Seven Decades of Evolution

in Silver Bloggerslast year

liz memories.jpg

The older you get, the older Old becomes.

Sounds confusing not so, but if you think a little deeper, it makes perfect sense!

As my friends know, I've been in decluttering mode - cleared out tons of space and discovered forgotten treasures for my secondhand online Yaga and Hive Thrifted stores.

The stuff I found rekindled memories of happy and sad times, gave me a really good chuckle, and much food for thought.

𝔗𝔯𝔦𝔭 𝔡𝔬𝔴𝔫 𝔐𝔢𝔪𝔬𝔯𝔶 𝔏𝔞𝔫𝔢

The year I was born, 1953, was the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II, and now 70 years later, that of King Charles III.
I found a copy of The Illustrated London News Special Edition on the Coronation among memorabilia belonging to my late mother-in-law. This will stay right here where it belongs!

20230527_152348-COLLAGE.jpg

𝔖𝔬𝔠𝔦𝔞𝔩 𝔐𝔢𝔡𝔦𝔞

I was reminded how much etiquette and means of communication have changed when I found a page from a 1961 local newspaper with notices for every occasion - Births, Deaths, Engagements, Weddings, Silver and Ruby Weddings, Barmitzvahs, Funerals, Churches, Situations Vacant, Situations Wanted, Land, Sea and Air Travel, Swop-Ads, Have-it-Mended, Lost, Personal, Education, Music and Dancing Teachers, Sports Coaching, Professional Training, Driving Tuition, House For-Sale, and To-Let; even notices of Thanks!

We all know how Birth, Engagement, Wedding, Death, Funeral, etc. announcements are done in 2023!

20230527_153903.jpg

𝔈𝔩𝔢𝔠𝔱𝔯𝔬𝔫𝔦𝔠 𝔐𝔞𝔦𝔩

Letters were a way of keeping in touch with family and friends and would arrive at least a week after posting in red post boxes. Telegrams often brought alarming news of a death or disaster and were sent speedily between telegraph offices and delivered by hand to the addressee.

No instant communication by the touch of a button!

chris-boyer-PEd6MBB1kZQ-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Chris Boyer on Unsplash


𝓕𝓪𝓼𝓽-𝓕𝓸𝓻𝔀𝓪𝓻𝓭 𝓽𝓸 𝓜𝓪𝔂 2023

Yes, I finally made it to the big 70, honestly don't feel that great an age.
My mindset is still in a much younger mode, although my body doesn't always agree!

We all carry baggage but I've learned to declutter and sift through the good and the bad times and to live in the moment.
Time is a precious commodity that I try not to waste!

Seasons of Life

I've had to say goodbye to loved ones, some expected, but others way too soon with no time to say a last goodbye.

Just as seasons come and go, I've learned there is a time and a place for everything. I've managed to move on, as I know I will see my loved ones again one day in another realm.

I've been spoilt rotten since the big seven appeared, and am truly thankful for all the special people in my life!

Above all, I am thankful for life itself, it's been an amazing journey thus far!

It's not what you gather, but what you scatter, that tells what kind of life you have lived.
Source

Heart page break.png


Join Hive Thrifted
LOGO FIN.png

𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙 𝙏𝙧𝙖𝙞𝙡𝙗𝙡𝙖𝙯𝙚𝙧𝙨
𝒲𝑜𝓊𝓁𝒹 𝓎𝑜𝓊 𝓁𝒾𝓀𝑒 𝓉𝑜 𝑒𝒶𝓇𝓃 𝐻𝐵𝒟?
𝐵𝑒𝒸𝑜𝓂𝑒 𝒶𝓃 𝑒𝓃𝓉𝓇𝑒𝓅𝓇𝑒𝓃𝑒𝓊𝓇 𝒶𝓉 𝓃𝑜 𝒸𝑜𝓈𝓉
𝒮𝑒𝓁𝓁 𝓎𝑜𝓊𝓇 𝓈𝑒𝒸𝑜𝓃𝒹𝒽𝒶𝓃𝒹 𝑔𝑜𝑜𝒹𝓈, 𝒶𝓇𝓉𝓈 & 𝒸𝓇𝒶𝒻𝓉𝓈 𝒾𝓃 𝐻𝒾𝓋𝑒 𝒯𝒽𝓇𝒾𝒻𝓉𝑒𝒹

(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ AND ♥

𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

Sort:  
 last year  

I hope you had a wonderful 70th birthday! I am glad you told me how old you were, who would have guessed? Not me!

