THE "R"s have it... REPURPOSE, REUSE, RECYCLE, RECLAIM, RECOVER, RENEW #BoM

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

I can Remember as a teenager going with my mom to garage sales and finding some real treasures.
An old shelf or cabinet, she would Remind me, how easily it would be to just Repaint, add some decals or some such thing, to create a new piece. We would look for glassware, silverware, pitchers and old jars, things we could Reuse in our home or give as gifts.

One time I found a whole box of odd ball stemware, just $2 for the entire box, I turned them into candles for Christmas gifts, they were a big hit.

On our homestead, nothing gets wasted. We have Reclaimed wood from old picnic tables and barns.
The dead trees in our forest are turned into heat and NOT in a forest fire but a wood burning stove. It's important to manage the woods around us. Too much dead wood on the forest floor has the potential to burn.

IMG_0536.JPG

As my title suggests "The Rs have it"...5 so far.

Let's talk Recycle.

For many years now we have recycled all our bottles and cans. We have taken all our kitchen waste: fruit and vegetable peels, seeds etc. as well as coffee grounds, egg shells anything organic really and turned it out into the compost pile. Within one grow season that compost will turn into the richest soil you can imagine, plus the worms love it, so we can always find some bait for fishing.

IMG_0532.JPG

The last few years I have been looking for new ways to eliminate the use of plastic. I found a place nearby that sells milk in glass, Refillable jugs. It Reminds me of my childhood when we had a milkman deliver milk right to our doorstep, all in glass bottles.

IMG_0530.JPG

Living in the mountains of Upstate New York, we have to separate all our Recylables as well as bag our real garbage and take it to the county dump. There you will find a place for everything. Every bin is well marked for glass, aluminum cans, newspaper, cardboard boxes, batteries and electronics. TRASH IS CLEARLY MARKED.

The same is true on the farm.

IMG_0538.JPG

@thebigsweed knows how to build and has Repurposed many things over the years. For instance, these old glass doors have been sitting here for years with the thought of someday building a greenhouse, that may be coming soon, I hope.🤞

IMG_0534.JPG

Never leave home without them.

Always having water on hand is a must for me. Whether I am traveling to another state or just exploring nature, I have my trusty Refillabnle water bottles with me.

IMG_0582.JPG

But if my bottles run dry before I can get a Refill, the only water I will buy must be in a Recyclable bottle. Notice the 5 cent Refund, incentive to Return to Recycle.

IMG_0539.JPG

Let's wRap this up, shall we?

16 Rs in all, oh heck, make that 17, the wRap counts too!

Yup, the Rs have it.

REMEMBER...REPURPOSE, REUSE, RECYCLE, RECLAIM, RECOVER, RENEW

image.png

Thanks to the folks in #silverbloggers community, we all benefit from this Blog of the Month, Reminds us how important it is not to waste, to find new ways to Renew our commitment to keep our world clean and to allow mother nature the chance to Replenish and Refresh the planet.

4 more Rs 😄

My dear friend @lizelle, thank you in advance for dropping my link in discord. Thanks to @fionasfavourites for offering the same kindness.

Peace and Love,
Jackie O'Silver

Sort:  

Do you know I thought the original Three R's was internationally understood and applied. But I have been surprised by the clueless expressions when I use the term here in SA. I guess my time travelling internationally (living in the US and UK) expanded my world view as well as my vocabulary. But I like what you did with your bunch of R's! On the homestead we really learn to use them

R words of wisdom! Thanks for your donation to the Shadow Hunters Community! You made my day. ♥️

 2 years ago  

Good morning @melinda010100, you must know I am hooked on shadow hunters and all the fun I have there. It's my pleasure to support this wonderful community.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Oh, I love this. It's so important, IMO, that folk realise that this is not a new concept. Thank you for entering. We have missed you!

PS link in Discord @lizelle

 2 years ago  

Thank you for doing that Fiona, I'd copied the link but then saw your comment!

Lovely post @farm-mom

 2 years ago  

Hello @leelektrik, thank you. Glad you stopped by.

