When loneliness finds me, torn between going home to the Philippines or Not? OFW life.

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

Gray Quotes Motivation Minimalist Your Story.jpg

Good day everyone. I hope everything is doing fine. There are times when homesickness attacks me. I don't know how to name it. It's the feeling that makes you long for something that you cannot explain. When I look over the balcony, the scene that feeds my eyes drowns my heart even more.

It's a gloomy morning and the sun is nowhere to be found.

I was torn about going home and seeing my family or reimburse my plane ticket to save for the future. I have so many plans in my mind like what I planned before when I went home for Holiday almost two years ago. I've planned to cook for my parents, take my daughter shopping and many more. Sad to say nothing seemed to work. I didn't do anything. Even the cooking. But at that time the school was still open, that's we didn't find time to go shopping. When the weekends come, everyone would be so lazy to go and spend most of the time sleeping and cleaning. I only come out of my room to eat. Days passed like blur. Just woke up, it was already my flight back then.

Now if I would make up my mind to go for Holiday, I would think the same. I would cook for them and spend time shopping. One thing that I always worry about is the expenses. We know how expensive everything is nowadays. Going back home requires a lot of money. My boss already offered to lend money to me. I just tell her how much I need and she would be happy to give. I am thinking, if I borrow money also, I need to pay. What's the difference? Like last time, I advanced two months salary. When I came back, I was heartbroken to think that I've spent all the money and needed to wait for two months before I would have my salary. I don't want to experience it again. Even Though the longing to see them and spend time with them was so strong, I'm still having a second thought. Thinking also that @lhes wouldn't be there coz of the situation she's right now that prevents her from travelling is so devastating. At least last time we shared the expenses hehe.

Aside from the longing to be with my family that I want to go home to, I'm also tired. I want to rest, not just physically but also emotionally and mentally. I can rest for a while from all the nagging and scolding. This one is more exhausting than anything else. Until now I cannot make up my mind. I'm not prepared. Before I planned to go back in May for my daughter's graduation, but because of a sudden turn of events I can only go home this month. Otherwise I need to wait till 2026 to go.
Before I drown and sink myself even more in my own lonely world, I decided to go out to freshen my mind and divert my attention to other things.

What do you think guys? Any suggestions to help me make up my mind🥺❤️.?

Sort:  

Hi Asia, reading your post, it strikes me how much you yearn to go home. I agree with the other encouraging comments. Time especially that with family is the most valuable commodity. It can never be replaced. Hope you find the right decision that works best for you.

Thank you♥️. After reading all your advice and suggestions, I thinks it's really good for me to go home.

Please go home. Ang tagal pa nang 2026. Money can be earned. Spend time with your daughter lalo na you can’t go home on her graduation. Celebrate na lang in advance. Hugs for you, mommy. All is well. 🥰
#labanOFW

Maswerte talaga OFWs na kasama family nila. 🥹

Salamat❤️. Yan nga din iniisip KO na matagal pa 2026. At d natin alam mangyayari bukas🫤

My mother was an OFW and her being at home was always my happiest. Spend only for the essentials, no need to splurge. Make it a 'quite bonding time' with family.

If you think expenses at home would be inevitable (i.e. large family, huge expectations, etc), then maybe one other option is inviting them over to be a visitor? Giving them new experiences is also something of value. :)

Thank you♥️. I'm also thinking of inviting them to come over,but I think it would take a long time coz they still haven't get a passport.

Ah remembered how you notified me just a week before your flight 🤣.
And so my plane ticket was so expensive.

Maybe of you won't go home this year what about next year?

I am planning to go home by 2025 😁

There's a low chance I can go home by 2025. Nobody would come and do my job while I'm away.😖

Matagal pa 2026, just go home..
Don't waste the opportunity, we don't know what tomorrow comes..
I regretted it when my father passed away without seeing him even though I had a chance back then.. 🥲

Sorry to hear that. Kaya nga iniisip q, ang tagal pa Ng 2026. At kapagod din minsan. Makapa massage man Lang pag uuwi.❤️

To be honest I also feel the same way. I'm still thinking if it's really a good time to spend my vacation in the Philippines when everything is so expensive - the food, the flights, etc. Also, the people over there will be busy.

