We Have Orchid Blooms!!!!

in Silver Bloggerslast year

IMG_E8295.JPG

BLOOMS!!! ..

And I'll Take It .. Or I mean I'll take them. After all there are more than one. We have been in a sort of Orchid bloom drought around these parts. I haven't seen any of my Orchids bloom for some time, and most of the blame sits on my shoulders for that. Not going to rehash that sore subject.. This post is about the beautiful blooms that are here and now.


It took a good while for these blooms to evolve ..

The bloom stem started it's growth journey back on October 28th, 2022. I included the photo below to show you what it looked like when I first noticed the bloom stem emerging.. 4 months ago! It formed from the node of another bloom stem that was cut off. Sometimes, like this instance, I will cut the spent flower shoots off above the last visible node. By doing this one can encourage the plant to grow another bloom stem very quickly. It just takes much longer for the process to reach the blooming point .. in my experience at least.

1B7B8652-0115-4671-A684-D9E2DA87570D.jpeg

The Blooms Are A Beautiful Salmon-Red Color ..

@Fantagira got it spot on when she said that the buds were too dark to eventually bloom white. I am positive that the other plant in this group is white, but this one is surely not. We are so happy that this one decided to brighten up the room and our lives, with the beauty of intense color. Love It!!!

IMG_8294.JPG

IMG_E8292.JPG

These blooms should last a good while .. For a few months at least. Besides enjoying their visual beauty every day, several times a day, I also enjoy capturing the blooming moments in photo. Why not?! Their beauty beckons to be frozen in time, and it also gives me something to do. And the plus side is that I have something to blog about.. AND I know deep down inside, those reading this, enjoy them too.

These Next Two Shots .. Are taken with a piece of black mat board being held in the background. Actually most of the shots I took for this post were shot with me holding that piece of paper up behind the plant. It makes for a nice clean and non-distracting background. I also like the way the light sometimes travels across the paper creating a transition from light to dark. It's also worth mentioning that the colors pop when I can eliminate the competing background mix of colors.

IMG_E8293.JPG

IMG_E8297.JPG

I took a few more .. Some in black and white, others in sepia, and a few just before the first couple of blooms were fully open.

IMG_8264.JPG

IMG_E8291 (2)01.jpg

IMG_8282 (2).JPG

IMG_E8291 (2).JPG

And Molly Is Where You Would Expect Her To Be ..

Comfy in her spot .. She will be enjoying all the new beauty form afar. Her spread of blankets and pillows seems to be taking over the entire couch now. When will the madness come under control??!!!

Hahaha.. Who are we kidding here

She Has Us Wrapped Around Her Little Paws

IMG_8298.JPG

IMG_8299.JPG

Hive text divider.png

IMG_E3563.JPG

“Maybe you think you’ll be entitled to more happiness later by forgoing all of it now, but it doesn’t work that way. Happiness takes as much practice as unhappiness does. It’s by living that you live more. By waiting you wait more. Every waiting day makes your life a little less. Every lonely day makes you a little smaller. Every day you put off your life makes you less capable of living it.”
― Ann Brashares, Sisterhood Everlasting

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Very nice! Looks like they are coming along! Do you feel like you get more bugs in your house with all the plants? I'd love to have more plants but besides killing them I am also worried they would attract bugs.

Not really. Occasionally we battle with fungus gnat.. they live in the soil. Simple stop watering for a few weeks and they'll disappear. Plastic plants look really good too! 😆

Yeah, the problem with plastic plants is they collect so much dust!

😂

 last year  

Nice! So this is one that was in lava rocks for a bit? Those colors sure do pop on the black mat - gorgeous! And Molly too. She's worth all the attention she gets.

No.. this one came home with me from work and missed out on all the lava rock fun times. lol. It was spared the wrath of Brad. hehe

Yay! And they are so pretty! We went to an orchid show a week or so ago. One vendor was saying if you bought a cheap orchid at Walmart, etc. and it hasn't bloomed in 6 months, write it off and invest in a better quality one.

So you did well to bring these back from the depths and get flowers in 4 months! Way to go!

I can't take the credit for that.. this one was the pair that I brought home from work. They (Fortunately) missed out on my experimentation. Thank goodness. Orchid show?! Sounds so neat. We may go to an Orchid farm today. Never know.. I may come home with something. 😁

Warm russet colour of the blooms are superb, something completely different from the white or lilac/purple one normally gets to see.

Molly rightly has you wrapped around those cute little paws, no escaping your attention somewhere else is causing her some concern!

!LUV

haha yes! Molly wants no parts of these flowers. The color is fantastic.. I agree. One day I would like to pick up a yellow blooming Orchid. Maybe today. We are heading to an Orchid farm that is open only on Friday and Saturday. I am sure they have something that fits the bill.

Yellow are pretty, hope you find what you looking for, sounds like an interesting destination.

My yellow orchid in tree outdoors during October/November, a thrill to see in bloom after ten years of establishing itself.

IMG_2003.JPG

They are gorgeous, I do have a blooming orchid, maybe I should post about that!

Have a great week.

Thank you and yes you most definitely should! Have a great weekend!!!

Your orchids are beautiful 😍 and Molly looks so cute among the blankets and pillows. I see her and almost feel like taking a nap, hehe. Happy week!

Yeah.. all the time she is snuggled up in her blankets. She's an old lady now, so she spends a LOT of time sleeping. Resting the bones.

Wao Orchid looks so beautiful and amazing. Keeping such things inside the house adds a lot to the beauty of the house. Molly looks so much more beautiful while sleeping and is enjoying her life so much. I myself have visited time to time and brought such plants for my house to decorate.

Plants, as you say, do bring beauty, joy and life into an otherwise quiet home. We love them and hope all of them bounce back to life again. Molly is an old but good girl. she spends a lot of time sleeping due to her old age. We make her very comfortable 😁

This is beautiful and refreshing.

Thank you! 😁

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @qurator for the support and thank you @ewkaw for the nomination for curation! 😁

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That is a great work, love the pixs

Thank you for the compliments 😊

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 9000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Awww, Molly is as beautiful as those flowers, I just love them both.

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
 last year  

You are blooming all over the place! Go, you! Simply awesome!Gorgeous color!!!

Haha@ Molly has you right where she wants you! :) Pretty girl!❤️

Hi, Brad! Always late to the party!

Me too.. These days anyhow. My company got bought out by a much larger one and now I have no time again. Uggggg.. When can I retire? lol
Orchids are trying to make a comeback. this one escaped my ignorant wrath with the lava rock.. thank goodness. We are loving the color.
Molly say's hi!
Hope you are well and blessed. Hopefully life is being good to you.

 last year  

What? No way! No time for fun? Say it isn't so. Well, when we get old and useless, we can retire. :))

I am fine as frog's hair!

well said my friend. well said.
untitled.gif

I really don't know how I missed this tag, but I suddenly remembered you'd post these blooms by now, so I came to check them out. They came out quite amazing! You're so right about the black background - it makes this amazing shade of red really pop. This colour is quite a rare find around here. Enjoy the blooms and always looking forward to more 😍
!KING