful song!.

Thank you so much!
I'm very glad you think so too! 😃

Wow.. you sing that song beautifully, you casually sit on that swing, and play a crystal clear guitar, i love your performance @anna-newkey good luck to you

Thank you so much!
I had to stop myself from swinging around too much.. haha
Thank you for giving it a listen, that's lovely!

Lovely as always 😍

Oh, thank you so much, my friend!