When Christmas Comes Calling

in Silver Bloggerslast year (edited)


Christmas. What is it that raises it up and starts it spinning? For me, it is always about the magic, the transformation, if you will. It is so beautiful to see all of our worlds through different eyes. It is amazing to see how different our lives are, and in the same breath, how much is the same. The world is getting smaller, no small thanks to social media. I have gotten to see Christmas around the world, something I never dreamed I would see.


Christmas ornament 11.jpg


What is your favorite part of Christmas? Do you have one?


christmas ornament 3.jpg


Let me not rush too hastily into it. I want to read the mystery of the season, the Christmas story, and discover its power; attend to the meaning of it all and to the challenge the story poses as to how I live and what I regard as important. I am seeking that revelation, as the urgent tries to distract me from the important. Much of really being in the true Christmas spirit for me involves rejecting the trimmings that are not.


25498472_10155963690878832_3880503436431319737_n (4).jpg


The tree from last year. There is always something special about the tree. in years past, I could feel it coming and the moment is divine, the fortune, a few steps away, and the joy is nigh... Enjoy the beauty, every step of the way, wrapping love around many hearts.

Gradient - Green.png

This weekend, I have a few people coming over to make nutcrackers for Christmas. We always have one or two times we do it between Thanksgiving and Christmas. They are fun to make, plus, it is always great to spend time with those you adore.


painted nutcrackers.jpg


In this reflective space of Advent, I focus beyond the headlines to keep me in tune with this most beautiful celebration. Oh, Advent, I do love thee, where I begin to light the candles, feeling warmth as a rekindling begins in my heart, my heart. These candles are, but, a small light in the darkness. When the darkness is especially intense, it seems like that small light shines so much brighter. Advent emphasizes to me those smaller moments of light. Those small moments in life. The important little details.


20221128_170421.jpg


A flower. Always. #alwaysaflower My house just wouldn't be home if I didn't have my poinsettia. I purchased one today, healthy and beautiful, adding to the Christmas charm. Inhale deeply.


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.



W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFM5dPoYDiF2VAYE1rPQ.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg

christmas ornament 4.jpg

𝓣𝓱𝓮 𝓔𝓷𝓭

Sort:  

Your joy when Christmas approaches is similar to the joy of children, @dswigle, it's equal to the children's expectations of this holiday. I saw your question and maybe I shouldn't answer it...

What is your favorite part of Christmas?

I have to admit now, ashamed and sorry to sadden you, that I am not a fan of Christmas and its economic and marketing dimension, unlike Magda, who keeps, like you, that part of the joy of childhood expecting both to make and to receive gifts but also the spiritual part, keeping to popular and religious traditions.
As a child it was different, but I'm responding about how I feel now.

 last year  

You would never disappoint me.

I am not a fan of the commercial side of Christmas. I can honestly say that I don't like to receive gifts, although I am a grateful receiver. I honestly feel like I need nothing and don't wish to frustrate anyone by trying to buy me the perfect gift.

I would like better if we go out for a cup of coffee and enjoy our time together, take a hike through the forest, a drink/dinner at my house. Experiences are the way to go! Money is too hard to come by and although I am very comfortable, I need nothing, so let's just not buy anything and make merry during the season of joy.

I still love this time of year and probably it has to do with my experiences growing up. It was a spirtual, magical experience. As a child it was definitely different, but, I know I can still see the magic of these moments.

Hi, Dan! @bluemoon I sure missed you! :)

!PIZZA

Thank you! I try my best not to disappoint you but, at the same time, I try not to be fake and to say as close as possible to what I think about things and events. This can lead to disagreement and upset. You have demonstrated in many situations that you understand the other person's arguments and don't get upset, which is rare in people. This means being selfless, thinking of the other person, and not being prideful. That's why you love this holiday and enjoy it because you have those necessary qualities that make you behave in the spirit of this Christmas holiday.