When I think of how things used to be growing up, I don't recognize this world we live in. Some is progress, but, other things, not so much. Some of the niceties have slipped by, and been replaced.

I love your memories and how you share them ❤️ Being busy keeps us younger. I look at how young my mother appeared and acted when I think of her and my grandmother. I truly believe age is a state of mind. I do.

You are such an inspiration. Love to you! Happy belated!💕

 last year  

You're so right @dswigle, many good changes, but one thing I do miss is getting a handwritten letter in the postbox.
Age certainly is but a state of mind. My Mom never wore 'granny clothes' nor dresses, but always looked stylish! She was way ahead of her time, loved changes and always looked to the future with hope! Mom was the Queen Bee of bizzziness and that must have been her secret.
Thank you so much for the tip Denise, you are too kind 😍

 last year  

Thank you for being so kind, thoughtful, and always nice to everyone. ❤️ You are the best.

 last year  

In our minds eye we are young, stay young at heart, Happy 70th Lizelle.

Change happening all the time around us, most definitely once I find my feet putting good use to de-cluttering, next on the list!

!LUV
!WINEX 🥂


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @lizelle.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.050


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

 last year  

Thank you Joan, it may sound like a cliche, but it's so true:
Age is a state of mind.

I've discovered many precious memories, stuff that I'd forgotten about while decluttering.
I started off slowly, but once the bug bit, I've become more and more determined to clear out every cupboard.
We tackled hubby's garage a couple of years ago and threw out a ton, but it's still overfull! That will be his job now, it's way too hectic so I'm not getting involved there again!

Decluttering is such a wonderful process. As you said, you have to get the ball rolling, and then you get bitten by the bug! Next thing you know, you're actively looking for things to jettison from your life. And on the plus side, you do find some fun treasures along the way.

I started a couple of times, have so much more to find worthy homes. Once you reach a certain age, realize the children move or no longer require, much must go.

Have yourself a wonderful evening.

https://leofinance.io/threads/lizelle/re-leothreads-34avsnlhz
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( lizelle ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Yes our minds stay young. It's a great thing because it allows us to keep enjoying life. Our minds keep learning and seeing new things. The saying that an old dog can't learn new tricks is not applicable to us humans. At 70 you have seen a lot of things and I'm sure you can probably say time flies by. Im behind you exactly 20 years born in 1973. Happy 70!! I await in November for 50. Yes live in the moment is the best way to look at it.

 last year (edited) 

You will see how time seems to fly faster, the older you become.
And, whereas I thought 70 was ancient when I was 40, it certainly doesn't feel that way!
One of my best friends that I've known for nearly 20 years, is just a year behind you. Despite the large age gap, we have so much in common. Life is an adventure for sure.
I hope you're going to have a big bash, my 50th was the best birthday celebration, although I must say the 70th was just as much fun, only a smaller gathering.
Thanks for the good wishes @coolmidwestguy

I have older and younger friends. Age is nothing but a number when it comes to connecting to others we have lots in common with :)

Happy 70th! What a wonderful milestone. And I trust there will be many more! I'm not far behind you, my friend. And I know what you mean when you say "My mindset is still in a much younger mode, although my body doesn't always agree!" That says it all.

I'm so glad to hear you have been spoiled by loved ones for your birthday. It's as it should be!

 last year  

Thank you so much @jayna, I think back in 1953, 70 was an age where people slowed down and certainly weren't as active as today. Likely better healthcare?

I run our BnB, kind of a part-time job as I work from home. I however was not very surprised when 2 of my old school friends could not make my birthday party, as they both also are still working!

I guess the secret is to keep active, both in body and in mind.

Have a great day further @jayna 🤗

Happy (belated) birthday, @lizelle! I'm so happy to hear you had a great day, and hope you're still in celebration mode ;)

I think it's wonderful that you've been in this decluttering phase, particularly at this point, as it's such a healthy mental and emotional rinse. So, as ever, may you go to as many more new adventures with an easy heart!

 last year  

Thank you so much dear @honeydue, and yes, the celebrations continue with friends who couldn't make it.
I love how you so aptly described decluttering - literally and figuratively.

it's such a healthy mental and emotional rinse.

