You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Christmas Comes Calling

Your joy when Christmas approaches is similar to the joy of children, @dswigle, it's equal to the children's expectations of this holiday. I saw your question and maybe I shouldn't answer it...

What is your favorite part of Christmas?

I have to admit now, ashamed and sorry to sadden you, that I am not a fan of Christmas and its economic and marketing dimension, unlike Magda, who keeps, like you, that part of the joy of childhood expecting both to make and to receive gifts but also the spiritual part, keeping to popular and religious traditions.
As a child it was different, but I'm responding about how I feel now.

Sort:  
 last year  

You would never disappoint me.

I am not a fan of the commercial side of Christmas. I can honestly say that I don't like to receive gifts, although I am a grateful receiver. I honestly feel like I need nothing and don't wish to frustrate anyone by trying to buy me the perfect gift.

I would like better if we go out for a cup of coffee and enjoy our time together, take a hike through the forest, a drink/dinner at my house. Experiences are the way to go! Money is too hard to come by and although I am very comfortable, I need nothing, so let's just not buy anything and make merry during the season of joy.

I still love this time of year and probably it has to do with my experiences growing up. It was a spirtual, magical experience. As a child it was definitely different, but, I know I can still see the magic of these moments.

Hi, Dan! @bluemoon I sure missed you! :)

!PIZZA

Thank you! I try my best not to disappoint you but, at the same time, I try not to be fake and to say as close as possible to what I think about things and events. This can lead to disagreement and upset. You have demonstrated in many situations that you understand the other person's arguments and don't get upset, which is rare in people. This means being selfless, thinking of the other person, and not being prideful. That's why you love this holiday and enjoy it because you have those necessary qualities that make you behave in the spirit of this Christmas holiday.