We no longer put up the tree as we did when children were young, the pointsettia appears to be gifted to me each year, alas mine never make more than three months... For some reason this is a Christmas bloom only.

Dinner and planning already at full steam, being able to join with family when everyone briefly forgets the world around and makes a day of memories together.

Have a wonderful time in preparation the tree is now back in it's spot in your home I see!

@tipu curate

 last year  

Thank you for the tipu!

 last year  

Now that you say that, the poinsettias are usually gifted! I bought four more to give out this week, so they can enjoy them over the season. My mom always received at least 6 of them every year. For some reason, New England carried more of the poinsettia gift-giving than most places I have lived. I have a love/hate relationship as they never seem to flower again. There is a certain protocol that I have never been able to manage. It is a secret that I have never been able to uncover! LOL

They are native to Southern Mexico and they call them Flor de la Noche Buena, (Flower of the Holy Night) because of their resemblance to the Star of Bethlehem. It is not so much a Christmas flower, but this is the time when they have their color. They can be planted in the garden and will grow all year round, quite prolifically, I might add.

What you say is quite true. Christmas and its magic allow one to briefly forget the world and make a beautiful day of it. That picture is last year's tree, making out way towards this year. Thank you for stopping in! Have an amazing day! 💜

One flower with interesting story, did not know this symbolism. Gifting, always thought my sister-in-law gets a tickle out of mine always dying off. Needless to say hers thrive and are in full colour as an indoor house plant, she tends to it along with orchids, neither I mess around with !LOLZ

I'm sure the tree must be up by now with the fairy or star on top, you normally right on time with decorations.

PS: This is how I know it's that time of year again, start stocking up for a good Christmas dinner. 🙃

I changed all my passwords to Kenny
Now I have all Kenny logins

Credit: reddit
@dswigle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(2/4)

 last year  

Yes. the trees are up already! We are working on the last one. Everyone needs a sister-in-law who is amazing. :) Actually, mine is too, but, she doesn't make me live in her shadow. :) She is kind like that. :)

No doubt in my mind the trees are up and you are rejoicing within the realms of your favourite season.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dswigle and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Again and again.... I love those nutcracker tins. I hope you make a post of the process.

What is not to love about Christmas? Of course the story of Jesus's birth is the reason for the season, but that is topped off by all the childhood memories of those golden Christmas gatherings and preparations, baking and decorating .... and the magic of Christmas mornings. Somehow, all that joy and delight still bubbles up inside me, old as I am. I'm so glad my parents made it so special that all these years later, the magic is still here.

 last year  

Me too!! I think that is why I live it so much. The baking and decorating, having everyone taking part in it. The outside lights were slways fun! We had a giant pine tree in our yard and my father put light on it... it could be seen for mikes!

The reason for the season was definitely first and foremost, our celebration was seperate and didnt cross over. Seperate but together, if that makes sense.

I still love ❤️ the season of joy, it never gets old.

I'll definitely try to get pictures as we paint! It is always fun ! I need four cans this year. I hope I have time to make them all! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

!LUV

Hard to believe that we are already into December this week. It feels like we were just in the middle of summer. My wife and I haven't decided if we are going to put up a three this year or not. We got the garland on our banister and I will probably do the outside lights sometime this weekend.

 last year  

Many people don't have trees. I am sure if I didn't have a bunch of company I might have less Christmas... no, probably not. I just love the whole deal, but one of my sisters puts up lights and a few decorations and calls it done.

Do you put up lights? I haven't got mine up yet!! They make houses too high!! :)

I cannot believe December is here either!

We don't put any on our house, but I have some tomato cages that I turned into trees and we put those out. I need to get them converted to LEDs at some point. My electric bill goes up $60 in December from them. We usually travel to other peoples houses which is why I am not sure we are going to even put up a tree.

 last year  

LED isxa huge investment. Watch out, right before Christmas they start putting them a 50%. You save the elsctric bill firstbyear. Im all LED now!