Very true!
Have a great day further my young friend 💖

 last year  

I'm glad you had a wonderful celebration (or should I say celebrations)! : )

The older you get, the older OLD becomes.

Isn't that the truth! My dad used to crack me up when he talked about "these old people around here" when referencing his neighbors in the retirement community. He never felt as old as they were.

 last year  

Haha thanks for the chuckle Eric, your Dad was a great guy, I can just imagine how you must have looked at him when he said that😅
I've seen people who act 'old' at 20!

You're right, the celebrations continue as friends who couldn't make it still pop in or invite us out🎊

The big celebration will be when we visit our son in the Netherlands, flights are finally booked for end July, but we'll be staying longer than planned, can't wait! Our staff will take charge of the daily running, I'll handle the bookings from afar.
Have a wonderful Wednesday Eric!

 last year  

Happy 70th @lizelle. I feel the same way, I think I am younger in my mind but my body tells me a different story.

Really wonderful post my friend, I always enjoy your stories. You look great by the way.

Enjoy!

 last year  

Thank you so much @farm-mom, I really appreciate your warm wishes, glad you enjoyed the trip down memory lane. How things have changed!
The celebrations continue as friends still pop in from time to time🎉
PS My nephew who lives in Minnesota was here for his 30th birthday in April, and brought me a bottle of Hamel pure maple syrup, made me think of you and thebigsweed when I read it's tapped from the maple tree.😉
Have a wonderful day further my friend 🤗

Wow, it is funny how fast life has changed right? I am still very much younger, but it is always interesting to see these developments. In the big 70, you must have been through a couple of these radical changes in society.

In any case, congrats! Keep up that great moto: young of mind. It is really something we young ones look up to and aspire to be like. Never grow old, it is merely the body.

 last year  

Yep, tbe mind can stay young, but the body doesn't always play fair😉
Many things changed and a lot of them is linked to computers.
I used to work as a draughtswoman, everything was drawn by hand so wben CAD came along, many of us weren't happy because we all had our own style of printing, it became a kind of lost art,
Thank you for the good wishes @fermentedphil 🤗

That is really sad and we are seeing a new wave of this destruction to jobs with AI. Copy editing/writing, translation, and all of these jobs are on the chopping block with AI tech essentially doing the same thing for less money.

Time will tell, but the future will be interesting.

Oh yes, I feel that already even though I am still youthful age. The body surely does not keep up with the mind. Or the other way round! But having a youthful soul surely helps to keep the body from getting even older.

Happy birthday! I wouldn't have guessed the age.. You have the spirit of a much younger person!

 last year  

Ah thank you @ladyrebecca, I can't imagine living life with an 'old' mindset.
I hope you're enjoying the changing of seasons over there!
Have a great Thursday.

Happy Birthday again but as my grandma would say a lady is only ever 21 :)

 last year  

Thank you Ed, your Grandma is a wise lady😍

Happiest birthday Maam! You look lovelier and happier at big 7.

Hope I could reach this age too!

More blessings to come and good health always.😍

 last year  

Thank you so much @callmesmile.
I really appreciate your good wishes🤗

Well done putting your old docs on the blockchain. Wishing you a happy day and a splendid year ahead Lizelle.

Best wishes from Garden Route.

 last year  

Thank you @julianhorack, I had a really lovely birthday. I had been looking for that commemorative book for a while, of course found it in the most unlikely place. How times have changed over the years!
Have a lovely week🤗

I'm going to catch up with you. I was born in 1954. I also keep memories of newspapers and mail for letters. Happy birthday dear @lizelle . A big hug from Maracay.

 last year  

Aha @irvinc, you're right behind me, yohr big 7 is just around the corner. So have also seen how technology changed the world. You should share those memories with us sometime.
Thank you for the good wishes 🤗

Happy birthday @lizelle , young at heart is what matters!!

 last year  

Thank you @livinguktaiwan, to me having a young mindset is the secret to a life of fulfillment, I've certainly been blessed with a great family and good friends 😉