I'm still standing! -Relaxing in the park with food ,sun, and little furry beasts

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

After moving slowly to a new apartment down the street,for the last month, we have finally gotten to the point where we can enjoy days off work. The only thing two city dwellers, with no car can do, is to go to a park. Well we could go to a restaurant, a concert or a movie but we have little interest in those things. I watch movies at home, I don't like crowds and I work in a restaurant. I know what goes on behind the scenes.

We went for a simple picnic in the afternoon at a city park, to get some of that thing they call "sun". I don't really experience this for most of the year. I feel like a vampire sometimes without the need for blood.

One thing I try to do each summer, since I was in my thirties is to see if I can still stand on my head. I figured by the time I was 40 I probably wouldn't be able to do it anymore. Then 50 hit and I could still do it. Then 57 hit and I could still do it. Then the apocalypse hit and I didn't try for a couple of years, until the other day. I am now going on 60 and thought this will probably be the end of my head stands.

Lo and behold I can still do it!

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

I forgot to bring nuts for my little friends so I would have to settle with the next best thing from our picnic items. Strawberries. Like the week before when all I could offer was grapes, these furry ones were not impressed. They were still going to have it. It was better than nothing. They were really shy compared to some squirrels that I've met that attacked our bags helping themselves to whatever.

DSC_6150.jpg

I was not able to convince these guys to grab the strawberry. I tried a different approach.

DSC_6167.jpg

I thought if I would lie down, I would be less threatening. If they were afraid of me grabbing them, they should know that I couldn't do it in this position. It seemed to work as it got closer.

DSC_6166.jpg

Then success as the little beast grabbed the strawberry and quickly ran to safety up the tree.

DSC_6164.jpg

It always blows my mind that they can move their jaws so fast while they chew. The berry was almost the size of it's head and it was gone in a short time.

DSC_6174.jpg

Now it was time for us to eat. I had quickly made a bean salad and brought some greens along.

DSC_6077.jpg

The dressing on the bean salad was enough to coat the lettuce.

DSC_6132.jpg

The dressing was a quick blend of soaked cashews, fresh garlic, fresh basil, a tomato salt, pepper, Italian seasonings, a squeeze of fresh lemon and a splash of olive oil.

DSC_6072.jpg

I also had a baguette and a spread that I had made the week before and was leftover. It was a savoury guava paste blended with soaked cashews garlic and lime juice.

DSC_6090.jpg

As soon as the food was gone and the sun was setting, we headed back to our new apartment to relax some more. Usually I feel guilty for not working at home doing chores, but I didn't this time. We had worked enough moving most of the contents of our apartment on foot including the bed. It was just the two of us. The movers didn't get the memo from the building manager. We were asked to not renew our lease since the building was sold. Paid movers were part of the deal. We had to beg the guys to move our sofa which we couldn't do. They had another booking but did it anyway. It was quick and we gave them a big tip.

DSC_6179.jpg

The final pose is one of a proud head stander. My partner Marc can't do it and he's 15 years younger then I am. Don't mind if this old thing pats herself on the back for that.

DSC_6187.jpg

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Haha that's awesome, of course you can!!! My dad was the same until about 69, though I wouldn't put it past him to try.. he has been sick though and his vertigo might precent it...

That meal looked delicious and it looked like a really fun day out..

 2 years ago  

You could have used your flexibility in your weekend post!

Oh, wait! That was your dad!

Haha we'll see what happens if I make it to 69 in a crazy world.

Work hard play hard. They say.

 2 years ago  

Haha! I love when my KIDS can't do something that I still can! :) You go ahead and pat yourself! You deserve it!!!!

I love the little squirrel and the salad looks heavenly!

You make the best things! ❤️ And then a headstand? I'm jelly!

Oh haha. I really appreciate this. Thank you. I go a little squirrely when I'm around squirrels. My daughter couldn't even attempt a headstand haha.😄

 2 years ago  

Ha! It was so fun to watch!! They really trust you!

 2 years ago  

Impressive! I'm patting you on the back too!

I could never do a headstand, but cartwheels I could rock. I would not dare now.

 2 years ago  

I have no excuse for not being able to do a headstand. I tried and tried and simply could never do it!
You're looking mighty good for closing in on 60.

 2 years ago  

You should try! I'll spot you!!

 2 years ago  

You've actually gotten me to wonder if I can still, at least, do it against a wall. lol.

 2 years ago  

I'll spot!

Haha thanks. The cartwheel business died for me a long time ago. I had an accident with my hand and grew up with a bent finger. It's my excuse for not being able to do them haha.

That’s good! I can not be like you, when my head goes down, I always feel dizzy or uncomfortable. Have beautiful day my friend.

I practised most of my life haha. I feel dizzy too but I have to do it to prove to Marc that I'm stronger than him haha.

Have a good day too my friend!

Good food, getting close to nature, avoiding crowds. My kind of living, except I have a car to get to some relaxing parks with my new lady..

20220620_160738.jpg

Thanks for getting it Mike! Enjoy your times!

Always been that way with me.. best things in life don't cost a cent.
Good to see you smiling ... 😊

20220111_173202.jpg
The sun is rising

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you!

Bravo, for standing on your head! I never could do that, even in my younger days! The salads look yummy, and that guava spread sounds intriguing! 😋

Thank you @thekittygirl. I'll see if I can get a similar photo in a few years haha.

Wow! Impressive head stand! Your body is in good shape and strong! I have to do more exercise!
Poor squirrel, he was quite hungry!

Vegetables give you muscles?! Strange!

It's a vegetable head stand haha. I'm able to stay strong from a lifetime of mostly grunt work. Somebody has to do the dirty work.

Wow! It’s all worth it! The result is so good for your health and mind! Keep up all the good work! Wonder head stander!

Bravo!

Thank you!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 11000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 12000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

 2 years ago  

Not shabby at all for a 60 year old; you certainly still have the bod of a 20 year old👌
I want to know what goes on behind the scenes in restaurants especially when it gets hectic...or rather don't tell!
I'm sorry to only respond now, been so wrapped up in all the happenings here & around us this week, that I neglected Silver Bloggers😒
LOL, you have reason to pat yourself on the back, I couldn't even have done that in my 20s!
I had such motion sickness Thursday, which continued on Friday, felt sooo ill. That salad of yours looks so good, just what I need as my tummy still feels a little queezy!
Have a fabulous weekend @carolynstahl and make the most of the sunshine🌞

Oh don't ever worry about responding. I know you're busy. I hope the motion sickness is better. I have it now too but I call it a hangover😅. Not good when I have to go to work. Let's just say what goes on behind the scenes is a lot of cursing and stuff. Hell's kitchen. I have to remind myself that insane annoying customers pay my rent.

I'll see if next year I'm still standing for my annual handstand haha.

Thanks for your comment and hope you are doing well.