Note: some of the whites are to much! I brought them back and got soft white.

Yeah, I know what you are saying about the white being too intense. My big deal right now is that I can't find an outdoor set that will remember to stay solid. Most all of them have different flashing schemes and I don't want that.

 last year  

I thought they had some at Lowes! Check it out online.

 last year  

Yes! In that case, I dont blame you. This way, you get to enjoy all the different decorations.

The tomato cage is a great idea!!!!

Christmas is truly in the air. I love how you prepare your decorations there. It's lovely to look at. So elegant .. I will go there and sing for caroling.. Heheh.. Stay safe and God bless.. Love and Hugs ❤️

 last year  

Oh, yes!! We love the caroling!! I am so glad you like the decorations. I love the Christmas season, not for the gifts, but, for the beautiful spirit of things.

Thank you for the blessings. I wish the same for you.

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words.

Indeed, Christmas is not a season for giving alone but for the season to be jolly with our loved ones. Thank you so much for your kind words too. The pleasure is mine. God bless.

My favorite part of Christmas is the midnight Mass!!!!
And all the preparations: the Nativity set, the Advent wreath, Christmas carols....
I just love Christmas!

 last year  

I loved Midnight Mass every Christmas Eve with the entire family, grandparents, cousins, uncles, and aunts, probably 10 pews worth. :) We would have a Christmas get-together at my grandmother's and we all go to church together. Every year.

Le sigh.

I sure miss those times. The entire preparation leading up to that time was beautiful. Indeed. I still love it!

What is not to love about Christmas!?

10 pews! You've got to be there early to make sure you are seated beside each other, hahaha. What a beautiful sight that would be. Your Christmas was/is indeed merry and bright!!! Grandmothers are so precious.
You have created a wonderful spirit here, @dswigle, leading to Christmas.
For this, I am grateful!
Have a lovely day!
!LADY 😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dswigle and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

What is your favorite part of Christmas? Do you have one?

Its entirety. The feeling, the love around it.

 last year  

I have to agree with you! I love everything about it! 💚 Hi @xplosive ! I hope all is going well with you for this wonderful season of joy!

!PIZZA

I am good. Thank you. Nowadays I live together with my brother again. My Harris's hawk is started to trust him in the recent past. I posted a few photos about us in the previous few days.

 last year  

I have been gone for 17 days. I will take a peek at it! I remember when you moved in with your brother. I am glad it is working out and the Harris Hawk has a nice place to live.

True, the world became smaller nowadays because of social media. Yes, that tree creates magic even to me. That's why I don't want to hastened it, I want to enjoy it slowly.

 last year  

Hi, Michael! @mrnightmare89 You nailed it. The magic of the season is so special, I just want to bask in it rather than encourage it to come. I hope all is going well with you there and life has become a little bit easier.

Thank you for stopping in and saying hello!

!PIZZA

Let me not rush too hastily into it. I want to read the mystery of the season, the Christmas story and discover its power; attend to the meaning of it all and to the challenge the story poses as to how I live and what I regard as important. I am seeking that revelation, as the urgent tries to distract me from the important. Much of really being in the true Christmas spirit for me involves rejecting the trimmings that are not.

Definitely ♥️ As I recall, this wonderful season started with one little infant who didn't even have a proper place to be born :) ...

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

 last year  

You recall correctly! :))

Thank you for the curation and for stopping by! Have a great night!

Thanks, I hope you are having a great holiday season ♥️

 last year  

I am!! Thank you!

It is amazing to see how different our lives are, and in the same breath, how much is the same.

That's something really amazing. After coming to Hive and interacting with people I realized that we are same on the aspects I never thought we would be same. At the same time we are different drastically.

They are fun to make, plus, it is always a great to spend time with those you adore

Certainly. The time that you spend with people love is the best time. It becomes a memory for spreading smile in your lips even later

When the darkness is especially intense, it seems like that small light shines so much brighter.

