You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dream Come True

Congratulations delightedly on this role, which is so much in keeping with what you have experienced before. How wonderful and refreshing to hear that. I can well relate to this longing to sing but not being able to. Your step to take lessons is encouraging. I once made a small attempt to take private singing lessons, but was put off right from the first meeting with the teacher. Maybe, someday. I'm still in my early fifties ;)

Sort:  
 last year  

I am very proud of myself, I must say. It's been a dream a long time coming for me. As for singing teachers, I went through four of them before I found the one who was for me, a great jazz singer songwriter piano player, David Budway. It was in his club that I first sang, and where I learned how to perform. By then, I had some singing chops, but the performance chops were what I needed to actually get up in public to sing. So I got to sing, at the mic I had learned on, in the room I had learned in, with the accompanist I learned from. It was a gift.

So where have you been woman? I've missed your brilliant posts!

Gifts are meant to be accepted :) Yes, it's something I would be proud of too, for sure. To end up on stage, you need a good voice that carries the audience along. You've done it in a remarkably short time, if I may say so. Considering that you certainly haven't given your energy to that alone for the last twenty years. Well, I may have a different sense of time ahem. LOL

When I hear "club" I get a little melancholy. I've been out of the culture for so long and I can't think of any good clubs here. I love life music and wonder why there's anything like that left on the streets elsewhere. Here in my city, it's not a given. I'd have to do better research, though, I think.
How nice of the club owner to allow you to work on your performance skills. That's like the veil to a bride (I know, not a good comparison).

Thanks for asking. The woman has been busy preparing to open a youtube channel - I've been dedicated to tailoring and videotaping the work etc. - there is so much to learn with this damn editing software.

You also had voice lessons with an actor from the TV series "Sopranos," right?

 last year  

No no Vinnie taught acting. He's a singer too though. Ilearned a lot from him. It's funny, but the whole of both singing and acting is to be genuine. We take years of lessons just to be genuine. There's a lesson in that somewhere.