Always be yourself except if you can be Batman... then be Batman!!

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

Image source

On Saturday I went to the mall. I work hard during the week and we live in a very small town, so I like to go out on Saturdays doing something that I don't usually do or get the chance to do during the week. Although shopping is not my favorite activity in the world, once in a while, I just need to get out of the house to get my sanity back. We often go to the beach over weekends, but it has been raining a lot so the mall was literally the best option.

My husband met me for lunch at a little restaurant in the mall. While I was waiting for him, I ordered coffee and I had an excellent view of people walking past the shop. This is my favorite pastime.

I just love to sit and watch people! Just to see the expressions on their faces and I can just imagine what goes on in their heads. You often see people looking so dead serious as if they are on a mission, trying their best not to be distracted by anything.

Then there are those always in a hurry. Bombarding through the mall, bypassing everything and everyone just to get where they want to be.

Then there are those like me, the calm, relaxed ones wandering around without anything bothering them. Some look so grumpy while others walk around with smiles on their faces. BUT the facial expressions are nothing compared to the type of clothes that people wear.

I was still deep in my thoughts when this young girl walked past me. (I honestly couldn't help but notice.) She was probably about thirteen or fourteen, going on TWENTY-TWO. Call me conservative or old fashioned or whatever you like, but if I had a girl, I honestly would not allow her to leave the house in those clothes and with that much make-up on her face. She was very noticeable...Heads were turning as she disappeared in the crowd.

The point I am trying to make is that young girls are trying everything in their power to look older.

Is this due to peer pressure, or is this just fashion? Would you honestly ridicule yourself in front of others just because other people wear the same type of clothes?

Why is it like that?

When we are young, we want to be grownup, and when we get older we would do anything to get our youth back.....

So there I was, just minding my own business again when an older lady walked past. She must have been in her late seventies but she was dressed in a tracksuit with sneakers.

I just started laughing, because this was totally in contrast with what I saw when the young girl came past and now this old lady came past trying to look young again. I honestly do not see anything wrong with it, but in my time older people just dressed differently.

Older people dressed more respectably and you would NOT have seen my grandmother in a tracksuit...EVER!

So this is my conclusion:

If you ever sit in a restaurant and you see me walking past the window, then you need to know the following:

I am who I am. I dress the way I want as long as it is comfortable. I am just me! I will most likely NOT even be wearing makeup because if people don't want to accept the way I look then that is their problem. I have never been fashion-conscious and I have never been influenced into wearing something that I'm not comfortable with.

I have never cared what people think of me, and I have never been pushed into a corner to try and be something I am not!

Why are we pressured by what society thinks of us?

Do not let anyone influence you to be something that you are not! Just be yourself. WE are all created as equals, but we are all created as UNIQUE human beings. Live for yourself, and don't run with the herd.

Image source

Sort:  

I'm not saying I'm Batman, I'm just saying you've never seen us in the same room.

Ha ha @morkrock then you are definitely batman!

I am totally agree with you on this sentence particularly!

When we are young, we want to be grownup, and when we get older we would do anything to get our youth back.....