Watercolor Painting ~ A Bluebirds Winter

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

IMG_4716_cropped_final_frame.jpg

In Time Winter Will Be Felt ..

Her bone chilling winds, shorter days, and touches of white will be heard, seen and felt by us all here in the Northeast. And with the ushering in of these cold changes, I will be on the lookout for inspirational scenes worthy of capturing in memory, photographs, and even paintings. That's the part that excites me the most when anticipating it.


But First Autumn ..

Autumn and all of her warm ciders, vibrant colors, and smoke filled breezes will be the first to arrive. Those hot summer days along with the damp, humid nights, are dwindling allowing for more seasonal temperatures to be ushered in. It will be sad to see another summer full of beach days, barbeques, friends and fun, trail off into the distance and to remain only in our short term memories. But new and different memories await us.

Autumn In The Air Combo.png

And Of Course Molly Too ..

She'll spend a bit more time sitting in the back of the yard, amongst the fallen orange and yellow oak leaves. She doesn't mind them so much unless a strong gusty wind comes along, blowing them in her direction. After all, two or three leaves put together are roughly the size of her entire body. The cooler temps are not only a favorite of mine (not my wife), but also a breath of freshness for Molly too. With it being a bit cooler, she won't have to seek out shade.

4 - At The Pinnacle Of Autumn - IMG_3637.jpg


The Art ..


A_Bluebird_Winter.png

'A Bluebirds Winter'

With their vibrant colors, bluebirds are extremely easy to pick out among the barren branches of winter. Well, at least the males are. Their head is a rich, deep blue color that runs along the back side as well. The males chest or breast, on the other hand, is the color of rust. I just love it! The female, in contrast, is a little more drab, as can be seen in most bird species. Sorry gals .. The men are just more colorful! hehehe. She is grayish blue with a lighter rust colored breast.

1-020388749843758768435.png

Source of These Three Photos - Pixabay

The Bluebird Was My Inspiration For The Piece ..

I painted this last winter, but didn't get around to sharing it with you until now. I suppose I was really feeling winters chill about the time the inspiration for this one came to me.

All of the leaves had fallen off the branches of our Burning Bush hedges. We had just had a heavy snow fall and I decided to take a walk around the house, to see all of the calm, white beautiful snow. That's when I remember seeing a male Bluebird sitting in the bushes. It was a strong, colorful contrast against the bright white of the new fallen snow.

The perfect Inspiration!

I Was Confident That I Could Paint It

And It helps that I was determined to master painting birds. I use the term "Master" very loosely. I am only an armature hobby artist after all.. to master something would be amazing .. lol.

Like Most Paintings.. I started with a blank sheet of watercolor paper and an idea. I lightly sketched the idea out and let my memory, hand and paint do the rest. Watercolor paint is hard to control (I'm still learning), so sometimes the colors and design get away from me.

This time I kept my cool and kept my hand steady. As you will see below, I tried to capture those rich blues and rust colors, without applying too much to the point of creating a muddy effect. I carefully layered in color until I achieved the look I was going for.

IMG_4708.JPG

IMG_4709.JPG

IMG_4710.JPG

IMG_4711.JPG

IMG_4712.JPG

IMG_4713.JPG

IMG_4714.JPG
And I eventually ended up here.. At the point of being almost done. I noticed a few things, besides the missing signature. I noticed that My Bluebird looks sleepy and I am missing the SNOW!!!

IMG_4715.JPG

So I Fixed That!

I touched up the eye and added the snow. I went for the falling snow look. I hope I pulled it off well, but I'll let you be the judge of that.

IMG_4716.JPG

What Do You Think?

Did I Do The Bluebird Justice? Did I Capture It's Simplicity & Beauty?

IMG_4716_cropped_final_border.jpg

This was my first Silver Bloggers Community post. I hope I fit the bill for being a part of this community. I look forward to contributing quality posts that all can enjoy. If I don't live up to the expectations of the community, I am sure Denise will let me know! lol. Hi @dswigle :-) - Thank you for having me.. even though I am not quite 40 yet. (HAHAHAHahahaha)

Hive text divider.png

5955952648465.jpg

“Some birds are not meant to be caged, that's all. Their feathers are too bright, their songs too sweet and wild.”
― Stephen King, Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

My NFT Art Pieces Can Be Found on NFT Showroom


1-0982136.JPG

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures!
I liked your bird watercolor too.
But, I have a question: why don't you draw the beautiful Molly?
Or maybe she objects? 😂

hahaha.. Yes she objects! lol. I painted her once or twice. Let me see If I can find one of them...

IMG_1245xx - Copy.jpg

Thank you for the nice words on my Bluebird painting. I appreciate that 😊

That's so beautiful!
It seems that Molly asks you: "well, can you convey all my beauty?" ❤️

untitled.gif

“Some birds are not meant to be caged, that's all. Their feathers are too bright, their songs too sweet and wild.”
― Stephen King, Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption

Well said and perfectly drawn. Masterpiece. Thanks for sharing your great talent. Muito obrigada my dear.

Muito obrigada! That makes me feel good that there is someone out there that likes the way it turned out. I appreciate the feedback. Perfection? Not sure but I'll take a compliment any day 😁

Take this compliment pleeeaaase! 💯💃💕 To me it looks perfect. 💪🏼💖💯🎨

aaaw, and perfect that it makes you feel good. thats how it should be. 🙏🏼😊 after such a work which takes time and passion to get some good vibes back. sending you mooooooore. 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🎉🎶🎶🎶🎶

😁

💃🎨💯💕🙏🏼🤗🎶

Oh, the changes of the seasons and the way they are experienced through all the senses is beautifully expressed in your post. I enjoyed reading and then viewing your artwork. It was especially lovely to watch your bluebird's development. He is beautiful so yes, you did capture him well. Hehe!

Thank you so much for the wonderful and meaningful comment. It really made my day to know my writing was appreciated. I enjoy both art and writing.. Hoping to improve upon both as I keep on creating! Hopefully.. lol. Thanks for the compliment on my Bluebird. I don't have birds 'Mastered' yet, but at least it looks like a bird.. I think. hehe. 😁

It does. Haha!

Glad to have helped make your day. I get it. I'm the same when it comes to comments. They are a big part of the experience here on Hive for me. In this way, I've found the Silver Bloggers one the best communities. Always warm and meaningful interactions to be had. 💛

Awesome.. I look forward to reading some of your posts 😊

I see you taught English. Oh boy! Don't look too closely at my grammatical skills. I'm trying to improve on that. I'm not the best proof reader yet. lol.

Nice meeting you and enjoy the rest of your weekend! 😁

You write beautifully. 💛

Nice!!!
It is well drawn!
@bdmillergallery , if I send you a digital photo of Star Dust, will you paint me for me?

Awwww... Stardust. How is your yorkie? Hope well. I can try! Can't make any promises on how it would turn out, but I could try.

Thank you for the compliment as well. 😁

The problem for me is the "keep my hand steady" bit... That bluebird looks cold... Love the foliage shot and always glad to see Molly photos.

It's getting harder these days, to keep mine steady too. lol. Thank you for the compliments! Molly says hello 😁

 2 years ago  

Hi @bdmillergallery, you certainly did the little Bluebird justice, lovely painting!
Your blog does fit our topics as we encourage members to write about their hobbies and interests as well.
Thank you for the generous delegation, it will certainly help towards giving more meaningful vote to our community :)

Awww.. Thank you! 😁

Perfect! Look forward to contributing what I can and reading all of the helpful posts. My pleasure with the delegation. I hope it helps with rewarding good quality posts that are a bit under acknowledged.

Thanks for having me!

I did end up heading over to the Discord server using the link provided. I suppose someone has to approve me before I can actually say hello and chat with anyone there? I read everything needed and then headed to the Coffee Corner, but it only says I do not have permission to view history. I'll check back later.. unless you are sure I need to do something else.

Thanks @lizelle 😁

Lovely work!
HiiiThe addition of the snow flakes makes the picture complete. Love the composition.

Thank you. I find it hard to create dimensionality but practice makes perfect.. or so they say. lol.

Water painting is so good. I not good at paint, would like to try digital art !

Give it a try then! You may just like it. Easier to erase and fix things I think.

What a lovely painting! 😍🥺 I so love it. You did great! Blue bird came to life. 👏👏

Awww.. Thank you for the nice compliment! Glad you enjoyed it 😊

So beautiful

😊 Thank you so much!

This is what I call "art". Picasso has his successor! 😁

Hahaha.. Maybe but probably not. Thanks for the compliments anyhow! 😊

Hello and Welcome @bdmillergallery!

Thank you for subscribing to the Silver Bloggers and for the generous delegation! We do appreciate you choosing to come over into our community of young-at-heart kindred Silvery Souls...

We want everyone to succeed and have a positive experience on the Hive blockchain! Since most of us aren't digital natives and were born long before internet was a public thing, we have a keenness to learn more about blockchain and crypto, together.

The silver threads, in addition to a love of blogging and photography, are

  • a compulsion to store and share our life experiences in this "diary" on the Hive.
  • musings and memories of life – happy and sad, long and short.
  • leisure and travel, and/or about second (third..?) careers.
  • hobbies that can supplement incomes or just what keeps “un” working people busy.

To top that all off, we would like to invite you to our Silver Bloggers Server, our chat room, where we talk about whatever is on our mind. The place to find answers to any questions that may arise on this journey together. The place to help each other out. To prosper together into the future of the internet. And not to forget, the place used to "promote" your blog or the posts into the contests we sometimes have and also to get your silvery member name.

Please, if you haven't yet, please read the Rules and Guidelines of our Community ! We are not really picky, but we do ask everyone to follow them!

Hope to see you soon again in our Silver Bloggers Community! Thanks for being awesome!

silver_divider_black.png

Thank you for all this info! I will definitely check out the discord channel and hopefully be able to catch up with some long lost HiveBloggers folk. 😁

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

Thank You!!! 😁