HIVE OPEN MIC #93: SHAPE OF YOU || ED SHEERAN Covered by DrAySax

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I particularly got interested in the flow and island style of Ed Sheeran's Shape of You the first time I heard it.
Took me some time before actually looking at the lyrics, if you know what I mean😄
The song describes love between 2 parties that moves very quickly from the bar to the bedroom.
He describes her features and extends his expression of love even beyond "the secrets" he discovers each moment spending time with her.
It rolls down describing his experiences and what he feels about her.

A lot of music exist out there with different renditions of the song, but I'd never jumped on this music before. So I thought now would be a great opportunity to do so with some freestyle and improvisation.

I didn't exactly think of how I should play it. I just decided to see how it would turn out if I splashed notes over the song, using the vibe of the song as my compass.

Kudos to @ksam and @bertimismaximus for continually dropping saxophone content and spurring me to share more music.

Thanks also to @jaydr, my hive mentor and fellow physician and musicIan.

Enjoy the music!

Lyrics:

The club isn't the best place to find a lover
So the bar is where I go
Me and my friends at the table doing shots
Drinking fast and then we talk slow
And you come over and start up a conversation with just me
And trust me I'll give it a chance now
Take my hand, stop, put Van the Man on the jukebox
And then we start to dance, and now I'm singing like
Girl, you know I want your love
Your love was handmade for somebody like me
Come on now, follow my lead
I may be crazy, don't mind me
Say, boy, let's not talk too much
Grab on my waist and put that body on me
Come on now, follow my lead
Come, come on now, follow my lead
I'm in love with the shape of you
We push and pull like a magnet do
Although my heart is falling too
I'm in love with your body
And last night you were in my room
And now my bedsheets smell like you
Every day discovering something brand new
I'm in love with your body
Oh-I-oh-I-oh-I-oh-I
I'm in love with your body
Oh-I-oh-I-oh-I-oh-I
I'm in love with your body
Oh-I-oh-I-oh-I-oh-I
I'm in love with your body
Every day discovering something brand new
I'm in love with the shape of you
One week in we let the story begin
We're going out on our first date
You and me are thrifty, so go all you can eat
Fill up your bag and I fill up a plate
We talk for hours and hours about the sweet and the sour
And how your family is doing okay
Leave and get in a taxi, then kiss in the backseat
Tell the driver make the radio play, and I'm singing like
Girl, you know I want your love
Your love was handmade for somebody like me
Come on now, follow my lead
I may be crazy, don't mind me
Say, boy, let's not talk too much
Grab on my waist and put that body on me
Come on now, follow my lead
Come, come on now, follow my lead
I'm in love with the shape of you
We push and pull like a magnet do
Although my heart is falling too
I'm in love with your body
And last night you were in my room
And now my bedsheets smell like you
Every day discovering something brand new
I'm in love with your body
Oh-I-oh-I-oh-I-oh-I
I'm in love with your body
Oh-I-oh-I-oh-I-oh-I
I'm in love with your body
Oh-I-oh-I-oh-I-oh-I
I'm in love with your body
Every day discovering something brand new
I'm in love with the shape of you
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
I'm in love with the shape of you
We push and pull like a magnet do
Although my heart is falling too
I'm in love with your body
Last night you were in my room
And now my bedsheets smell like you
Every day discovering something brand new
I'm in love with your body
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
I'm in love with your body
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
I'm in love with your body
Come on, be my baby, come on
Come on, be my baby, come on
I'm in love with your body
Every day discovering something brand new
I'm in love with the shape of you

Source: Lyric Find

Saxophone: Proel Eflat Alto Saxophone
Reed: Rico 2.5 (Modified)
Mouthpiece: Generic Jazz Metallic mouthpiece
Microphone: Behringer C3
Edited and Mixed on: Audacity
Backtrack Source: SingKaraoke


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Awesome as usual
untitled.gif

Thanks a lot baba!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What an impressive performance, brother, keep it up, you are on the right track!

Thanks a lot for the comment sir!

Hey! Well done. Congratulations for this performance.👏👏👏

Thank you so much!

Bro you played excellent with the notes, you did some great chromatisms that gave an extra touch to the song, you did very well, you are more and more EPIC every time, greetings and have a great weekend man 🙌😀🔥🎷🎶❤️🌟🍻💥💫💯

Thank you so much! Yeah... the chromatisms are the key to the soul of improvisation.
There is so much to explore with chromatic notes and atonality.

I'm just gonna describe your piece as "sweet"....... Jazz is really cool from what I see, keep giving us these covers

Thanks a lot sir!
Jazz is limitless. There's a lot to create from in jazz, and its influences touches all other forms of music.
Surely expect more music🎷

This is wonderful my friend, congratulations. Tremendous sound...

Openmic in English.jfif

Thank you very much @jesuslnrs

Congratulations @draysax! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 20

This is really awesome

Thank you so much @soniabasil

Incredible, fascinating, exciting, beautiful, wonderful, sweet and moving.
As always, I am delighted with your saxophone performances that penetrate the heart and touch the soul.
Thank you for the excellent music! 😃🎶🎵🙌🙏👏👏👍😎🎶🎆🎇♦️💯💯

It's so good to know you enjoy the music. I'm encouraged to share more!
Thank you so much!

A completely great version full of personality, you made a melody full of freedom. I really liked your improvisations and those scales that wander through brilliant high notes and deep low notes.

Minute 3:35 standing ovations!

Una versión completamente genial y llena de mucha personalidad, hiciste una melodía llena de mucha libertad. Me gustaron mucho tus improvisaciones y esas escalas que se pasean por brillantes notas agudas y profundas notas graves.¡Minuto 3:35 aplausos de pie!

I'm brimming with smiles over here😁😁
This is refreshing for me.
Thanks a lot for the words!
I used some of the tips you gave in my last video too.

Glad you found them useful, I think your blog design looks much better, keep up the good music!

Thank you very much

killer flow on this one! the technique is on point!

Can't get enough of this
I've played it back for like 3 times now
You're too good bro
Nice one

😀😀
Thank you so much brother!
I get the push to continue sharing music from hivers like you!

Hahaha
Plus the upvotes from the big boss hivers 😉😅

😄😄😄
It is indeed encouraging!

Congraaa. Keep it up, you rock!

Thank you so much @emmilee

Bravooo 👏👏✨ exelente post amigo ....

Thank you very much!

Well done Bro.
You don't disappoint.