In your case, I think it's better to go back home. Even if you don't do anything. Even when you come back with debts and need more money to send back home.
Why? Because 2026 is too long to wait.
If you can't go back next year, better to go home this time.

Try to visit lhes nalang sa Manila.
Or try to meet friends - those who really care about you.
Also, even if you don't accomplish all your plans with your loved ones like shopping and cooking for them, it's okay as long as you spend quality time with them.

Last year when I went home, my mother came to see me in Cebu. She lives in Negros and even when she knows I barely have time for her because I was working from PH at that time, she still spent time with me just by being there. Her presence is comforting, though sometimes I want to be alone. But at least, on my vacation, I saw her and was with her.
I think your daughter will like that too. If she can't appreciate it now, maybe who knows, she'll do it in the future.

So don't be torn and goooo.. if your heart tells you to. 🙂

Thank you❤️. Sometimes if I only think about the expenses, I would only be devastated. But if I go home the time that I would spend with them would forever be in my memories to treasure. So I must really go home♥️

I feel how your torn between going or waiting. I will say if given an opportunity to do so something we really want to do we should do it and not put it aside. Two years is a long time to wait and so much can change between now and than. With travel and a budget it really is never an easy decision. I hope whatever decision you make in the end does feel like the right one. May God guide you and bless you.

I'm also tired. I want to rest, not just physically but also emotionally and mentally.

I truly feel you in this point. Much of February and even now Im the same. I pray that all three of these things get better for you. It's something that many of us go through and I'll admit I distract myself a lot in a way to deal with it but now Im finding it hard to do that. I hope you can improve on these things before making this decision. I feel like it is a key to it somehow. Take care and big hug to you ❤️

!HUG
!LUV

Thank you♥️. It's really hard to decide if things didn't go according to our plan. Suddenly they told me to go for Holliday, when I'm not prepared. But maybe I would go with it. If not I would wait for another 2 years and time is so unpredictable.
I hope you can also find time to rest and relax yourself. And do the things you love, especially fishing😁❤️

I wish you the best on your decision. Are flights expensive to/from Singapore and Philippines?

I'm on a patchy stretch right now hoping to get through it soon. Kind of drained of energy even though I have gotten rest. I'll figure it out soon 😊 ♥️

Flights are expensive nowadays. Especially if you book on the spot. You can only avail the cheaper flights if you book like 3 months before.

Maybe something troubles your mind.
That's you still feel drained even you've rest enough. This one is more tiring and exhausting than being physically tired😟🥵.

asiaymalay, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Dear @asiaymalay, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @coolmidwestguy.
(2/3)

Seeing your family would be good for you and would give a new meaning to your life. Don't think about it and make up your mind. You would still miss seeing your parents and it would be detrimental to your health. The rest is recoverable, I mean the money. Thank you for sharing with us and asking for advice. It's up to you. Have a nice week.🤗😄

Thank you so much❤️ much appreciated. I should book my ticket soon.

 2 months ago  

Such a dilemma to have. Siguro for me, I'll go home na lang. Your heart seems to be yearning for rest and time with your family. I hope you will find cheaper tickets. Minsan, mas mura during weekdays. Pero these months, talagang may kamahalan din.

Salamat♥️. Kamahal Ng ticket ngayon, lalo on the spot. Dapat Kung alam KO na uuwi ako, nakabook na Sana ako nuon pa.

 2 months ago  

Sigurado yan, peak season kasi kaya mahal. Pero bakit mapaaga uwi mo kung sakali, hindi ba pwede sa grad ng anak mo or ayaw ng bosing mo?

Bigla bigla nga e. Ayaw nya SA May ako umuwi Kasi wla na Dw panahon. At wala na siyang makuha na papalit pansamantala dito. Kaya NI rush nya ako.