Life, it is also starting from scratch; like a new beginning...

in Silver Bloggers6 months ago

When are we really content with our lives - is it when we achieve, materially, what we long for and desire? Or, on the other hand, is it perhaps when we are truly fulfilled? These are the kinds of questions I have always tried to answer. Not because existentialist philosophy is my intellectual goal in life (although, I have no problem with that). However, I believe that at many moments in our lives (certainly, in mine, it happens often) finding answers to these questions is a necessity.

I have never been an ordinary person. As a child, I didn't feel that I fit in with what other children used to agree with. For me, an explanation has no value just because an "authority" says so. Some might call me irreverent or rebellious, but I believe that the approach to truth is something incredibly noble and pure. Well, that if I ask: "Why is the Earth spherical?" I deserve an answer that is commensurate with the question; not a simple: "It is a planet, and they are all round."

This preamble serves to explain the need that all human beings possess to want to yearn for better and greater opportunities. It is this that, from my perspective, gives meaning to life. The value of individuality and the ability to achieve what we set out to do. Sometimes, irony, and even a certain injustice takes over our theoretical possibilities, To give another example, I will take myself. I am someone who has valued and cultivated intelligence on multiple levels, but who has not been able to enjoy much material benefit from this habit. I don't know, but every night when I go to sleep, I feel that I have several things pending...

And I like to call it that way "pending". Because, unless I want to see the Earth from space, in many ways I think I can do it. I'm aware of some limitations: like emigrating to a better country, with more opportunities... Hence what you see in the pictures. And also from there comes the idea of this post and the importance of starting from scratch, a new beginning. The girl you see in the pictures is one of the women I have loved the most in my life. But make no mistake, not in the way you think; but more like a sister. She is my best friend, and she left everything behind (in her home country) to start what she needs and wants.

So, the rhetorical questions I asked at the beginning of this post start to make sense.... Can our wishes and desires come true? I think so, but depending on the characteristics of each one of us, no. In my case, no. I don't have the means to fulfil an emigration. In my case, no. I don't have the means to fulfil an emigration to a certain country. Even there, the opportunities are reduced to a certain margin. In her case, theoretically yes. And I don't say this to read me as fatalistic or negative, but because it will also depend on the determination, effort and luck that she has in being able to achieve it.

It is fair to say that nothing she has done has been thought out impulsively. Behind her new beginning, there is planning, sacrifice and effort that is commendable. Moreover, I have not told you about her capabilities as a human being. Where brilliance, intelligence and capacity are characteristics that she has, and that I believe, will make her life infinitely better as she has planned for its possibilities.

Writing about this makes me feel so much better. Because I am a person who does not process grief and pain in conventional ways. That is to say, I am not one for easy tears. Quite the opposite, in fact. I remember watching her cry over a reality that is both lapidary and commonplace: physically, last Thursday will have been the last day we hugged and saw each other. I think it will take me a long time to fully adjust. She is not only my greatest and greatest treasure, but she is also someone truly irreplaceable.

I love to see that her possibilities, both in terms of desires and possible opportunities, are one step closer to being realised. The fullness of her life depends on having stability in many aspects but also on having passion. And what is passion for her? Travelling, learning to perfect photography as an art and, above all, learning to unlearn. And I quote her own words: "I don't want to think that life is just about working from Monday to Saturday, 9, 10 hours every day. That would destroy me if I do that for 20 years straight. I want to have the independence to be and do what I could never do here". I find that sentence noble, beautiful and above all admirable.

And I share it with you, my Hivers friends, because I know that there are many people who live with the constant fear as if it were totally "acceptable". I am not here to tell them what to do with their lives. I would never be so disrespectful and presumptuous, but I do show you that the possibilities are there. In one way or another, but they are there. For some it is starting from absolutely nothing, in a foreign land and knowing nothing. For others it is with their children, spouses, or simply alone. We are what we dare to realise. The rest is part of the process...

We need to stop and think a bit about what we really want in this, our one and only life. Whatever that answer is, it is necessary to try at least once... The photographs are my own.

Sort:  

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Where is your friend going?I imagine yoou'll miss her a lot. My best mate lives far away but we always feel each other's presence and contact each other when we need it most - it's quite spooky!

We are both from Venezuela, and she's now at the US, Massachusetts to be quite precise. For me, that's profoundly sad. But I should get used to it. She will be fine and nothing will make me happier than that. Thanks for stopping by, @riverflows

I hope you see her soon 🤍

In life, nothing ventured nothing gained, sorry to see her go, happy she made the step to her desired lifestyle. Mixed emotions come with each, have a wonderful day and thanks for sharing.

!LUV