So, the seasons turn

in Silver Bloggers28 days ago

This greeted me at 8am when I arrived to set up for last Saturday's market. The lifted, the sun came out and warmed us. I admit, I am not looking forward to the frosty mornings ahead. And come, they shall.

IMG_20240518_123439_720.jpg

As the seasons turn, so does the light. It's that time of the year when the clouds hang over the mountain top creating a glinting pocket of light as the eastern sun catches the Karoo shale.

Winter also brings some spectacular colour. The aloes all flower from late autumn into winter. All at the same time. But not. Last year, this is how far the raceme was developed on the ferox at the front door. The quiver tree had no flowers.

April 2023

I took this photograph a year ago, this week. To show The Husband, the progress as our aloes came into flower.

April 2024

A year later, the ferox is lagging behind (the little spike at the bottom left of the photo) and the quiver tree is covered in flowers. It's only the second time, ever, in 13+ years that it's flowered.

Tree Aloe in flower

The Cape Sparrows - with which I have a love-hate relationship - in this tree. Their messy nests and their proclivity for commandeering the swallow- and rock martins' nests really annoy me.

IMG_20240519_065455_209.jpg

Oh, and no edits on this last photo. Just me and my Samsung galaxy phone.

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm still re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?

Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community.


Original artwork: @artywink

I create graphics using partly my own photographs as well as images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.

Sort:  

Mid-week snow predicted, cold is coming alas. Enjoy the sun and gorgeous flowers.

!LUV
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @fionasfavourites and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/18 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Wow! Those plants look really amazing! Thanks for sharing photos of them! They look similar to something I used to have in Texas called a Fire Poker, but I can't find them here in Panama. Maybe it isn't cold enough or it is too wet.

 28 days ago  

The Aloe flowers know how to show off. We have many shrubs that flower in winter, almost looks more colourful than summertime.
A big hug to you Fiona <3

Beautiful Aloe flowers. Have a nice day. And take care of yourself.🥰❤️

How are you, dear Fiona? Enjoy the warmth of the sun while you can. Hugs!