 2 years ago  

A gReat entry Jackie O'Silver!
Just like you, I also re-use plastic (& glass) bottles for all kinds of things, just like my gran & my Mom did in fact. We also have a great municipal 'dump' where they have designated areas for types of waste.
I see Fiona has already dropped your link in Discord; I'm so glad you've shared your recycling with us 👌

 2 years ago  

Good day @lizelle, I knew you would be old school and well versed in the importance of recycling and conservation, we were brought up with it. My kids are good at it also.

Both you and Fiona are so supportive, thanks !

Have a beautiful evening.

I love to resuse things and recycle them like you do, although I tend to call it upcycling. We have recently got a milk delivery service and we too are getting glass milk bottles delivered, it is awesome and I swear the milk tastes even more better!
We are lucky in the UK that there are so many charity shops. I donate unwanted things to them and go there to see what they have before I buy anything new now.
Thanks for entering and good luck:)

 2 years ago  

Upcycling is a great term for it. Yes I also drop clothes off at a thrift shop near me and I also check what's for sale, I have gotten a few of my best blouses there. We need to step back and check ourselves, we all consume tooo much.

Yes Yes Yes, we do all consume too much, I totally agree!
It is great that you recycle your clothes too!

 2 years ago  

Love to recycle and reuse / upcycle furniture or other great finds in thrift store…
All the little things we do, will help 😁

 2 years ago  

It's good to hear you are able to recycle so much.

It's funny, there seemed to be more recycling done when I was growing up in the 60s and 70s. Everyone had their milk delivered in glass bottles that were then reused. In fact, just about all bottles, from pop to beer bottles, were returnable because a deposit of a few pence was paid on them. We used to collect them as kids to return and get paid.

We used to have a pig bin, which we put food waste in, a local pig farmer collect the contents to make into food for his pigs. I guess that stopped because of health regulations.

Clothes were worn until they were word out, often trousers were patched and socks were darned. People didn't throw away much because they didn't have much to throw away.

 2 years ago  

I completely agree with you, we have toooooo much stuff. I lived in hand me downs and was happy to get a bag of used clothes, they felt new to me.

I also grew up in the 60/70s and we reused and recycled lots of stuff including the use of glass milk jugs and a real person dropping it off on our doorstep.
We all need to take a step back and stop consuming so much.

I see your article and it makes me sad to see that in my country there is not a good recycling culture. But there are good people who work from their homes to recycle, either for their gardens, crafts. In the last few years I have seen how plastic and cardboard are collected and taken from the garbage dumps to the big companies, this generates some money to the families that are dedicated to this work. I hope that more people join to conserve the planet in some way because this is our only spaceship and we must take care of it.

 2 years ago  

However small, we all need to do our part. There is only one planet earth and it's a beautiful place.
Conservation plays a big part!

Much the same around here: tag sales, recycle, reuse, etc.

 2 years ago  

I figured as much, us more mature people know the importance of conservation. We consume way too much.
I love when I find a bargain at a yard sale, all you need is a little imagination.

Congratulations @farm-mom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
 2 years ago  

Hey @hivebuzz, thanks so much, I can't believe I have upvoted over 10k, thanks for the stats.

You're welcome @farm-mom, it's well deserved! Congrats on being so active on Hive 😊👍
Have a nice day 🌹🌹🌹

As my title suggests "The Rs have it"

I love this

I try to reuse things as much as possible. In my country, Venezuela, there is little recycling culture and few joint efforts in this sense, but we do what we can individually.

Good luck with your entry!

 2 years ago  

Good day to @coquicoin, you are absolutely right, if everyone would just do their small bit with conservation etc. the world would slowly get to a good balance once again.

Yes... the Rs have it!!😁

Exactly, we can all do our bit, and if we all did the same, the world would be a better place in general.
Have a lovely day! :)

A wonderful wRite up and reminder to everyone to recycle . ♻️ we have a strict recycle system here on the Island but still trash can be found along the highway that someone carelessly threw out the window.

I have friends that make a killing repurposing items, and selling them. I don't have the creativity though, but I appreciate the skill.

French are into recycling, but not everyone is doing it to be honest, It's still not really up to par and counterintuitive.
But at least there is a separation between glass, litters, and plastic, which is at least better than in SA.

Great skills. And I bet that man of yours is great at handy repurposing too!

You forgot one - Refuse! xx Trying to be better at taking my jars to wholefoods for fillng and refusing the extra packaging.