My mom - Joining Memoir Monday initiative

in Silver Bloggerslast month

MemoirMonday_MyMom.jpg


I have been a lucky girl because I had exceptional parents who gave me a happy childhood. And I'm not talking about material things, I'm talking about the things that really count, love, values, and a wonderful and united family.

My mom when I was little was always there for my sister and me. A very nice memory I have from my childhood is when my mom used to tell us stories. She was an expert at telling the story of Cinderella and she did the voices of the little mice from the Disney movie perfectly. So much so that I remember when we went on family vacations to the beach to a little house that my grandfather had on the coast of Falcon State that at night all the children asked my mother to tell us the story of Cinderella. I remember that at that time she used to make us arepitas abombadas and buñuelos de yuca for snacks.

My mom has always been very creative and skilled with her hands. So when we were little there was always a plan to make crafts. Ceramics and paper mache are some of the things we did with my mom that I remember the most.

My mom has always been strong-willed and when my sister and I were young she was sometimes very strict. My sister and I learned as we got older that the best way to manage permission at home was to first bring our dad up to speed and if he agreed he would help us with my mom who used to have the last word.

Looking for the pictures to make this post, I barely found the two I put in the image above and I realized that I have very few pictures at home from when I was little where I was with my mom. So it's a good ringing of the bell to realize that I have to go to her house to rummage through the family photo albums. My mom doesn't like to have her pictures taken and I don't have many of her, but I found this one that I love from the day I got married.

MiMamaYo.jpg

We have always been very close but I remember that as I got a teenager and grew older, we started to have some character clashes. My dad always said that my mom and I were like two peas in a pod, very similar not only physically but also in character and that's why we clashed so much. When I became an adult I started to handle that train wreck better. My mom has always been there for me and I hope she will be for many years to come.

This year, God willing, she will be 80 years old and although we have had some scares with her health, she is in very good physical condition.

I took this photo recently for a portrait a friend wanted to make in a store about my mom's career as a ceramist.

Abu.jpg

I don't know about you, but I see a beautiful woman in her 80s, well-lived. That's my mother. A great mom and a wonderful grandma.

This is my participation in the Memoir Monday initiated by @ericvancewalton answering this week's question What was your mom like when you were a child? The initiative is in its second week, although for me it is the first week joining it. If you want to know more about this initiative you can read Memoir Monday (Week 2).

And before I say goodbye, it's not relevant to this post, but I recently managed to onboard a cousin on Hive. She posted an introduction a few hours ago and if you get a chance I'd really appreciate it if you could stop by and say hello to @yhenni at And finally, here I am. Hello Hive.

Thank you for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

March 21, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

Sort:  

My dear friend, what a beautiful and touching post. Your mother is beautiful, she looks great, God bless her with health. I did not know about this initiative, thanks to your publication, I will be attentive to join. I send you a big hug.

Wonderful you still have your Mom, able to appreciate how much she has done over her time when you were young still learning the ropes of life.

Keeping her age exceptionally well, something you able to look forward to as we carry much of our parents features as we age.

I wish I could grow old like her. To reach her age and look as good. We'll see what life has in store for me, hehe ;).
Thanks for stopping by, Joan 🤗

Mothers in most cases are very special, have a wonderful day.

 last month  

Your mother sounds like a wonderful woman! Thanks for sharing and taking part in Memoir Monday!

She is a great lady.
Thank you for bringing this initiative:)

 last month  

In my family, my mother is also the one who has the last word.

Your mother is beautiful, she looks great for her age and you look just like her @coquicoin 😊

I didn't know about this initiative, I will gladly join.

Gracias Ana Maria 🥰

I hope you can join the initiative:)

It's nice to have her around. It looks great in the photo. As I was reading your post I realized that I too have very few photos of my mother in childhood times, and that I do think I can't figure out. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences dear @coquicoin . A big hug from Maracay.

 last month  

What a lovely tribute to you mother. She is beautiful, and oozes confidence. If you're like her, you've been doubly lucky. I'll check out your cousin's post, thanks for onboarding someone. I have been unsuccesful in doing that.

Thank you for your kind words ♥️
And thank you for visiting my cousin's post. I haven't had success doing onboarding in the past but I think she may get the hang of Hive and stay, or at least I hope so.

You got your beauty after your mom 😊such wonderful memories you have with her.. made me smile while reading your story because she reminded me of my mom as well... 😊

Thank you, Jane 🥰
I'm sure you have a special mom as well after all, she is your mom 🤗😘

Awe🥰 I kept on smiling and getting lots of inspirations as I read through your memoir. You have such amazing mom, and for her age she look very strong and full of life. !LUV

I wish you more beautiful memories together, and a great health to her.

coquicoin, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

How nice that you feel inspired, maybe you'd like to join the initiative.

And thanks for the lovely wishes 🤗

Thank you for sharing your story, about the initiative, it is a lovely one and if I have some time to spare I would love to participate sometimes.

That’s great :)

 last month  

It's so heartwarming to read about your childhood and how it was growing up with your wonderful Mom. Like you, she's a real beauty, sis. And she's still stunning at 79.❤️ I wish her good health and many years to create more memories with you :)

!LUV

coquicoin, ifarmgirl sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thank you for your nice words and good wishes, sis! ❤️
I'm lucky to have her and continue to count on her.
🤗😘

!LUV

ifarmgirl, coquicoin sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Dear @coquicoin, your mom remains very well at her age. Our mothers are very strong women, we have to be proud of them. We are what we are because of them. I wish you good health. Thank you for having the opportunity to meet her. Happy weekend. 🤗🥰❤️

You are right, we are what we are because of them. And we are fortunate to have them.
Gracias @mamani! Have a nice weekend 🤗😘

How beautiful is your mother! And how much you look like her! I see that we had to deploy identical strategies to convince our mothers, haha. Yes, when the characters clash so much it is usually because they are similar. The positive part is that over time you understand the other person better because you know why they educated you as they did. As they knew best and could, but above all with all their love and the best intention.

My best wishes for health so that you can enjoy each other for much longer. ❤️

Thank you, Paloma ❤️

Yes! When we are so much like our mothers with time we understand better that in many of the fights and arguments we have had in the past, they had a good reason even if we don't always agree with that reason, jeje ;)

Thanks for your nice comment. Abrazos!

 last month  

What a beautiful tribute to your very special Mom <3
I can see what your Dad meant, you look so alike!
Your Mom sounds so much like mine, and also didn't like her photo taken, but just look at her, a gracious beauty at that high age! (I'm heading that way)
I've been searching high and low for old photos as well, it's been quite am emotional journey, but still searching!)
Wonderful memories Eli!

Yes, my mom and I look a lot alike and Rodrigo my son looks just like us, hehe.
You are a beauty Lizzie and you can proudly say that you are on that path. I hope I can look like my mom if I get to her age.
I love these initiatives that make us dig into our memories and old photos, as they say over there, to remember is to live.

Hugs 😘

Good morning dear friend @coquicoin
What beautiful things you have experienced with your mother, and how many more beautiful things you are going to experience and enjoy with her.
beautiful photographs you show us
Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful experience
have a wonderful day

Your lucky to have such a wonderful mother♥️. And those Unforgettable memories with her.

I'm lucky indeed for the mom I have. Thank you for stopping by and happy weekend!

Hermosas palabras.... y vaya que 80 años muy bien vividos.... También recuerdo las voces de Cenicienta cuando les echaba el cuento a mi hermano y a Lili. Gracias una vez más por el apoyo