Hive Open Mic Week 146 - Just the two of us (Salsa cover)

in Hive Open Miclast year

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Just the two of us

"Union" is a very broad term and there would be many ways to approach it, however, I wanted to refer to one of the most basic forms, as is the union between a man and a woman, a union longed for from an early age and that lasts over time, even though it may change the way it is perceived. The desire to be or stay together with the loved one "building castles in the sky", as the lyrics of the song I share with you today say.

This song belongs to a Grover Washington Jr. album, recorded in the voice of Bill Withers, who also co-authored the song, along with William Salter and Ralph MacDonald.

Although I have never been very fond of English repertoire, I remember that the first time I heard this song, I went straight out to buy the record, because I loved it.

These days I have been thinking of recording many more salsa songs on Hive and I happened to discover that the salsa arranger and producer, Loui Ramirez, had made a salsa version of this song with lyrics in Spanish.

Since one of my goals in this Latin music genre is to help break the paradigm that salsa should only be sung in Spanish, I decided to use that version, but sing it in English. Of course, since the chorus is sung in Spanish and my English is not good enough to improvise in that language, I sang the improvisations in Spanish.

By the way, most people who do salsa covers sing the same improvisations as the original singers, but in order for me to take on the challenge of creating my own improvisations, I didn't want to listen to the ones in the song that was sung vocally by Ray de la Paz. So those verses are mine, born as part of my performance.

This wonderful song is my entry to the Hive Open Mic, week 146.

Snap.jpg

"La Unión" es un término muy amplio y habría muchas maneras de enfocarlo, sin embargo, quise referirme a una de las formas más básicas, como lo es la unión entre un hombre y una mujer, una unión anhelada desde temprana edad y que perdura en el tiempo, a pesar de que pueda cambiar la forma de percibirse. El deseo de estar o permanecer junto a la persona amada "construyendo castillos en el cielo", tal como lo dice la letra de la canción que hoy comparto con ustedes.

Esta canción pertenece a un disco de Grover Washington Jr., grabado en la voz de Bill Withers, quien también es coautor del tema, junto a William Salter y Ralph MacDonald.

Aunque yo nunca he sido muy aficionado al repertorio en inglés, recuerdo que la primera vez que escuché esta canción, salí directo a comprar el disco, pues me encantó.

En estos días he estado con la idea de grabar muchas más salsas en Hive y casualmente descubro que el arreglista y productor de salsa, Loui Ramírez, había hecho una versión en salsa de esta canción y con letra en español.

Como uno de mis objetivos en este género musical latino es contribuir a romper el paradigma de que la salsa solo debe ser cantada en español, yo decidí usar esa versión, pero cantarla en inglés. Claro, como el coro está cantado en español y mi inglés no es tan bueno como para ponerme a improvisar en ese idioma, las improvisaciones las canté en español.

Por cierto, la mayoría de las personas que hacen covers de salsa, cantan las mismas improvisaciones que los cantantes originales, pero para yo asumir el reto de crear mis propias improvisaciones, no quise escuchar las de la canción que fue interpretada en la parte vocal por Ray de la Paz. Así que esos versos sí son míos, nacidos como parte de mi interpretación.

Esta maravillosa canción es mi entrada al Hive Open Mic, semana 146.

Separador-Ylich.png

Lyrics || Letra

I see the crystal raindrops fall
And the beauty of it all
Is when the sun comes shining through
To make those rainbows in my mind
When I think of you sometime
And I wanna spend some time with you

Just the two of us
We can make it if we try
Just the two of us

Just the two of us
Building castles in the sky
Just the two of us
You and I

We look for love, no time for tears
Wasted water's all that is
And it don't make no flowers grow
Good things might come to those who wait
Not for those who wait too late
We gotta go for all we know

Just the two of us
We can make it if we try
Just the two of us

Just the two of us
Building castles in the sky
Just the two of us
That's you and I

I hear the crystal raindrops fall
On the window down the hall
And it becomes the morning dew
And darling when the morning comes
And I see the morning sun
I wanna be the one with you

Just the two of us
We can make it if we try
Just the two of us

Just the two of us
Building castles way on high
Just the two of us
You and I

* Solos tú y yo, mi vida
Solos tú y yo

Eres tú mi consentida y por eso
te canto esta canción de amor

Sueño estar solo contigo,
Haciendo castillo en el cielo los dos

Solos tú yo yo….

Ray de La Paz así lo cantaba
Ahora te lo canta El Ruso, ahora te lo canto yo

Que cante el coro y vamos pa’l mambo
que te traigo rumba, son y guaguancó

Wasted water's all that is
And it don't make no flowers grow

We can make it if we try
Building castles in the sky

Ya con esta me despido
con esta canción les digo adiós

Separador-Ylich.png

la-colmena.gif
Vote la-colmena for witness
By @ylich

@ylich
http://ylich.com
https://sptfy.com/ylich


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ylich ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Wao!!!! This is music made alive. You gestures while dancing gave the entry more life and I must say that it's awesome. Nice one sir. Weldone

Thank you! Iḿ glad you liked it! 😉

You are welcome sir

Exelente presentación, buena música , me gustó mucho bendiciones

¡Muchas gracias, Adriana! 🤗

Hermosa su interpretación maestro, usted es un maestro en la música no cabe duda, muchas felicidades 🎉👏🌟✨💕✨

¡Muchísimas gracias Yuli! 😘

Ritmo y sabor para comenzar un excelente fin de semana. No hay más nada que escribir. Siempre lo hace excelentemente @ylich. 🤗😉😊💃

¡Muy agradecido, Nancy! 🤗

😍 Me encanto Sr @ylich. Mucho ritmo y sazón. Bendiciones... 💕

¡Qué bueno! ¡Muchas gracias! 😊

Saludos @ylich wooooooaaaaoooo que buena y hermosa vibra tan cargada de energía positiva que transmites en tu excelente presentación, me has puesto a mover mi esqueleto uff que maravilla de entrada y presentación, lo felicito y me quito el sombrero 👒y lo aplaudo de pies , bravoooo buenísimo... Dios lo bendiga siempre...
Felicitaciones y éxitos...👍🤗🤗🤗😉😉😉💐💐💐🌼🌼🌺🌻

¡Muchísimas gracias por tanta efusividad! ¡Me encanta!

Wow I never expected such vibe so so amazing.. truly music is life🥰

So beautiful and pleasant to watch, this is all shade of awesomeness that got me smiling all through even if I don’t know the song, well done Sir.

Thank you very much! 😉

Felicitaciones estimado @ylich excelente tema, además bastante exigente. Gracias por traerlo a todos. Bendiciones.

¡Muchas gracias a ti por comentar!

Excelente interpretación, que buena canción, disfruté escucharte, te felicito y como referiste el tema de la unión hacia una pareja, la unión de una pareja, y el mensaje de la canción muy bonito.

Bendiciones!

¡Me alegra mucho saberlo! ¡Muchas gracias por escuchar y por tu comentario!

Absolutely love the energy you put into this. Overflowing with life.
You really draw me into the song.
I'm new to Hive, and I hope that I find more performances as good as this one.
Looking forward to hearing more of your music.

Thank you for your kind comment! Welcome to Hive and I hope you find everything you're looking for here!

Knock on my door if you need anything! 😉

Ayayai! This is really great @ylich I found myself dancing while listening to this and this is the truth I'm not trying to flatter...... I feel challenged I'm going to do some salsa soon

Wow, that would be great! If you do so, please tag me to be sure I listen to it! 😉

Thank you!

