Fortunate Son - Hive open mic week 150 - Our Virtue - Creedence Clearwater's Fortunate Son

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


The song
Fortunate Son

John Fogerty Creedence's singer and guitarist once explained that "Fortunate Son" is an anti-war-movement anthem that criticizes privileged people who used their money and status to defer from the Vietnam War draft.

Here are the lyrics:
Some folks are born made to wave the flag
Hoo, they're red, white and blue
And when the band plays "Hail to the chief"
Ooh, they point the cannon at you, Lord
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no senator's son, son
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no furtunate one, no
Some folks are born silver spoon in hand
Lord, don't they help themselves, Lord?
But when the taxman come to the door
Lord, the house lookin' like a rummage sale, yeah
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no millionaire's son, no, no
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate one, no
Yeah-yeah, some folks inherit star-spangled eyes
Hoo, they send you down to war, Lord
And when you ask 'em, "How much should we give?"
Hoo, they only answer, "More, more, more, more"
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no military son, son, Lord
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate one, one
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate one, no, no, no
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate son, no, no, no
It ain't me, it ain't me...

Thank you for watching my video, it is greatly appreciated! If you want to watch more of my songs and videos go to You Tube. I have over 160 tracks on there
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLU13vb_LMgaGFNgI48XIONxhOuE4q8sQV

or listen to some of my albums and singles on spotify here:

Thank you for all the support and love on Hive

Phil


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  
 last year  

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC6bvUjhMGdKnEbbkETmG2UKww6ZPvS6nRvS547iDZiJViTkJ8Hd3qGm344YEEgg7SKmQidWqk6SN7sZuf5we3oHCENczPePLgNnLD6ddV9HY9PSKqeCxW.png

I do enjoy it

You made a great performance! Congrats!

Thamk you man

I loved my brother, an excellent interpretation, a giant hug and a thousand blessings 🤗🎸🎶

Oh wow thank you

such a great song!

Certainly is!

nice one !!

Thank you!

Found your stuff courtesy of a re-blog, but I'll certainly be listening out for it down the line.
I've yet to post a song, but looking for inspiration, it's good to know there's lots of good music out there.

That's good to read

Such a love song 🥰

More a protest one really but I'm all up for love!