That's the case with all the opposites in this world. Like darkness makes us see how valuable small light is, sorrows make us see the worth of little happiness

My house just wouldn't be home if I didn't have my pointsettia.

May I know what is pointsettia¿

 last year (edited) 

It is the red flower seen in the picture. They are a potted flower that is really popular during the Christmas season.

Hello, hello! I hope your day is going well.

I see.... It's a flower. And I know dswigle's tag line "Always a flower" so I can understand how much you would love this one at your home.

Does this flower have some fragrance too?

My day is going well. Best wishes for yours 🤗

 last year  

Yes, I went back and tagged it, thank you! I forgot to do it last night. It was late and I was tired.

The scent is often described as a pine-like terpenic scent. I call it almost woodsy, but with a hint of mushroom. Not at all like a pretty little meadow flower, but, beautiful nonetheless and they are red and green! The colors of Christmas.

By the way, they can be poisonous to your pets. See here.

Thank you and I hope you have a great day!

!PIZZA

Red and green..... ahaa! That's the colour of roses too.

Have a nice day, ma'am

 last year  

You too!! :))

Wow! You are ready for Christmas! Poinsettias are really great decorations. love how thick the flower leaves are on the new ones your purchased.
Happy holidays!

 last year  

Happy Holidays! I do love the poinsettias and all the magic leading up to Christmas! Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words.

Have a wonderful night!

we've our New Year's preparations already as well;)
we don't feel winter and New Year, it's too early and warm for it, but shops make us remember about it having all shelves full with holiday goods;))

 last year  

It really is too warm, isn't it? We won't get too cold until after Christmas. Yes! Don't all the stores just make it so cheerful! :)

Hello! Hello! I hope all is well with you!

do you prefer warm Christmas? many people say there is no winter soul in Christmas if it's not cold. But I think it doesn't matter what the weather is outside, we are creators of our mood;)😉

 last year  

I am with you. Christmas is magical, no matter where you are. :)

are you going to make a holiday wreath?:) I remember your nice creativity ;)

Hello @dswigle. Wuao, what beautiful lyrics, they conquered my heart. The magic of Christmas, the truth I do not know, but I'm sure that when I think of it a hot cold, something rare, delicious runs down my spine and penetrates every pore of my skin and I smile, I love this time, thinking about it makes me go back to my family, which most had to emigrate, but the memories are magical and were recorded in my mind and heart forever. Wishing you the beginning of the birth of the child God, lots of health, peace, joy, infinite abundance and that your wishes are fulfilled.

 last year  

Thank you! What wonderful wishes you give and lovely memories to relive. Thank you so much for your words.

Much appreciated.

Your trees looks fine

 last year  

Thank you!

You are welcome dear friend

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 134 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
6

 last year  

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
dswigle tipped mrnightmare89 (x1)
pixresteemer tipped dswigle (x1)
@dswigle(2/5) tipped @bluemoon (x1)
dswigle tipped amberkashif (x1)
dswigle tipped xplosive (x1)

Join us in Discord!

 last year  

Thank you @pixresteemer!

You have some magnificent decorations. Making nutcrackers sounds like awesome fun!

Personally, I'm not sure that there is any one part of Christmas that I like more than any other, though I'll admit I do miss a snow-covered December. I enjoy going out and being in Christmas markets. I might be one of the few people that enjoy being in shopping malls this time of year; there is something satisfying about carrying around bags of goods that you know people will enjoy. It is also incredibly satisfying to be able to find One Last Free Table in the food court to sit at with a snack.

And Christmas beer! A heavy stout laced with cinnamon in the front room with the Christmas lights for company. Advent calendars. Strangers actually smiling. And I still feel like a child again every Christmas morning, and don't complain (too much) when the kids wake me well before the sun. That's also the one morning of the year they're willing to make me coffee.