Sabrosoooo cómo diría nuestro Oscar de León 👏👏👏👏🤗🥰, que excelente interpretación Sr @ylich , mucho ritmo y mucha energía aquí que nos inspira a bailar😃😃👍🌟🔥, mil bendiciones para usted. Felicidades y éxitos .🙏😊🌻🎙️💐🎵🎵🎵💯🌹🌈☺️🎧🎤👏👏👏🤗💚🧡💜💙♥️💞

¡Muchísimas gracias por un comentario tan colorido! 😅

Grandiosa su semana #146 de hiveopenmic, @ylich, me apasiona el genero de la salsa siento que soy un Reina entrando a una pista de Baile, la letra hermosa, usted tiene mucho ritmo e imagen y lo relaciono con esos grandes cantantes famosos que tienen su grupo de salsa, el gran combo, ismael rivera, tito nieves con I like it, el grupo niche con calipachanguero, existen muchisimas piezas musicales. Esta muy bien su pensamiento de hacer blogs mas seguidos cantando salsa. Vayalooooo pues.

Great your week #146 of hiveopenmic, @ylich, I am passionate about the genre of salsa I feel like I am a Queen entering a dance floor, beautiful lyrics, you have a lot of rhythm and image and I relate it to those great famous singers who have their salsa group, the great combo, ismael rivera, tito nieves with I like it, the group niche with calipachanguero, there are many musical pieces. It is very good your thought to make more blogs in a row singing salsa. Vayalooooo then.

Bueno, me siento inmensamente halagado con esas comparaciones. Muchísimas gracias por escuchar y por esas palabras. 🤗

Usted @ ylich es una nota musical de la salsa lo admiro. Mis respeto.

🤗

!LUV

Wow Master!mucho tumbao jejej sabroso. Disfruté mucho su participación. Saludos!

¡Jejeje, qué bueno! ¡Muchas gracias, amigo mío!

Wooowww!! Que trabajo maravilloso!! Me encantó su versión y toda la historia detrás de esta canción y cómo llego a usted. Siga haciendo buena música! Saludos 😊💖

¡Me alegra que te gustara! ¡Muchas gracias por escuchar y comentar!

¡AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGUA! Caramba mister, pero el flow que derrochó aquí estuvo totalmente espectacular jajaja no me había topado con este vídeo y me llené de buenas vibras viéndolo, qué nivel, ¡me encantó demasiado! ¡Gracias por mostrarnos siempre su gran talento! ¡Sigamos creciendo!

¡Muchas gracias, Ilaz! ¡Espero pronto volver a escuchar algo de tu música!

Great choice for this week's theme @ylich ! 👏👏👏

Plus you're a great singer with lovely energy (not to mention some awesome swag... wink at the Hive sweater😉)

Hahaha, it's good to know someone noticed it!!! 😅

Thank you for listening and commenting! 👍

Buen dia Sr. @ylich que felicidades muy bueno le ha quedado su interpretación. Dios lo bendiga grandemente

¡Muchísimas gracias, @milasalazar! ¡Aprecio mucho tu comentario! ❤️

Oooh, love that song, and it works really well as a Salsa. Brilliant!

I agree with you! I think I'll include it in my professional salsa repertoire...!

Thank you Anke!

Oh my, God bless you sire. You got me dancing with this beautiful song of yours. What an amazing presentation 👏👏👏.

Thank you so much for bringing this beautiful tune to our ears. 🥰🥰🥰

Thank you so much for your nice comment!

 last year  

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC6bvUjhMGdKnEbbkETmG3bm2b97QQsMXNmkqicP7WhF24WxD5LhagPSStWBYCZsKaFx6GVj83MwvKZ5z4xdLei6uK99Kx9W1vPXE6QcV57NehrY5RQ9ie.png

Wow…. This is so beautiful

Thank you!

Congratulations dear @ylich excellent topic, also quite demanding. Thanks for bringing it to everyone. Blessings

Congratulations @ylich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 21000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 22000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Buen cover maestro. Felicidades

¡Muchas gracias!