🎵 Hive Open Mic | Community Updates

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


Hive Open Mic

Community Updates

Hive-Open-Mic-55g.png

Last week's Hive Open Mic theme was: "Statement," chosen by our community's recent "Spotlight Artist": @ricardomello. For this occasion, I felt inspired to give a personal statement. This one is a straight-from-the-heart status report about where we're at as a community, in my perspective.

By the numbers, each week we receive ~80 fresh songs, featuring ~100 Hive musicians and ~10000 listeners worldwide. These numbers don't mean much, but they say something. People enjoy live music! This enjoyment is made even greater by the rarity of concerts and other live music events.

To me, the entire Hive platform is a playground for expression and connection. For those who wish to express, this is a place for free speech, diversity, tolerance, and radical thought. For those who wish to connect, this is a place for learning, discussing, and developing meaningful relationships.

For these reasons and more, Hive is an ideal place for artists to experiment and explore new territory so they can develop their talents through practice. This is where our Hive Open Mic community really shines, in my mind. Here, musicians appreciate a chance to share their music with an audience that listens globally.

Lately, Hive Open Mic is growing like wildflowers. It's a beautiful thing to witness, as musicians are blossoming through their expressions and listeners are connecting through a shared appreciation of the arts. I find myself at a standstill, not knowing how to handle the growth, and not knowing who to ask for help... just trusting the process as it flows.

Thankfully, I am supported by my fellow moderators @mipiano and @juliopalomo. We are also boosted by the @ocd team, and specifically @acidyo, who rally behind our curation efforts with their valuable upvotes, rewarding the musicians. Further, we are boosted by the individual artists and listeners, many of whom participate regularly in this event, contributing as brothers and sisters to this global community.

Thank you, everybody.


My Personal Statement

Last week was the first week since the beginning when I did not make time to share a song. I forgive myself for placing my attention elsewhere, overwhelming my schedule, missing the chance to connect with this community. I apologize to any artists who might've felt unseen, unheard, or unappreciated in my absence. I honor you, I know how you feel, and I'm proud of you for showing up for yourself - that's big!

Hive-Open-Mic-55c.png


Hive-Open-Mic-56d.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 56 is underway now.

This week's invitation is: “Quiet Desert.”


💛

Enjoy Live Music? Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🌟

Sort:  

Quality that pint of beard and hat, Mr. Cabe.
Good song, my friend.

Thanks for noticing. I am a bit like a cowboy sometimes.

What a good guitar harmony for this poetic prose, it is good to find you here my brother, greetings and successes always

Thank you, this is one of my favorite riffs. I appreciate you for noticing.

thank you for your awesome statement and a great sound

Rock on, my pleasure. And thank you for your encouraging words.

Really nice speaking throught those arpegios, feels good to be listened and share common interest with people around the world, thanks for sharing @cabelindsay

Happy to hear you're feeling good, feeling listened to. I feel your artistry is a real gift to us listeners, just as your friendship is a gift. Thank you for being a good friend to me, and to this community.

This is a very emotional video, I liked it a lot! Great to have you on front of this super initiative!

All the best wishes for you!

Thank you so much. I am so honored to be here, feeling blessed by all of this music, and the community, and the brotherhood. Best wishes to you too, brother!

La cultura pop nos lleva a crear estereotipos sobre las personas que no conocemos, por ejemplo, uno como persona que no conoce a alguien de Texas podría pensar que son personas de pensamientos poco flexibles, que tienen armas en sus casas y son racistas. Pero viéndote, @cabelindsay, es fácil notar que los estereotipos son el nido de las percepciones más erradas que alguien puede tener sobre otra persona. Un abrazo y buena vibra!

English: Aw, thanks brother for speaking up about the subject of stereotypes. Yeah, I've seen the stereotypical Texan in some border towns, with their enormous stars on the mountains overlooking Mexico. As for me, I see that the Mexicans are stars, equally bright and beautiful. I'm a brother to the Mexicans, and to all nations, and I say Viva Mexico! Viva Central America!! Viva all the Americas united as one nation!!!

Spanish: Oh, gracias hermano por hablar sobre el tema de los estereotipos. Sí, he visto al estereotipado tejano en algunos pueblos fronterizos, con sus enormes estrellas en las montañas que dominan México. En cuanto a mí, veo que los mexicanos son estrellas, igualmente brillantes y hermosos. Soy hermano de los mexicanos y de todas las naciones, y digo ¡Viva México! ¡¡Viva Centroamérica !! ¡¡¡Viva todas las Américas unidas como una sola nación!!!