Sort:  

Thank you so much! I've just read your most recent post with tips on being a professional musician. Wow, it sounds like a very scary, risky undertaking, as well as a lot of work and stress! Luckily I enjoy my main career and find it meaningful (Engineering/Renewable Energy Development) and will want to keep doing it, even if my musical abilities do improve. I am starting to get the odd bit of money out of playing music when I find the time, which is a lovely bonus to a hobby I enjoy... but I am a naturally shy introverted person, and probably need more time to mentally prepare, and then recover from, each gig than a seasoned pro!

There is definitely a part of me that wants to support and appreciate the people who go all-in on music!

hahaha it is funny to me because I am now doing a masters in Sustainable Development, very related to your field. I plan on keeping music as my main income, but music is crazy, and sometimes I wouldn't mind having a second skill.

Oh wonderful - I actually did a Masters with a focus on Carbon footprint, life cycle assessment and other things to do with Sustainable Development as well as Renewable Energy so hopefully we can chat more about your focus or if you've chosen a thesis topic yet?

Originally my focus was unofficially Renewable Energy, but I'm broadening out a bit, I especially find mining for Renewable Energy very intriguing, with the obvious environmental contradictions. I was kind of inspired to study Sustainable Development after travelling around the world performing music, and seeing that the same problems were in every place that I went.