The Passing of a Neighbor and Friend

in Silver Bloggerslast year

neighbor.png

My neighbor died this past weekend on Saturday. He was such a great person. HE helped everyone and would give you the shirt off his back in a snow storm. I haven’t said much because I was also going through the crap with my best friend and pet Bailey. But now that Bailey is much better and on the mend and my neighbor’s funeral is tomorrow it is hitting home that he is gone.

Losing him is more difficult than I thought it would be. I mean I had only known him for about three years, but I had started to grow close to him. In good weather we spent time on his front porch in rocking chairs talking about our faith and life in general. He was having a big impact on my life during this time while I am struggling. We shared many meaningful conversations about life and religion with each other.

That said, I know it is important to stay positive and remember the positive experiences I was able to share with him. I know I should find solace in reflecting on those conversations with him, along with the insights and perspective we shared.

I went to his showing at the funeral home this evening. It was a difficult thing for me emotionally. I did not show anything outwardly but kept my sorrow inside. I knew it was an opportunity to remember and honor my friend and neighbor, which I did. I sung his praises to his wife and children. I despise attending funerals but knew I needed to face the reality of his passing.

They say it is okay to feel a range of emotions during this time, such as sadness, grief, or even relief that my friend and neighbor is no longer suffering. I also know he is where he wanted to be when he passed away, in the arms of the Lord. This does give me somewhat of a sense of closure and peace after seeing him one last time and saying goodbye.

However, now that I am home, I just feel empty. I am not sure if this is a normal feeling or not. I will have to discuss it with my VA counselor next time we talk. I do know I feel emotional exhausted after this last week, and especially after my visit to the funeral home.

I guess it just takes time to process these feelings and emotions like any other loss. No matter the time that passes though, the neighborhood will never be the same without him. And I will sure miss our talks.

Thanks,
Joe

HiveDivider.png

Note: Image source is from Canva.com

Sort:  

You have had a really tough time of late Joe.
So sorry to hear about your neighbour, he seems a fantastic person. On the porch in a rocking chair chewing the fat sounds idyllic.
You will be devastated and that is entirely normal.
I see your comment to farmgirl, that is a great way to celebrate his memory by helping other neighbours.
Give Bailey a hug from me
!HUG

Dear @coinjoe, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @tengolotodo.
(1/2)

 last year  

Tough seas are always followed by clam ones.

 last year  

I'm sorry to hear, Joe. Losing someone whom we have grown closer to is difficult and it may take time for you to process that he is really gone. But as they say, when a door closes, another opens. So I hope there will be a new friendship for you soon. Glad to know Bailey is getting better.

 last year  

I appreciate your thoughts. Yes, time is what it takes for any loss. I agree, when we havea door shut on us we need to look for another opening. That is why I am going to be looking to continue his service to others by trying to help at least one neighbor per week however I can.

Bailey appreciates your well wishes. She is sitting with me in the recliner as I type this.

Never easy my friend... Takes time like you said. I hope you're doing ok

 last year  

Yes, read that earlier that it is just a matter of giving myself permission to take some time to process my feelings and emotions.

Blogging has helped me a great deal in coping with my fight out of isolation, and working through Bailey's illness. So it has helped already by writing about this experience and sharing my feelings.

Although physically I can't do much, I think this weekend I will make it a point to get out and help a neighbor and start doing that at least once a week if not more.

It is really appreciated that you took the time to read and comment my friend.

Anytime, I've been there! Get out of the house just to keep yourself busy...

 last year  

That is the plan. I am thinking about heading to the indoor flea market tomorrow morning to look for some coins.

Lo siento, todas las pérdidas son tristes y dolorosas

 last year  

Yes they are. I appreciate your condolences.

My sincerest condolences goes to you Joe. I understand how it feels to lose and friend and confidant. It can be very hard, coupled with the fact that you've had a really tough time of late. I hope you scale through this phase too✨

 last year  

It is appreciated. Yep, it has been a little rough lately, but there is always a clam after the storm.

I like the reassurance you give yourself. You're right, after the turbulence comes peace.

Congratulations @coinjoe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal