Orchid Update! - Phalaenopsis Kiki - and HAPPY MOTHER's DAY!!!

in Silver Bloggerslast month

IMG_2914.jpeg

It's Been 17 Days Since My Last Post..

We have been pretty busy people over the last few weeks.. Not only has work been crazy (that goes without saying), but we have been busy packing and moving things from one room to another. I mentioned last post that we are buying new carpets for the house, so in preparation we are slowly clearing those rooms out. Lots of trips up and down the steps. On top of that, it's Springtime, so my project list gets a bit more attention that it normally does. So writing once again has taken the back seat.

Until Today That Is..


Happy Mother's Day ..

To all of you who are mothers, grandmothers, or even fur-baby mother's. I hope you had a nice day with your families.


IMG_2908.jpeg

Orchid Update Time ..

I was thinking a few month back .. While writing an Orchid Update post, that I should be numbering these. Like "Orchid Update #36" or something like that. I gave it a good try to go back through all of my posts to tally them up, but then stopped at 50. I thought what am I doing. Who cares what number I am on, and would anyone really care? I figured 'No' and thus this is just Orchid Update number whatever. lol.

IMG_2907.jpeg

What's been happening with the Orchids? .. Given the title of the post, I am guessing you know some of the news already. We are going to have a baby Phalaenopsis Orchid!!! A Kiki is forming on one of our Phals. I noticed it about a month ago, and since then it has been growing rather quickly. It started as one small leaf and it now has two leaves. When it was first forming.. when the first leaf was starting to take shape.. I was saying to myself "What the heck is that?" And now I know.

IMG_2906.jpeg

It won't be ready to be removed from the mother plant for quite a while .. It has to form it's own independent root system, and I don't see any roots of it's own yet. A good rule of thumb for separation of these Kiki, is waiting until it has at least 2 or 3 roots that are at least a few inches long. The plant should also have 2 or 3 leaves. So as you can see, we have a good bit of time ahead of us before this gets sliced off the mother plant.

Here are a few shots of the plant and Kiki with bare root. I was doing my weekly soakings and the plant was loose and needed repotted, so I figured I would snap a few for your viewing pleasure.

Not much too her .. This one actually looks to be the least healthy out of all our Phals

IMG_2903.jpeg

There is the little, two leafed Kiki there on the bottom right. That short root popping out just to it's left is emerging from the mother plant, not the Kiki.

IMG_2905.jpeg

I repotted her and made sure not to cover up that little baby Orchid. You can just about see it sticking out of the bark just below the left side leaf.

IMG_2913.jpeg

Right under the leaf

IMG_2912.jpeg


I think we'll wrap this one up here ..

I have more to write (gardening, landscaping, silver, houseplants, and so on) but I also want to relax a little before work tomorrow. Monday's always come too quickly in my opinion. Hope everyone enjoys the rest of their day's or nights. I'll check back in soon!

Good Night for now!!!

Hive text divider.png

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

They are looking really good! I actually did some weeding in my garden today around my garlic. It's coming along nicely. We really need to think about getting new floors in the house now that Jo is gone. She peed in a lot of places and I am worried it soaked into the floorboards.

Maybe you'll be able to harvest some of the garlic this year!
Molly and Pepper were small pups so their pee-pee stains aren't too bad but still it is very hard to get them up. The cost of tear-out, disposal, new carpet and padding is crazy. We are doing it because we really need it after 17 years, but yikes! bye bye money. 1700 sqft total so I have to remember that. We are doing our entire upstairs and the family room downstairs. The 1st floor office, living room and dining room we may do hardwood instead and at a later date. Otherwise most of the 1st floor is tile. Not looking forward to the bill but am looking forward to the new flooring.

I think if we do anything we are going to go with luxury vinyl tile. It's fairly easy to install and some of the stuff they have out there these days looks really nice. Much better than what people think of when they hear vinyl. I'll probably see if my buddy can come help when we get to that point. He will know what to do about the sub floor. We bought a carpet cleaner towards the end there, but I have a feeling it didn't get everything.

Good luck with that project if you decide to go that route. Yeah some of the stuff they make today is awesome and fools the eye!

 last month  

Congrats on your baby Phal!

Thank you! 😁

Healthy roots, @bdmillergallery !!!
Ah.. a kiki!!!
!BBH

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (1/20)

Everybody loves a kiki! 😁

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

SB_love_Banner.png

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