You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jiffy Pop ! A Blast From The Past

These are a lot of fun to use and I haven't used one in many years. I always remember have a fun time shaking it around and watching it grow in size.

I do something similar with a pot with a lid, oil and popping kernels. There's a little trick to getting the temperature right for the oil so that you can get all the kernels popping at the same rate. That's the real key. You still get the shake it on the stove top too 😀

Then there are the toppings. I still go with the tried and true one, salt and butter.

I hear there are so many different toppings you can put on it. I tried a cheese one at that theater but never at home. I'll need to look into this, I bet there are some crazy combinations.

Now all you need is a good movie or show to watch. Have fun.

Sort:  

It was fun. Maybe you need to get one too, just for the fun of doing it again.

I do understand about getting the temperature of the oil right, although I don't always make that happen. I always thought that was one of the main secrets of movie popcorn, that their machines got really hot and popped really fast. It's hard to match movie popcorn at home, but close is good enough.

You can buy all sorts of popcorn toppings. I can't really remember what they were now, but years back when I lived and worked in Texas for a while, our company owned one of those machines and each department would take turns once a month, setting it up in our break room and making popcorn for anyone that wanted some. My office partner Joseph and I wanted our turn to be notable, so we bought 4 or 5 different flavors that you sprinkle on the corn like salt and it was a big hit. I personal didn't think any of them beat out the old tried and true salt and butter myself, but the folks seemed to like having a choice and trying something new.

The one thing I have done at home from time to time, was sprinkle some grated parmesan cheese that I already had in my frig on some popcorn while it was hot. I kind of like that once in a while.

All those flavors sound like fun, I'd give it a shot too. I'll need to try the parmesan cheese idea on my next batch, that sounds like a winner. Thanks