Mundane Monday things

in Silver Bloggerslast year (edited)

IMG_20230415_054610_591.jpg

One of my favourite meals is the butternut and lentil salad I put in the jar for the market. I always make enough for us to have some, least for a side. This week, a jar came home from the market, so there was enough for a meal.

People often ask what to do with what's in the jar. Here's what I did this week.

IMG_20230418_053243_606.jpg

After last week's successful sourdough pita breads, I froze the ones we didn't eat. I am delighted to report that they thawed and reheated perfectly. Best of all, they were still the perfect pockets. I am going to have to make another batch. Just to be certain this wasn't a fluke.

IMG_20230418_053243_703.jpg

All that was topped off with homemade tzatziki. Lose it or use a plant-based substitute and this supper is vegan.

image.png

A not so mundane Monday

I had a very busy day, not just in the office, but because of news from one of The Husband's health providers. Some blood tests came back with "funnies" that need investigating. Now we wait for the next step(s). And try to stay focused on what needs to get done.

Post script: I am trying to participate in @traciyork's April #HiveBloPoMo. I emphasise trying because RL - and my day job - have been so busy over the last while that I've not known which way to turn. That shouldn't stop you - or anyone. Read about how to participate here.

This is Day 18 less 2

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  
 last year  

Those pita breads look delicious with that filling!
I hope Hubby's health improves Fiona, don't forget to take care of yourself as well xxx

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you @bhattg and @indiaunited

Never thought about freezing prepared food but it's good to know that these made it well and didn't change their structure or taste after being tawed. They look very tasty too!

I do it a lot. It helps for those days when there is no time to cook. Best of all, especially with just two of us, there's less waste. When batches make 6 more of something, freezing the excess just makes sense.

 last year  

Forgive me for asking, but, what is in the pita bread? I hate to ask and feel a bit stupid.

I am happy to hear the sourdough worked well! I remember it well! Looks delicious and even better that it froze well.

Hey, Denise - in the pita: the butternut and lentil salad...😊

 last year  

I thought so, but then I backpedaled!! Thank you! It looks amazing!

An interesting idea that can help us have a nutritious morning but also save a lot of space. This idea is very good. Thanks for your sharing